Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Complex Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Complex Analysis da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.8
estrelas
745 classificações
234 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course provides an introduction to complex analysis which is the theory of complex functions of a complex variable. We will start by introducing the complex plane, along with the algebra and geometry of complex numbers, and then we will make our way via differentiation, integration, complex dynamics, power series representation and Laurent series into territories at the edge of what is known today. Each module consists of five video lectures with embedded quizzes, followed by an electronically graded homework assignment. Additionally, modules 1, 3, and 5 also contain a peer assessment. The homework assignments will require time to think through and practice the concepts discussed in the lectures. In fact, a significant amount of your learning will happen while completing the homework assignments. These assignments are not meant to be completed quickly; rather you'll need paper and pen with you to work through the questions. In total, we expect that the course will take 6-12 hours of work per module, depending on your background....

Melhores avaliações

RK

Apr 06, 2018

The lectures were very easy to follow and the exercises fitted these lectures well. This course was not always very rigorous, but a great introduction to complex analysis nevertheless. Thank you!

NS

Jun 25, 2018

The prof makes it easy to understand yet fascinating. I enjoyed video checkpoints, quizzes and peer reviewed assignments. This course encourages you to think and discover new things.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 229 Avaliações para o Introduction to Complex Analysis

por Joshua H

Mar 27, 2018

Its an overall satisfactory course. It balances the understanding of functions in the complex plane and the processing of functions in the complex plane. Throughout this course, there are in depth (as in depth as an introductory course can be) mention of topics such as properties and implications of analytic functions, transformations, residue calculus, power series, and more. Apart from this, the only drawback is the occasional omission of proofs. In general, there is always an attempt to either prove a given theorem, or at least give an idea as to how it would be proved, but quite often the student is entrusted to apply a theorem without fully understanding it. All-in-all, I would recommend this course to others.

por Jake T B

Jun 10, 2020

Everything in the course was explained in great detail and clarity, and the assignments that were assigned for the course provided educational value. However, I feel that the quizzes and the problems on them were considerably more difficult than most of the example problems that were gone over during the lectures, and that can be a problem considering you need at least a 4/5 (80%) to pass each quiz (each quiz consisting of 5 questions at the time I'm writing this).The difficulty spike being slightly too high is the only problem that I experienced in this course, and aside from that, everything else was great!

por Brice B

Nov 28, 2017

This is a very good course. Professor Bonfert-Taylor only uses slides so it is a traditional maths course (for awesome non-traditional maths courses on Coursera Cf Jim Fowler calculus 1 and 2). However, the content is very homogeneous in terms of level of difficulty, the progression is perfect and she explains everything there is on each one of the slides. It's a pity she doesn't try to appeal to our geometrical intuition (I know it's less easy to do than in real analysis, but still, it would have been helpful in some places).

por Santiago R R

Jun 12, 2020

A really tough and complete introduction to complex analysis. With the added lectures about the residue theorem and Laurent series, the course feels really useful and fun to apply.

The pop-up questions seem a bit out of place for me, and confused me more times than they helped me comprehend the concept at hand.

Besides that, this was really a great experience, and one of the most challenging and fun math courses I have done here in Coursera.

por Pankaj K

May 22, 2017

clearly explained, clear voice, teaching style is perfect and instant reply on discussion board. i guess more no. of questions are required in the assignments and homework. assignments and homework questions are average level kind, it needs to be improved to a little higher level thinking kind. i really enjoyed each part of the course.

por Alexandr R

Apr 30, 2020

Some tasks contain errors and typos. Also, the lecture material should be with the proof of the theorems, because the technique of proofs also gives many practical methods that can be used in practice. Just a set of facts lectures and trivial examples make a very elementary introduction to complex analysis.

por Glenn R

Aug 17, 2016

I found this very interesting, covering some topics I did not expect an introduction. I think the pace of the course is about right, but I would have liked more questions. Unfortunately I became very busy during the course and failed to keep up. I look forward to repeating it when I have more time.

por Alexander L

Oct 13, 2018

This was a pretty interesting course with a lot of useful information. It was taught at an intermediate level which was good for me because I don't do a lot of pure math. This was mainly used as a refresher of complex analysis for an EE masters. Did the job!

por Reymundo F F

Aug 27, 2019

in my humble opinion I think this course is very well but exists several topic more important for touch, and manner for made the exams and the homeworks in my opinion is bad because you will not need to do a lot of the equations for solve that

por Samuel P K

Mar 07, 2019

Excellent instructor and good range of material. There are some theorems that aren't proved though and I was hoping that an analysis course would have proofs for all theorems students are required to use.

por Ditiro M

Apr 01, 2019

Even though I haven't completed the course, I managed to do up to week 3. It is nice and the lecture videos are easy to follow and understand. Hopefully i'll retake it and complete it this time around.

por Malcolm G

May 15, 2018

Fun course and learned lots. Its tough to do maths without doing lots of practice so be prepared to do lots of examples outside of the course in order to master the material.

por Alex Y

May 06, 2020

A well taught course that merges well into undergraduate mathematics, and provided useful experience of higher level maths for a student deciding which degree to do.

por Blake C

Sep 09, 2018

Some of the latter lessons should have been put up front so as to better present the intuitions of what you're proofing, but overall found it to be a good course.

por vicente p

Jun 07, 2020

it's very nice and soundly developped , any problems showing the latex code in some questionaires ( seeing with Firefox)

por Fábio B

Sep 19, 2017

Excelent course on complex analysis. The course would be more complete if the proofs of the theorems were provided/shown.

por Blondeau

Sep 06, 2016

The course is really interesting and it is very clear.

thanks a lot of !

Sylvain

por LittleStone

Jan 25, 2017

Interesting and illuminating course on Complex Analysis. Thank you so much.

por Eleftheriadis V

Mar 29, 2019

Really good course. Well explained and interesting.

por Daniel

Mar 07, 2017

Nice course explaining basics of complex analysis.

por Robert L

Sep 20, 2016

Very good course. I learned a lot of new things

por Víctor P V

Dec 07, 2016

Good introduction to Complex Analysis

por mery

Feb 14, 2020

أشكركم لقد تعلمت الكثير من هذا الدرس

por Aung K M

May 20, 2019

Assignments are deep and systematic

por Jianlong H

Jan 05, 2019

It's wonderful!!