Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
3,370 classificações
1,130 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Melhores avaliações

BM
4 de Nov de 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

LB
15 de Nov de 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

Filtrar por:

1076 — 1100 de 1,108 Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

por Colors

19 de Nov de 2020

I thought Dr. Skyhorse's lectures were very strong and very clear. I did think he was speaking to his audience like novices, almost like children, but I actually appreciate that in this context. I really wanted to have someone take my hand like a five-year-old through the very elementary steps of conventional storytelling.

por Chris R

1 de Jan de 2017

The course material and videos are very good, however I would prefer that comments about your work be emailed directly to the student so that they are more likely to read them. I found it to easy to just move on and not really look for the comments on my work.

por Pauline R

22 de Mai de 2016

I found this course quite hard to take to; especially after starting the second one on Character. Saying that though, it is good to learn about different perspectives and approaches as education whatever form enables us to move forward on our learning path.

por Megan S

1 de Mar de 2018

I liked the writing exercises, but I felt the videos were a bit simple and Skyhorse was very pleasant but not a great interviewer. It would be nice if the assignment were reviewed by a professor or a TA or something. Peer review was overall NOT helpful.

por ipsita g

8 de Jun de 2019

The course was structured well. It introduced to many things that were probably known to us but not explicit.

However, on taking other courses in the series I realized that the instructor is less effective and original than others, especially Amy.

por Soe T S

6 de Mai de 2020

I'd like it if peers can give more elaborated reviews. It seems like they just want to finish the mandatory 3 reviews just to get points. Most of the reviews I received are nothing more than 'Yes. No. I agree with the author.' No elaborations.

por Mike Z

9 de Abr de 2020

I enjoyed the course and found it useful. The majority of the students don't seem to speak good english. That isn't a problem for their writing, but I feel like they have a hard time usefully evaluating my work due to the language barrier.

por Allison R C

15 de Set de 2020

I got the most out of listening to the modules. I wish that there was some feedback from the instructor on the writing assignments. Everything is peer-reviewed only, and the quality of the feedback is quite poor.

por Noah S

30 de Jul de 2019

The course was a good motivator to start writing and keep writing every week. The lectures were short and generic. Nothing other than the very basics. The peer review system works okay but it certainly isn't great.

por Lisa G

13 de Out de 2016

I understand the importance of reviewing other classmates work however with the time constraints of today's world, I believe it takes away from precious time that could be spent developing the craft of writing .

por SANCHEZ C M P

8 de Out de 2020

La verdad es muy difícil aprender algo ya que nunca hay retroalimentación aparte de la que dan los compañeros del curso. Solo son videos muy abiertos para explicaciones que deberían ser concretas.

por Marc E S

27 de Abr de 2017

I was hoping the lectures would be more dense. My previous coursera courses where on data science, machine learning, etc. I somewhat feel that the content on those courses is twice or thrice more.

por nathan g

28 de Set de 2020

Some of the instructions didn't seem to match the assignment and I think a lot of learners were confused. Needs more moderation. I did learn and found the challenges in the course useful.

por Justin S

9 de Set de 2020

the grading system could improve star selection process such as grammar; clarity; congruency; originality; captivation may broaden the critque of the story

por katherine l

2 de Abr de 2018

Materials were engaging. Some assignment direction was a little vague. Some professional interaction or review would help to supplement the peer review.

por Youssef A

10 de Jun de 2020

What's most beneficial about this course are the assignments rather than the videos. I do wish though we got some feedback from the instructor himself.

por S. J W

27 de Fev de 2016

Someone needs to review/proofread the final part and assignment. Many students were/are confused about the final assignment. Revise the video too.

por Paul C

28 de Out de 2018

Too many interviews without delving into the core of the subject. There were some good tips but left feeling disappointed.

por Jesica M E D B

22 de Ago de 2016

The course is nice and informative. Unfortunately one can not do any of the pear rated assignments or pear reviews.

por Nima Y Z

8 de Nov de 2020

The course was very practical and I learned very useful content and tips.

por Mariana C

28 de Mar de 2020

Good morning. How can I unenroll? It is not what I expected. Thank you.

por Priya

21 de Dez de 2016

it would have been great if the final assignment had been grade

por ahmed i

17 de Jan de 2017

it seems good and hopefully will be valuable in my context

por Digant K

27 de Mar de 2016

So overly simple with a lack of details in the steps.