Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
816 classificações
236 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Melhores avaliações

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

JW

Jan 27, 2018

The course was very well organized and quite challenging. Each week gave me the opportunity to develop a piece which I have further developed into longer pieces which I am looking at publishing.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

por Rashmi N

Apr 26, 2017

The best parts of this course are faculty as well as the feedback received in peer reviews.

por Srinivas R

Jun 26, 2017

Taught me how to slow time down, be more observant, engage all the senses and immerse the reader into the story

por Michelle K

Mar 17, 2016

I really liked Amity's style- a great presenter, great voice and very encouraging. She also really got into the meat of the subject. And her assignments were a challenge but really enjoyable. I have found out things about my writing in this course!

por Wynnie N

Feb 14, 2017

One can tell that Amity Gaige has carefully tailored this course to teach us the craft of setting and description. I have never paid much attention to it before, always connecting much more to the characters' feelings. Only now after taking this course, I can appreciate how important setting and description really is for the reader and also for the characters in your story. Thank you Amity!

por Gabriela R

Jul 18, 2016

My favorite of the specialization. Rich in information, challenging and engaging assignments, and nuggets of wisdom.

por leena m s

Jul 07, 2017

Amity , i think your the greatest professor ever

you made me fall in love with this course

por Michael R

Sep 20, 2016

The examples and the assignments are very cleverly thought out. Good teaching!

por Luana B

Aug 17, 2016

This course was awesome. Every assignment was really challenging and the classes were so interesting. I think it was the best course in this specialization. Thank you very much to the teacher!

por Carol W

Sep 10, 2016

This was a fun course. I learned aloy about setting.

por Gregory W C

Mar 14, 2016

More engaging and inspirational than many, many other approaches.

por Alexander F

Feb 19, 2018

This is in my opinion the best one of the specialization so far. It has great references and additional content, readings, videos, etc. related to what's being studied. Gaige's comments are always thoughtful and inspiring. The other courses are all good too, but this one was exceptional.

por Victoria

Dec 20, 2017

Another excellent course in this program of study for the craft of creative writing, with practical exercises and useful constraints that really helped me to progress my understanding of creative writing and improve my storytelling skills. Suddenly, it's no longer agonising, but easy. Thank you!

por Jenny J G L

Mar 27, 2018

Another engaging course in this Ceative Writing Specialisation. What I like most is that on the following week the lecture gives a good example of assignment from one of her past students. I wish other lecturers could do the same.

por magdalena

Mar 21, 2016

Excelente e inspirador.

por Paulo B

Feb 12, 2018

Like every other course of the Creative Writing Specialization, a profound revelation of the craft, in this case, setting and description.

por Chew W Y

Jul 23, 2016

Great course and exciting writing assignments! The peer reviews were mostly constructive and the instructor was clear and brought her learnings across. Highly recommended!

por Chris B

Jun 09, 2016

One of the best creative writing courses. Truly enjoyed it!

por Jamie M

Feb 28, 2018

Fantastic course! I learned a lot about setting and the assignments were well-thought out for learning!

por Iris R

Jun 29, 2016

Thank you.

por Richard W

Jun 30, 2017

Really enjoyed this course, even though the assignments were increasingly hard.

In the first week there are a few hours of videos, after that only about 1.5 hours of material per week, but it's very concentrated goodness. The lecturer is very clear and interesting.

The assignments are "stretching", and the more you put into them the more you get out. I also learnt a lot by reviewing other people's work. The reviews I received were helpful, thoughtful and positive.

por Edith-Marie R

Sep 30, 2016

I really liked how the videos set up the assignments and enjoyed the assignments themselves. They worked really well for a couple different projects I'm working on -- so useful and versatile.

por Hilal I

Nov 16, 2017

thank you, thank you, thank you ms. gaige and friends!

por Anna V

Nov 28, 2016

the most informative and most structured out of all Creative Writing Specialization courses so far. Thank you!

por Mary C

Apr 04, 2017

Excellent, of course! This segment made a huge difference for me. It completely changed how I look at writing in terms of using specific details to describe a setting that fits the mood and movement of what I'm writing. I loved this lesson!

por Aecio d B V N

Aug 07, 2017

I liked the course very much. It was very useful to give some insights on the importance of description not only to "paint the picture", but to help tell the story. I like it!