Chevron Left
Voltar para Astronomia: Explorando oTempo e Espaço

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Astronomia: Explorando oTempo e Espaço da instituição Universidade do ArizonaUniversidade do Arizona

4.8
estrelas
2,766 classificações
966 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is designed for anyone who is interested in learning more about modern astronomy. We will help you get up to date on the most recent astronomical discoveries while also providing support at an introductory level for those who have no background in science....

Melhores avaliações

WB
14 de Dez de 2020

I really enjoyed working through the modules of this course. The material was interesting and enlightening. The self-paced format worked well for me and I will look for similar courses going forward.

AM
12 de Mar de 2021

I really enjoyed working through the modules of this course. The material was interesting and enlightening. The self-paced format worked well for me and I will look for similar courses going forward.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 955 Avaliações para o Astronomia: Explorando oTempo e Espaço

por Marc R

9 de Mai de 2020

This is a wonderful course, and I wholeheartedly recommend it, as a layperson with a lifelong interest in astronomy who has always wanted to formally study it. It is a good stepping-stone to more advanced or specialised courses, and the material is engaging and well-presented. The content ranges from introductory concepts, through an exploration of the solar-system, stars and galaxies, to relativity and cosmology, and the course ends with an intriguing and fascinating look at astrobiology and artificial life. The commitment and passion of the convenor, Prof Chris Impey, to his subject is apparent at every stage of the journey. Regular quizzes, short written assignments, discussion forums and videos, and exercises in both citizen-science and remote-viewing with online telescopes keep one engaged throughout.

por Pedro C

8 de Dez de 2016

I am very happy to have completed the course. I was able to learn a lot about various aspects of astronomy, especially galaxies and globular clusters that are objects that call my attention. I was able to read much of the material provided in teachastronomy, thank you for the kindness of making the material available. I watched all the videos of Professor Chris and I was able to follow well due to the availability of the subtitles in English, this was important. The interviews I could not follow completely by the lack of subtitles. This was a great opportunity for me that likes astronomy, but because of the distance that I live from the great centers of study, it is very difficult to access good and reliable information. I am very grateful and congratulate the institution for making this course available.

por Vidya S

18 de Set de 2020

It is really very interesting course which doesn't require any special knowledge in physics or math. Here you will not find lot of math formulas. Everything is well structured with support of slide and text book. But the main thing which I liked here - is tasks with writing assignments. In order to prepare my answers for related prompts I was forced to read additional materials, re-read text book from the course and review slides from presentation again. When I was trying to formulate my own ideas and understanding about learned material I realized that my understanding about specific topic much more increased! So I got a lot of benefits in sense of understanding from such type of tasks. I appreciate Professor Impey's enthusiasm in teaching others about astronomy a lot. Thanks Professor!

por Joanne K

26 de Fev de 2021

I really enjoyed this course and I would like to follow up on it by taking another, related course. I heard that Professor Impey also teaches an Astrobiology course. That is the course I hope to take next. I enjoy his lectures and text, especially his sense of humor and use of popular media to expand upon the topics e.g. the Pink Floyd song "Shine On You Crazy Diamond" and lyrics, to illustrate how the band's tribute to their departed bandmate uses verbal imagery to describe his life and contributions in terms of astronomy, literally, of star birth and death (references to such). I also enjoy the online Q &A sessions and the related streams on Twitch and You Tube by other members of the teaching team, namely Vicky and Michael. I'm glad that I had this opportunity. Thank you.

por Joseph M

13 de Jul de 2020

A privilege and a blessing (in the spiritual sense) to have come across this unique course - and so brilliantly choreographed by Prof Chris Impey and his team. The course was very well structured, crisp and precise to a novice in Astronomy like me and to obtain a basic understanding of our cosmos, and our place in the universe. The Earth is unique ands seems to have been created with great care and precision by the superior being or intelligent presence in the universe. I wish I could live forever to be part of the fascinating progress in astronomy and be part of the future explorations and travels into the wider cosmos.

I look forward to enhancing my knowledge gained on Astronomy by undergoing further courses. My best wishes to the University of Arizona.

por Tejas K G

12 de Jul de 2020

The Astronomy: Exploring time and space coarse by University of Arizona was very nice. I got new things to learn in the course about Astronomy. As expected the course has covered up all the Astronomy topics from cosmology, solar system to astrobiology. So now I am feeling great after completing the course today. I like the teaching patterns quizes and activities taken in the course. The activities like galaxy zoo and micro Observetory are much more inspiring to us. Also there were lots of live Q- A sections on YouTube by sir Chris Impey to solve the queries of students or learners . So Thank you to sir Chris Impey.

