Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Career Development

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Career Development da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
12,035 classificações
4,602 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

R

20 de jul de 2020

AN EXCELLENT COURSE. THE TEACHERS ARE OUT STANDING. THERE IS A CLARITY OF THOUGHT AND EXPRESSION IN THE TEACHERS. EVERY ONE WHO IS SEARCHING FOR JOB SHOULD DO THIS COURSE. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE TEAM.

TT

12 de nov de 2021

I enjoyed this Course English for Career Development and learnt a lot .The instructor were so helpful and proactive that it was easy for me to learn and I was able to reach clear all the assignment ..

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 4,618 Avaliações para o English for Career Development

por Phuc T

11 de jun de 2020

English is my second language. But in this course, I have been learned a lot of things to improve my English and how to prepare well for looking for a new job. How to use the formal word and how to be confident for an interview and impression interviewer. It's really useful and needed for everyone like me. The teachers were amazing and guide me easy to understand all the units I have passed. I really appreciated it.

I really thankful for the UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA to make a chance for everyone without America can easy to learn about some major from college and especially they can study online and free while people don't have time and finance.

Thanks for the generosity and helping me a lot to build my knowledge and experience.

Wishing the college will have more course in the future to help all student around the world add more knowledge and know-how is the best from American Education

por Кузик А В

18 de mai de 2022

By completing your course I got all information needed for applying for the job. In some tasks, I needed to force myself to do them, but most tasks were fascinating to complete. Special thanks for the professional texts connected to the themes. I created all the documents needed to enter a job: resume, cover letter, learned how I can briefly introduce myself by an elevator speech, and how to act in the interview and answer the questions properly.

I liked the way the information was structured. The interesting thing was that I found checking my peers’ works fun for me, I enjoyed reading and helping on improving them. I would never find it entertaining to me, but thanks to this course I tried such kind of experience. I fully recommend completing this course!

por Franklin L P

26 de set de 2019

I've most learned to take a course of online course.

how to apply a job in the market if how to formal performance while the interviewer and how to make a clearly resume and how to create if what to assign of parts of resume and how to create a good cover letter and how to fast making an cover letter and how to make a good elevator speech whether how to make to do it and I've learned that how to be a good applicant and also how to interview if what you move and how to prepared yourself and what in your saying during on interview. such mention this all i have learned to take this course of MOOC. Online Course is a great benefit for me because i have a lot learning of those module and i useful on everyday life and also works.

por deepika e

18 de mar de 2022

This is my first online course I have taken and I think I really Enjoyed Learning with the experts. It was entertaining and knowledgable at tha same time. Moreover the Vast options of saving notes and downloading the videos really helped me to learn anywhere. Further more the one which really impressed me is the peer grading assigments. This particular option has helped me to be a excellent student and also a great teacher. I could learn many things from reviewing others assigments and I could also Improvise my answers with the help of the suggestion given by my equal. I feel so happy to have choosen this particular course which was a great insight for my career development.

por Rajib B

13 de mai de 2020

I am Rajib Barua from Bangladesh. This course is very contentful and interesting to learn. I have learned a lot of new things from this course which will be very beneficial to achieve my career goal in future. A lot of thanks and regards to honourable course teacher Mr. Brian McManus & Ms. Robyn Turner for your great effort to make this course very understanding, easy and exciting. As well as my regards to the University of Pennsylvania to provide a wonderful opportunity to learn and make me certified. All the best wishes to my teachers and friends who are supporting me to complete this course successfully. I am very interested to do a lot of courses offered in future as well.

por Hashmatullah K

1 de out de 2020

First of all, taking this opportunity I would like to thank all the team best teachers, students, developers and operators for the best service and support,

actually, this course is very useful and i recommend to all the students and who wants to learn English and wants to improve the skills so once create the online user and join the course and study all the materials here,

specially i have learnt more and more about resume, cover letter, communications, networking, developments and a perfect way for the creation of best resume and how to convince the reader,

thank again for the support and appreciated all the team efforts.

Best Regards.

