Chevron Left
Voltar para Converter Circuits

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Converter Circuits da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.8
estrelas
895 classificações
173 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5701, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces more advanced concepts of switched-mode converter circuits. Realization of the power semiconductors in inverters or in converters having bidirectional power flow is explained. Power diodes, power MOSFETs, and IGBTs are explained, along with the origins of their switching times. Equivalent circuit models are refined to include the effects of switching loss. The discontinuous conduction mode is described and analyzed. A number of well-known converter circuit topologies are explored, including those with transformer isolation. The homework assignments include a boost converter and an H-bridge inverter used in a grid-interfaced solar inverter system, as well as transformer-isolated forward and flyback converters. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand how to implement the power semiconductor devices in a switching converter ● Understand the origins of the discontinuous conduction mode and be able to solve converters operating in DCM ● Understand the basic dc-dc converter and dc-ac inverter circuits ● Understand how to implement transformer isolation in a dc-dc converter, including the popular forward and flyback converter topologies Completion of the first course Introduction to Power Electronics is the assumed prerequisite for this course....

Melhores avaliações

AG
22 de Mai de 2020

A really good course on converter circuits. The way Dr. Erickson synthesized inverters from buck converters was eye opening. Many lectures overlook such basic aspects of power electronics synthesis.

SK
14 de Jul de 2018

The course has intensified my interest towards the field of Power Electronics. One won't find such systematic and lucid teaching anywhere else. I am grateful to the instructors of the course.

Filtrar por:

151 — 167 de 167 Avaliações para o Converter Circuits

por Mirdoddi K

10 de Ago de 2020

The lectures were decent. Assignments were good and interesting to solve. But the only gripe about assignments is that mathematical analysis is way too lengthy at some places as well as I feel (though very few) answers fed to the computer were incorrect. Overall, a decent course

por ABDON T O

13 de Jul de 2020

Very good training, addressing the main DC/DC converter topologies, including transformer isolation. I would have liked the switch realization section to be shorter; but other than that, it was really useful.

Thansk Proffesor Robert Erickson.

por Elyka A

6 de Mai de 2016

Very good, but some topics may need to be explained further, like the realization of the switches

por Aleena A

5 de Abr de 2020

Quite tough a chapter and module but if you understand the concepts its easy to do !

por ANSHUMAN S

30 de Ago de 2020

the last assignment solutions should be provided, rest was good.

por Jairo Z

2 de Dez de 2017

The last questionary is a little bit difficult

por Andres H

11 de Set de 2018

I wish we had more LTSpice experiments

por Richard O

8 de Out de 2019

Difficult, but useful and fulfilling.

por Srinath M

13 de Dez de 2017

Discussion forum is practically dead

por Prakash K

31 de Jul de 2020

very interesting course

por Usman R

4 de Jul de 2017

Very nice course

por Andrew W

12 de Dez de 2020

The course is challenging for people without electrical engineering background as noted in the course prerequisite. A review of circuits is advisable, if you have not touched on the basics for a while.

I strongly advise to keep good notes, including homework/quiz assignments. They help as reference as you move through the course.

The course material and homework assignments could be better aligned. This is after all not a university level course, so I think it should not create situations where you have to spend a lot of time researching information outside the course material. I had to invest significantly more time then shown in the Course time estimates.

If you plan to take all courses in the specialisation, investing in the Dr Erickson's text book is not a bad idea, but is not an absolute must.

But if you get through, there is definitely a sense of accomplishment and I personally feel satisfied with the knowledge gained as an introduction to converter circuits.

por Jacky H

7 de Fev de 2018

Honestly, the assignments are unnecessarily cumbersome. As an EE student in university, I have learned some contents of power electronics in my own Syllabus, and found this course a good review as well as a source of insights. For a pure enthusiast, I guess this course will be somehow difficult and hard to fully enjoy.

por victor g

21 de Jul de 2017

Great for applied technology on low power DC/DC converters

por Taylor S

24 de Dez de 2018

This course is very difficult, particularly in week 4. The single sample problem with solution provided is utterly useless in helping you prepare for the assessment. It does not parallel the material covered in the lessons and does not prepare you for the assessment. It's bizarre to me that there aren't at least 5 practice problems with solutions that help you prepare for the assessment. Having this is critical to taking an online class by yourself, since the forum cannot be relied upon for timely help, if at all.

por ENES E

23 de Jan de 2021

Where is the course certificate?

por Feras A A

22 de Jul de 2020

.