Chevron Left
Voltar para Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.8
estrelas
786 classificações
293 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Melhores avaliações

MS
30 de Jul de 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

NW
28 de Out de 2020

I learned so much. I am a hobby farmer with a small flock, but I really enjoyed learning about all aspects of chicken welfare as it pertains to both small and large scale operations. Thank you!

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 289 Avaliações para o Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte

por Ana O

25 de Nov de 2016

Thank you, it was very helpful. I am starting to raise chickens next year in my backyard and I've learned so much that my confidence is boosted to 100%.

por Ida S N M

29 de Abr de 2017

The course was clear and extremely informative. I have wanted to get chickens for a while and now I feel much more qualified to give them a good life!

por Dominique K

30 de Abr de 2019

Excellent course with well presented lectures and a thorough overview of the issues associated with poultry keeping both at the large and small scale

por Marcos A N F

25 de Ago de 2020

A great course to learn about chicken behaviour and animal welfare. Dr. Sandilands is a great professional. This course is really good and complete.

por Erick F M C

4 de Set de 2019

Is a very complete course, Im a student of veterinary medicine in Colombia so is very helpful to see how the welfare is managed in develop countries

por Nessa K

27 de Nov de 2016

As a backyard chicken owners, I find this course to be quite helpful in understanding how to better my chickens' living environment.

Thank you :)

por Amy

23 de Ago de 2020

Very informative on the common types of production of broilers and layers and also some useful information for keepers of backyard chickens.

por Bassam E H

16 de Mai de 2020

It is an extraordinary course full of knowledge and experience

I do recommend it for poultry lovers and all those who plan to raise chicken

por Edward M G

6 de Mai de 2019

This has been a very interesting course, I never imagined that the behavior of the chickens was so complex. 100% recommended this course.

por Annemarie N

16 de Out de 2019

I have chickens so I knew many concepts, however this course went into detail and explained specifically the why and how. Great Course!

por Muhammad U

24 de Jan de 2020

I'm really satisfied with the course work, its well planned, goes step by step till the meat processing/ slaughter. well done guys :)

por Fernando J p d

21 de Jan de 2019

I'm about to start a small breeding project for laying hens naturally and it has been very important to know such an important topic.

por Lindsay A S

29 de Mai de 2020

Super informational about chickens! I did not know much about them, besides what I do for work so was cool to learn more about them.

por Louise M

29 de Out de 2020

Brilliant course I enjoyed it and it was very informative gave me a better understanding of my own chickens. Highly recommended. 😊

por Jawagar.S.J T

30 de Mai de 2020

it is very useful and it gives me more knowledge about poultry birds and the variation among the species used in the poultry farm

por Janet W

13 de Nov de 2016

very good course! after finished all the contents, I really have a brief and basic understanding abt birds and chicken behavior

por Ileana A S

30 de Jul de 2020

I learned a lot from chicken behaviour and it is awsome how much care they need, but at the same time is paceful and relaxing.

por sujatha s

28 de Jun de 2017

Very interesting course. The use of videos, interviews and documents keeps the learner's interest levels high. Well designed

por Troy D J

27 de Jul de 2016

Awesome! I took the course to go along with my current job training and will use it to help me advance in my current career.

por Alex J

19 de Jun de 2020

I have learned a great deal about poultry welfare and now feel confident in evaluating their well being via their behaviour

por José A C S M

22 de Mai de 2020

I study veterinary medicine. Behavior, welfare and avian medicine interest me.

Everything I could learn was very enriching!

por Jobayer S

26 de Out de 2020

I like the course very much. I have learned many things. Hopefully it will help me in near future. Thanks all the mentors.

por D.r : G M A

2 de Mai de 2020

It was a wonderful course I learned a lot Thank you from the bottom of my heart

Veterinarian Ghazwan Muhammad Al-Sheikh

por Yana S

11 de Fev de 2018

I learned so many things in this course. I particularly liked the behavior and how to manage it portion of the course.