Hashmatullah Khalid

por Ольга У

22 de abr de 2020

Thank You very much for the such a great course! The course helped me correct my previous mistakes and taught me how to write a resume and all supporting documents correctly. Acquired knowledge was applied immediately after passing each week and gaining new knowledge. As a result, already in the third week of training, I managed to send a resume, which was successfully reviewed, appointed and conducted an interview, which I also passed successfully using the tips and skills gained from this course. I express my deep gratitude to the University of Pennsylvania and course compilers! Also I'm recommend this course for all and wishing good luck!

por Lender J G H

1 de mai de 2020

Curso muy practico para aprender nuevas palabras relacionadas con la busqueda de trabajo, como comportarse en las entrevistas de trabajo, como responder las preguntas, que preguntas pueden hacer los entrevistadores en Estados Unidos, como realizar un resumen y una carta de presentacion enumerando nuestras habilidades y para que los empleadores las vean como un beneficio para sus compañias y asi vernos como unos trabajadores idóneos para el trabajo. Me gustaron mucho los videos ejemplos de entrevistas de la semana 5, fueron muy explicativos, entretenidos y divertidos. Espero hagan mas cursos de ingles referentes a otras areas. Saludos!

por Мезенцева А В

13 de jun de 2020

This course has taught me lots of rules for many topics as composition of my personal profile, writing a resume and a cover letter, delivering an elevator speech and passing a successful interview for a job. So, now I can say with confidence that now I know everything about a job searching process and what it includes. I also know how to eliminate mistakes that I may make during the job searching process. In addition, thanks to this course, in the future I will be able to confidently and successfully identify my dream job and get an interview, after which, most likely, my employer will call me back and I will be able to get the job.

por Thorla T

18 de nov de 2020

What I liked most, was the way in which the instructors were very careful to speak clearly and took pauses during their teachings in all the videos, through out the five units. They made it easier for me to understand what they were saying and I was able to take notes. Even the readings were clear and easy to comprehend. Thanks to them, I enjoyed the journey of my course and I am happy that I have now completed it. I anxiously await my certificate and I am looking forward to doing more courses with Coursera. Thanks to all those who made this course a reality. I am better now equipped to attend any interview with boldness.

por YELITZA G

13 de out de 2020

On my last job of 20 years of service, I had the opportunity and the pleasure of being able to help and collaborates as much as possible in terms of the companion group if one was missing for X reason and there was an important assignment for the company, I by far I was glad I was in charge of completing that part of the work that corresponded to that person who could not attend, and so the company received his report or important work that was due that day.

We always support each other as we work as a team. It did no matter Who, when and how but the important thing is that it was fulfilled for the growth of the company.

por Elvie P

23 de mar de 2021

A well-designed online course. It enhances my English language. Thank you very much to the diligent instructors for sharing their knowledge. Now, I can add this English for Career Development Course as one of my achievements during this time of pandemic even when most of us are at home. Likewise, my gratitude to Coursera for having such platforms and free online courses. You have help millions of citizens around the world in achieving their dreams to obtain good education. May you, Coursera be continued to be blessed in order to help more people aspiring to achieve their goals by enrolling in your courses.

por Neeraj K J

14 de nov de 2017

Hello All,

This course is very good for all, who is searching job. Especially, students/freshers who are in final year and in future search for job, this course is marvelous. It defines what type of resume have to be prepared for freshers/student and peer reviews also interesting part of this course, in which, we can know in some country which type of problems/solutions faced by the job seeker.

Thanks to Professors, University Concerns and Controllers, who have developed such type of course for personal development.

Regards to All including Peer,

Neeraj K Jain

https://www.linkedin.com/in/neeraj-jain-06167533/

por Rishav R

15 de out de 2021

Very informative course for someone who wants to improve their communication and writing skills in English for professional development. I thoroughly enjoyed the way the course was structured and taught by two amazing instructors. The course was supported with informative reading materials and the peer-graded assignments encouraged me to put that extra effort to earn good grades. I would like to thank Coursera for recommending this course which taught me to write good resumes, cover letters and practice networking and elevator speeches. Hoping to learn more such courses in the future.

por Julia M

8 de dez de 2020

I really enjoyed this course. With it, I could practiced my English Grammar a lot and I could refreshing many things that I had been forget. I learned a lot about the job search process in the United State and other different countries, with the peers reviews of other students and how like immigrant, I can do to find the job of my dreams. Now I'm planning continue practicing all what I learned and try to study another contents to beefing up my skills and competitiveness. Thank you so much for brought us all these knowledge easy and understandable for non-native English speaker.

