Chevron Left
Voltar para Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.7
estrelas
615 classificações
234 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Melhores avaliações

MS

Jul 31, 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

CL

Oct 07, 2016

Fantastic course if you're just starting out in the world of chickens. I feel that I gained vital knowledge which has boosted my confidence in my abilities as a back garden hen keeper.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 230 Avaliações para o Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte

por Anas S

Jan 10, 2017

perfectly organised and set on many short videos which makes learning much easier and simplified and i found all the topics very interesting and very well explained by the professor

por Mohammed H M A

May 04, 2020

fantastic course and if could you add the poultry feed formulation by using computer software course in coursera.org it will be the best work.

thanks in advance with best Regards

por Patricia A F

Sep 14, 2017

Very useful in-depth information. A must for those interested in raising chickens - explaining the whys behind chicken behavior and how to correct or minimize unwanted behavior.

por Michelle B

Oct 11, 2017

thoroughly enjoyed this course. taught me a great deal about things I can and should be improving for my own. Helped me understand a lot more about the commercial side too.

por Muhammad I

Feb 15, 2019

An informative course for backyard and commercial poultry farmers to improve welfare aspects in the process of chicken production whether its for meat or egg production.

por usman i s

Apr 17, 2017

i have some backyard chickens this course helps me a lot towards understanding them and i would like to say they are doing really well in terms of health and i am glad.

por Serena S

Sep 24, 2016

An excellent course, whether you have backyard poultry or just want to learn more about domestic, show or commercial poultry care, this course is a font of information.

por Dionne R

Apr 25, 2020

Very interesting course. I have always considered raising backyard chickens and this helped tremendously in understanding chicken behavior and best practice guidelines

por Mostafa M

Oct 13, 2016

this course is excellant for who want to know more about chicken behaviour and welfare

i belive that when we know the normal behaviour we can know the disorders

thanks

por Savannah H

Jul 03, 2017

Excellent course! It was a nice refresher on my animal welfare and behaviour courses from my undergrad, while also refreshing my basic poultry housing information too

por Muhammad A Y

Aug 20, 2019

I am an Animal Science student with specialization in Animal Nutrition and I found this course perfect with clear voice and focused theme material. just excellent!

por Jarif M

Jul 04, 2020

This course complete the basic structure of chicken physiology,behaviour,welfare technique. I enjoyed and learned a lot. Hopefully will enjoyable for new comers.

por David

Jun 30, 2020

Very educational and enjoyable! Provides a good insight into the welfare concerns of chickens across several production methods. Would highly recommend!

por Ana O

Nov 25, 2016

Thank you, it was very helpful. I am starting to raise chickens next year in my backyard and I've learned so much that my confidence is boosted to 100%.

por Ida S N M

Apr 29, 2017

The course was clear and extremely informative. I have wanted to get chickens for a while and now I feel much more qualified to give them a good life!

por Dominique K

May 01, 2019

Excellent course with well presented lectures and a thorough overview of the issues associated with poultry keeping both at the large and small scale

por Erick F M C

Sep 04, 2019

Is a very complete course, Im a student of veterinary medicine in Colombia so is very helpful to see how the welfare is managed in develop countries

por Nessa K

Nov 27, 2016

As a backyard chicken owners, I find this course to be quite helpful in understanding how to better my chickens' living environment.

Thank you :)

por Bassam E H

May 17, 2020

It is an extraordinary course full of knowledge and experience

I do recommend it for poultry lovers and all those who plan to raise chicken

por Edward M G

May 06, 2019

This has been a very interesting course, I never imagined that the behavior of the chickens was so complex. 100% recommended this course.

por Annemarie N

Oct 16, 2019

I have chickens so I knew many concepts, however this course went into detail and explained specifically the why and how. Great Course!

por Muhammad U

Jan 24, 2020

I'm really satisfied with the course work, its well planned, goes step by step till the meat processing/ slaughter. well done guys :)

por Fernando J p d

Jan 21, 2019

I'm about to start a small breeding project for laying hens naturally and it has been very important to know such an important topic.

por Lindsay A S

May 29, 2020

Super informational about chickens! I did not know much about them, besides what I do for work so was cool to learn more about them.

por jawagar

May 30, 2020

it is very useful and it gives me more knowledge about poultry birds and the variation among the species used in the poultry farm