Chevron Left
Voltar para Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.8
estrelas
726 classificações
271 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Melhores avaliações

MS

Jul 31, 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

NW

Oct 29, 2020

I learned so much. I am a hobby farmer with a small flock, but I really enjoyed learning about all aspects of chicken welfare as it pertains to both small and large scale operations. Thank you!

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 267 Avaliações para o Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte

por Wolf

Nov 18, 2019

Good Course

por Juan F M S

Jun 04, 2020

Excellent

por fernando g u

Feb 12, 2018

Excellent

por U M M M U

May 18, 2020

dazzling

por Raquel B

Oct 19, 2016

Excelent

por Ruben E B

Jun 28, 2016

Great!!

por Mona A A

May 27, 2020

م

م

ت

ا

ز

ة

por Rafik S

Aug 07, 2017

thanks

por Emma N

Apr 06, 2020

brill

por S. S

Jun 14, 2020

good

por Kyros T

Apr 05, 2020

Nice

por Georgia W

Jun 04, 2020

I've kept a small backyard flock of ex-commercial hens for several years, and am generally interested in animal behaviour as a whole. I learnt a lot about the husbandry of chickens and some aspects of the behaviour from this course. If I have a small criticism, it would be that I would have liked a little bit more of an in depth examination of the behavioural side of things. Structurally, the course was delivered clearly and competently, although I feel it could have used a few more explanatory pictures, videos and diagrams to accompany the lectures. I did enjoy the attempt made by the automated subtitle program to try to translate the Scottish dude: that gave me a good laugh!

por Steve E

Sep 15, 2019

I realize this course is offered by the University of Edinburgh, however I wish there was less emphasis on unnecessary facts related to the UK such as "What percentage of chickens were free range in the UK in 2013" which in no way matters to me as someone trying to learn about raising and caring for chickens. That said, I learned A LOT in this course. So many things I did not know that I did not know. Chicken behavior, feeding, watering, transport, feather pecking, as a few examples. I will recommend this course to anyone I meet who asks where to learn more about chickens, raising them, or caring for them.

por Emlynn C

Jul 01, 2017

Course was very dense but well organized so that this 6 week long course can be knocked out in a weekend. Has a lot of different views on methods of poultry farming that are all treated with respect and is a great way to learn the basics of poultry whether it's for commercial or backyard production. Only complaints are that it's test-only, no written or free answer exercises (which may be par for coursera, I wouldn't know) and that treatment options for a few common illnesses/injuries/abnormalities such as being egg bound or egg eating were not discussed

por Johan T

Jun 17, 2016

Very interesting course. Truly enjoyed studying the behaviour of the animals I started appreciating a lot. Nevertheless 4 out of 5 stars because I felt the course is typically focusing on the large scale agro industrial side more then the (increasing number) of small scale/hobby keepers. Also I would have loved to learn more about typical chicken health care issues and how to prevent. All in all very informative and definitely a course I recommend!

por Julián C

Mar 01, 2019

Me fue de muchísima utilidad para mi proceso de enriquecimiento en mi carrera de Medicina Veterinaria y Zootecnia, gracias a que abarca todos los aspectos básicos que acarrean un adecuado bienestar y el consiguiente rendimiento de las aves en los sistemas de explotación existentes. Lo único que echo en falta es más imágenes y/o vídeos explicatorias, en vez de ver a la experta en el área hablando la mayor parte del tiempo.

por Charlotte G

Jul 30, 2016

A very informative and interesting course, a good cover of both behaviour and welfare. Each section was explained well, so no background knowledge was required. I appreciated the additional video content to explain concepts. I would have liked a little more information on disease and nutrition but I understand it is difficult to cover everything in a short course.

por Michelle B W

Jan 10, 2020

This course was extremely interesting and informative, with any technical or complex terms explained. It would have been useful to have more images in the videos to further explain each point, such as examples of the different slaughter methods, etc. I'd highly recommend this course for anyone with an interest in chickens, either personal or professional.

por Lakota J M

Oct 02, 2020

Interesting and in depth, though I take one star off as I can't shake the feeling that week 5 is almost entirely propaganda paid off by large scale poultry farms.

Free range is entirely more humane, birds need sunshine, fresh air, grass, and dirt. That isn't to say free range is completely humane, as NO commercial poultry farm will ever be humane.

por Paul M

Apr 12, 2020

I enjoyed this course thank you. As a suggested improvement for future courses; access to transcripts for all videos would be a great learning aid. I would be very interested in participating in a similar course focusing on Broiler Behaviour and Welfare - from hatchery to slaughter. Thanks again. Kind regards. Paul Morrell

por Marian v d K

Apr 18, 2017

I really enjoyed the course. I hope to see more animal specific behaviour and welfare courses in the future.

This course mostly covered parts of the poultry industry, I would have enjoyed it even more if non commercial farming was included, like chickens at home or at the children's farm.

por Pauline B

Dec 14, 2016

Honestly, I am absolutely delighted to have access to that course. Information is reliable, strong, you can have access to a huge number of articles, studies... It is well structured. My only regret, is that there is a lack of actual images of the actions and the process described.

por Susanne G

Aug 11, 2020

Great content. Personally would have preferred the content to be more geared towards backyard breeders but overall good balance on welfare topics vs caring for chickens at home. Could be a little bit more technical/detailed & challenging.

por Noah B

Feb 20, 2020

The content was of the course was exceptional and easy to follow. Despite my hectic work schedules, the presentation of the course made it easy to pick up where I left off and enabled me to complete this amazing course. Many thanks.

por Dirk C B

Jan 24, 2017

The individual lectures are kept short and the exams at the end of the week felt "fair".

The course itself is very informative and comprehensive . I learned a lot and I feel somehow ok prepared to keep a few backyard chicken :)