por Empress S

30 de mai de 2020

I am very grateful for the makers of this course and our instructors from The University of Pennsylvania. You have kindly and effectively relayed your knowledge to me, especially to those who are non-native English speakers. Career counseling is a course requirement for my chosen masters program in a local University here in the Philippines. This course has helped me regain confidence, gave me insights in career development and career counseling, and even ideas from online learning and online teaching. It has been a great learning time for me on this course. Maraming salamat po. <3

por Aashish M

4 de dez de 2020

I have been looking for these types of course and amazing instructors for a long time. I am the person who don't understand anything quickly but in this platform I felt so easier to understand everything and I believe taking online courses on coursera is 100% worthy. I would like to recommend Coursera learning platform to all of those friends who have some goal and want to learn something even when they don't have time to attend regular classes, this is the only and best platform for you guys.

Thank You so much coursera team to providing such a wonderful experience and knowledge.

por Hnin Y H

10 de mai de 2022

I love this course and do appreciate and pay respect for teachers. I think I have become increasing my english skill. I knew and can write resume and cover letter systematiclly. Now I have confidence in networking and got do's and don'ts at interviewing session. I have got many benefits from this course. Before at the start of the course, I was worring about that I don't understand about the lessons. Nevertheless, the beloved teachers are patient and great at teaching ;and the instructions of lesson videos, readings and exercises are so clear. I can't help thank you enough.

por REALINO P

15 de mai de 2020

Thank you Mr. Brian McManus and Ms. Robyn Turner. At first, I thought my credential will speak for itself and that I do not need to improve my resume but I was proven wrong. This course really helped me a lot in terms of resume making, job search and job application process in general. I wish I could show you how my resume improved and how many companies are now looking on my profile and wanting to have an interview with me. Thank you once again and I hope that a lot of people will be benefited from this course.

-Real Prado, Mechanical Engineer, Philippines

por WAFAA K S

6 de jun de 2020

I am excited to have wonderful learning by joining this course. I hope this knowledge will prove a milestone in the career development of all fellows. I strongly recommend this course to the professionals who want to learn the tools and techniques to start or improve them. I am thankful to the faculty for designing specific course contents and presenting in such way that the learner feels no difficulty in understanding

I participated in this course through Duhok Polytechnic University. So, Please can I be granted a certificate of participation for free

por Kristi R

30 de jan de 2021

This course is a wonderful tool for everyone no matter if you´re just entering job market and preparing your first resume and cover letter or are already working. The whole job search topics has been wrapped into one well structured program which is easy to follow thanks to the videos, control questions, tests, games and assignments. I especially liked the idea that it was required to review also other´s work. This truly gave a key to pay attention to main indicators, but also taught to respectful, constructive and encouraging in the feedback given.

por Devpreet S

2 de jun de 2020

This was very interesting and valuable for me. It helps me how to represent myself to get dream job in job market at international and national level, help me how to build up the social network in the world and how to improve your communication skill to compete and make intention in the crowd in the job market.

I thanks to my Instructors who help me in this regards and share their valuable experience in the lecture. Again thanks to Coursera give the chance to earn another valuable skill that helps me to improve in my professional and personal life.

por Heba A H

20 de abr de 2020

I thought it will be an easy course, repeated information and I will finish it in no time, but what I actually found that this course is very rich with new information, and made me see the CV and interview processes from a different angel, letting me get the new updates of how the process is going, and I discovered that I have an out dated information, which finally led to dramatic change in my CV, and now it look away better than before.

Special Thanks to the amazing professors and for Coursera for giving us such a chance for change

por Shariya M

17 de mai de 2020

I really appreciate the content of this course and it gives me different aspects of how I can prepare a resume and cover letter, the Do's and Don't's. I am becoming more confident and able to prepare resumes as per the job requirements, how to build with the professionals the relevant areas, how my small talk can make a big difference, how to grab the attention of the employer through the resume, all I can say every in's and out's is explain here elaborately. Moreover, the instructors of this course deserve a thumbs up from me.

por Jhon A M

25 de abr de 2020

In my opinion this course is amazing because it uses very clear information and its sources are very interesting so i have many comments to recommend this course first one I could learned how I could be successful job seeker second one it gave me a lot of knowledge about how job market works when one employer needs a good candidate so it puts an advertisement to look for it and how i could find it if I am a goos match for it , also it gave good information to realized my self what i want to do in my short future time, thanks