Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Career Development

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Career Development da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
12,498 classificações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

TT

12 de nov de 2021

I enjoyed this Course English for Career Development and learnt a lot .The instructor were so helpful and proactive that it was easy for me to learn and I was able to reach clear all the assignment ..

EB

3 de jul de 2020

Thank you for letting us to use this opportunity at this pandemic situation.

I find this course has a lot example which is unstandable and illustration and so efficient for newcomer and job seeker.

Filtrar por:

4301 — 4325 de 4,802 Avaliações para o English for Career Development

por NITHIYA S S

19 de ago de 2021

l

por fredy a c

7 de jun de 2021

.

por Trammy S N T

1 de jun de 2021

v

por Harsh G

28 de abr de 2021

-

por Chethan S

20 de ago de 2020

A

por HELAL A A H A

18 de mai de 2020

ن

por Evelyn M F

17 de mar de 2020

e

por ALONSO A M

24 de set de 2019

E

por THIERNO B B

5 de fev de 2018

G

por Ruanlemberg F M

17 de dez de 2017

V

por Javahir B

20 de jul de 2017

l

por Hasan U M

23 de jun de 2017

G

por Muchammad F F

28 de jun de 2022

This course is made by the University of Pennsylvania and lasts about five weeks. This course was created to help people who want to improve the quality of their English and advance their careers in the global market. Each week in this course you will learn many things. In this course, the material presented by the teacher is quite easy to understand because of the explanation through the video accompanied by subtitles. Each video will include several questions using the questions that have been presented in the video. In addition, there are examples of case studies, readings, and quizzes that help me understand the material presented. The material presented in the course is quite useful for me because it adds new English vocabulary related to resumes, how to find a job, cover letters, and much more. Therefore, I think this course is one of the recommended courses to improve my English vocabulary.

por Eduardo S

17 de abr de 2018

PRÓS:

Excelente transmissão de conhecimentos, quanto à:

Métodos e estratégias corretas na busca de emprego, de forma alegre e realista;

Aprendizado de vocabulário, pronunciação leitura e interpretação;

As auto-gravações são excelente recurso para auto-avaliações!

Aprendizado de 'oitiva', pelas excelentes pronuncias em inglês de ms. Robin e Mr. Brian;

Ms. Robin e Mr. Brian transmitem entusiasmo, e tornam as aulas interessantes de seguir.

A entrevista de emprego de Mr. Brian foi o ponto alto de 'interessante' e divertida.

CONTRA:

A Agenda com os dead-lines não ficam muito evidentes; é um pouco fácil estourar um prazo para quem não consegue ter uma rotina diária.

Só. Excelente curso. Congrats.

por Radhika S

20 de mai de 2022

It,s my destiny to be part of this course or a got a chance to learn internationally. i really learned a lot about world's interaction, as well knowledge about foreign job perspective too. How to face internationally interviews, vocabulary style, delivery skills etc.

gratitude for coursera to giving an whole world's students to get an opportunity to learn n get an practical exposure too. but i cannot pay to get an course certificate. kindly provide me the certificate free because i fill the all details about why i am not able to pay for course. i didn't get an any reply for it till now.

por Ghazanfar A N

10 de ago de 2021

it helped me very much as it increase my knowledge and will be helpful in future job search process. but there are few areas which can be improved. in all test quiz/ flash card quiz 2-3 questions are from future lecture which effect on result. Secondly I have issue with assignment grading as most of reviewers/ candidate does mark your work honestly and mark it in fun with mostly giving low grades and give useless feedback to your work which demotivates the learner. In my opinion there should be someone from the website who should review the grading as well.

por Sharmin A

19 de ago de 2020

I really thankful for the course. I've learned so much from the course. I got to learn about U.S job sites and their process though there aren't all similar in my country. Now I know how to write a great resume along with cover letter and the most important thing how will I going to face the interview with confidence. I really wanna give a special thanks to our instructors of this course they were so good and for them it was actually became very easy for me to understand the course. Now that I've gained enough confidence I think I'll do better to get a job.

por Mohammed A S

5 de jul de 2020

I got a very good opportunity to improve my English for future career developing and improve way to communication in organization to staff which are team members manager and others. I am got one more opportunity to in future career improvement increase growth my career in other field also. And how to prepare resume and covering letter and how to speak colleagues & staff to like taboo(not ask anyone religion,politics & salary) etc. thanks to this course design and presented professor & university

por Rose B

6 de abr de 2020

An interesting, well-organized course, with helpful examples and engaging teachers (in some reviews, people complain about the speed, but you can easily regulate that, I watched most videos on +1.50). It emphasizes both the process (from job seeking to final interview, step-by-step) and the vocabulary & grammar basics needed for descent writing in English. Many quizzes are too easy, but overall it's a great course, especially if you are a high school student and you don't know where to start from.

por Deleted A

19 de abr de 2020

Good to learn resume and cover letter writing. Can learn strategies to appear in interview. It helped me to present myself smart in resume and cover letter. And added values on how to appear and prepare for interview. Overall good course but did not include English language learning. This course is much more about career development rather than language learning. But still learn new phrases and verb that improved my English language as well. Thank you for developing this course.

por Birendra B

3 de jul de 2020

Yes i find this course very useful as the English grammar that has been used is not that hard and complex to follow. But what i find more meaningful to attend this course is that using the proper way of finding the job, preparing resume,cover letter ,and elevator speech. I am satisfied and have broaden my perspective and knowledge while going for job search process in future. Instructors were very good as well and the course was well structured .

por Manilal _

22 de jul de 2020

EXCELLENT. I could able to learn the things here may not able to Learn outside at all. But the one thing which discourage me, it is. It was first said that it's free course and will offer certificate after completion. But as I completed this course and then it was showing that I have to purchase, so I am not... happy with your way.... which makes other to .... show what you are going to offer...otherwise don't show that it is.....😔😔

por Paul F

10 de out de 2020

Thanks for the course. For me, it was great to refresh my resume and cover letter knowledge. Also to use English to study a topic and learn some new words it was great. Some parts o the course like the use of the media to promote me I really do not feel comfortable following your instructions. Also, some examples of doing and not doing were a little obvious. In general, I liked it. Regards, Paul.

por Mohamed N

7 de set de 2021

I am really happy to attend this course and I benefited so much from it. I also like to thank this nice couple of lecturers (Prof. Brian McManus & Prof. Robyn Turner) who conveyed the course topics in a very friendly and harmonized way, my special gratitude to Robyn for her word by a word speaking especially for me, as English is a 2nd Language to me.

I recommended this course all people in all ages.