Chevron Left
Voltar para Big Data Integration and Processing

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Big Data Integration and Processing da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.4
estrelas
2,274 classificações
488 avaliações

Sobre o curso

At the end of the course, you will be able to: *Retrieve data from example database and big data management systems *Describe the connections between data management operations and the big data processing patterns needed to utilize them in large-scale analytical applications *Identify when a big data problem needs data integration *Execute simple big data integration and processing on Hadoop and Spark platforms This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Melhores avaliações

SB
21 de Out de 2020

Hello Gentlemen,\n\nThis course was very helpful foe me. It enhanced my knowledge about Big Data Integration. Thank you so much for providing me such important knowledge. Thank you once again.

AA
5 de Mar de 2018

It was a good course, it could have been better if some examples of Spark were also provided in other Languages like Java, people without having background of python may find it difficult.

Filtrar por:

426 — 450 de 476 Avaliações para o Big Data Integration and Processing

por Sergey K

8 de Out de 2016

Quizes are inconsistent with given dataset. Questions are bad: i.e. what is the difference between "number of distinct countries mentioned" and "number of countries mentioned in tweets".

por Enrique C M d C

19 de Nov de 2017

La virtual box de cloudera va muy lenta y es imposible hacer los ejercicios de manera fluida y satisfactoria.

El usuario y la contraseña de Splunk que se proporcionan estan caducados

por Erwin v R

24 de Dez de 2016

I miss a proper buildup from the theory to the practical exercises. Especially the last quiz I found very difficult based on the limited number of exercises presented upfront.

por Brian S

23 de Mai de 2019

Practice activities files are outdated and a lot of the installation of downloaded tools requires manual fixing, there is no support at all from the course publishers.

por Luis E M A

9 de Abr de 2020

Links do not work and you must spent a lot of time in the Discussion Forum to know how to run the programs.

Instructions for the quiz are not clear and confused

por Matt M

17 de Nov de 2016

I had many problems with the final two programming assignments with running Spark in the VM and there isn't a lot of help available online.

por Richard E A M

21 de Abr de 2017

The materials explaining the course are too poor. This is a core course in the specialization.

The quizzes are out of the material's league

por Stephen B

29 de Mar de 2020

Too many different software packages, not enough depth, and no support. Good high level overview.

por Ruijia W

17 de Nov de 2017

1. the whole week 1 and week 2 are useless and not helpful.

2. Plz add more handson sections

por Mayank R

8 de Abr de 2019

This course focuses entirely on theory and there are very few hands on exercises .

por M B A

10 de Mar de 2021

On week 6 Pyspark hands-on, no guidance, un-understandable and not working

por Reinaldo L N

5 de Set de 2019

I had lots of problems with postgresql, could not run the hands-on for it

por Lucas J

19 de Mar de 2017

The VM doesn't work out of the box sometimes for the hands on activities

por Arief S

7 de Mar de 2021

the package error and unsolved in the last excercise

por Oron N

12 de Fev de 2017

Poor presentation of topics, I don't recommend.

por Shu H F

24 de Ago de 2017

Many issues with the VM

por Qian H

13 de Jul de 2017

Soso

por Mark F

16 de Abr de 2017

I think the last project was very badly positioned and explained. First the Coursera is using Cloudera VM, but if you execute and run the Cloudera Express to set the Cloundera environment up the Coursea exercises do not run There should be a warning!. If you do then the simplest Jupyter exercise it fails - this took me about 10 hours to figure out.

Then for the final Project, technically to succeed you must miss country names in all lower case and you cannot match with countries with a 'space' e.g. 'Cape Verdi' and if you try to take any of this into account you do not get the same numbers to pass the test. There needs to be some warning on how to interpret and manage the files so that you get the same numbers being asked for in the test. Again this too me about 10 hours to resolve. Both resolutions ONLY because another colleague is doing the same course and we problem solved together. THIS IS AN AWFUL EXERCISE in frustration due to incomplete details. Not a learning exercise. Just AWFUL....

por César G M

16 de Jul de 2017

In week 3 I was asked to give up my personal information to a 3rd party in order to complete this course, including full name, email, telephone, zip code and permission to send spam to my email. This is not acceptable.

As I used a fake telephone number they denied my registration:

"Denied Person

Thank you for your interest in Splunk.

Please be patient as we assess your registration at Splunk.com. This process may take a few days. If you do not receive a welcome email from Splunk after 2 business days, feel free to contact support@splunk.com. Be sure to provide your full name, complete mailing address, email, and the Splunk.com username you created during your registration. We will respond as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience and understanding."

I'm pretty sure you can work something with Splunk to provide a direct link for future editions of this course so your students don't have to give up their privacy in order to complete it, as you're giving that company the publicity anyways.

por Sun W

21 de Set de 2019

Content-wise is okay.

Hands on material is not properly prepared. Software installation has some many errors, even the course is using a standard VM. This shows the provider paying little attention to prepare the course material. Very disappointing attitude.

Another error spotted, mongoexport give wrong instructions.. using the instruction, there is no way to extract just the tweets column. I really doubt if the instructors have ever tested on whatever they have provided to the students lol

I dont know how can i express my disappointment to this course. Quiz instructions are very unclear as well. If the instructors have ever tried their own instructions, they would discover these naive mistakes. Please be responsible when selling knowledge

por Reeja R G

24 de Mai de 2020

The contents are too old, its time to upgrade. And it only has very less basic theory with lots of unnecessary theory part which dont even explains anything useful. In spark only wordcount example, nothing else. Not even efficient or useful even for a beginner. I will never recommend this course. Its better to choose free on very cheap courses in Udemy which have good content, practicals and examples. Or even youtube free courses are far better. Here they have included splunk, after going through the course I googled to understand what actually splunk is. Total waste. I am cancelling my subscription today.

por Laurent C S

22 de Jun de 2019

While the teacher are excellent and the course enjoyable, the instructions are simply not working (especially week 6). Just check on the forums, the instructions are so outdated. The Internet changed. Many script must be debugged to add parameters like --no-check-ssl and add classpathes and without this, the test on week 6 is too hard without guessing and retrying. This a shame to sell courses that no longer work.

The whole course would need a serious refresh to get it working with some recent version. Remember, it is based on outdated software from 2014 or 2015.

Please update ! Thanks

por Wojciech H

13 de Dez de 2020

This course falls down a cliff almost instantly. The quizzes are based on terminology that is not yet introduced, the exercises barely scratch the surface of what is needed on the assignments. Reading in between the lines and hours of experimentation and trial and error are needed for the assignments and quizzes. That is not a way to learn. If you like to have the instructor just read off the slides and tell you to copy this, and run that, and not really understand what you are doing, then I guess this course is for you. I got nothing out of this course.

por Varun

27 de Abr de 2021

There have been major updates to the software, and the instructions in the course have not been updated to accommodate them. Neither have the moderators provided working solutions to the common technical problems in the discussions and forums nor can we find solutions pertaining to Cloudera on Google. The Hands-On exercises are totally impossible to be implemented at this stage due to lack of proper guidance.

por Spencer

16 de Nov de 2017

This course was absolutely terrible. You spend 2 hours per assignment troubleshooting the install of the various tools used and literally no time do the assignments and experiments. Its like no one at the University even tried the steps that they published, they were simply incorrect. I am lucky to have a background using some of these tools. Course should be removed until content is corrected.