Also thank you very much to University of Arizona for providing such a great coarse to us. Also thank you to caursera.

por Michael F

27 de Abr de 2018

What an amazing class and enjoyable experience this has been for me personally. I feel that now I can at least understand some basic fundamental properties of the cosmos. I have been a follower of Dr. Carl Sagan for many years and Professor Stephen Hawking (RIP) as well. I thank my lucky stars (pun intended) for wonderful teachers like professor Chris Impey who has created a remarkable presentation of facts, theories and ideas that we know about the universe and salts our curiosity to continue exploring the big questions of who we are, where we came from, and what does it all mean. That you professor Impey for all you and so many others introduced in this class have done.

All the best,

Michael Fredericksen (Indiana, USA)

por Lewis

11 de Abr de 2021

I really enjoyed this course. As a relative beginner in the areas of physics and astronomy, I was concerned the content might end up being overly focussed on formulae and mathematics, but Prof. Chris Impey and the team behind Astronomy: Exploring Time and Space managed to balance the course on the right level of detail. I have found the content engaging and interesting (presented largely through video lectures) and the access to the wider course materials, such as podcasts, live-stream Q&As and online textbooks was a great bonus to build upon that learning. I would recommend this course to anybody who wants to learn the basics about astronomy and satisfy the desire to understand their universe just that little bit more.

por Damir G

26 de Mai de 2020

Really great course, enjoyed it a lot, it's easy to follow and a lot of fun. As it turns out it's already 7 years old and the subject of Astronomy has been developing very rapidly that some of the material already requires to be updated. The fun videos to lighten up the subject are great but most of them look like they are from 80's or 90's and the quality of the picture on those are of the same old VHS tape quality. The subject 10 about the Cosmology is a little hard to follow, watched it several times but still hard to get some of the topics and the examples are sometimes confusing. Other than that it's a really great course which I recommend to everyone. Thank you very much for your hard work!!!

por hamid m

24 de Mar de 2019

thank you professor chris for making my day(s). really, when i see all the useless things people do, it is your astronomy class that puts things in perspective. plus, i hate to say this on a public forum; playing your videos helped put me to sleep at night, kinda like a bedtime story. truly, i have separation anxiety wondering how i'm going to be able to fall asleep now. the biggest problem i experienced with this was trying to keep track of my videos, because it would autoplay and cycle through an entire week. if coursera could put an option in there for that. i ended up playing my videos in reverse chronological order so when i fell asleep it would cycle through all the ones i had already watched

por veysel a

8 de Jul de 2020

This course has taught me every aspect of astronomy. I am graduated from political sciences and now planning to have my own radio telescope as soon as possible. But beyond that, it was a very neat study of science in general and mostly a very exciting period of time. The textbook is quite detailed and well prepared, starting from basic knowledge of physics which was a wonderful starting point for the ones from out of the field. There are bunch of interviews with the scientists from the field on the subject and a livestream available to asking questions each week. The video lessons are very intriguing. I am very thankful to Prof. Chris Impey and his team. and many thanks to coursera.org for this course.

por Hreem M

8 de Ago de 2020

Professor Chris Impey does an excellent job of being an Educator about the Cosmos and its related fields. From observational equipment to planetary bodies, stars, galaxies, moons, astrobiology, and even radiation and various wavelengths; he covers all in this course and much more, making it enjoyable to all. Even though I consider myself passionate and well-versed in astronomical concepts, I still learnt so many new things, adding to the vast knowledge one can gain from this field and satisfying as well as growing one's curiosity. Numerous thanks and heartiest regards to Professor Chris Impey, the Steward Observatory Teaching Team, as well as those on Coursera for making this happen. Much love!!

por Owen L

13 de Jul de 2020

Very well done course! There's a bit of an over reliance on videos, which sometimes feature silly clips from TV shows or very odd music videos.

But overall the instructor is clear and engaging, the exercises test your attention and understanding, and there's a lot of material covered in a well structured format.

I would have liked to see a bit more physics and math and a wider variety of teaching formats (it's really just a lot of videos - the lecture slides are there but they're kind of useless). I really enjoyed the two projects, and the peer-reviewed writing exercises are useful if flawed. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in learning about the stars.

por Matko Z

4 de Out de 2016

I am a First year master in software engineering, but also a really curious "kid". In my search for interesting course related to astronomy I found this one.

Although I am only half way through the course I state that this is the most compelling course I have taken on Coursera. Since I have more then some knowledge of scientific method, physics and other topics talked about in the course, but not as much in astronomy I find the course tailored for me. Especially taking into account that this course is in the right spot between popular knowledge and a little bit of science and engineering.

Prof. Impley is excellent in explaining, even amazing at some points :)

por Deborah C

22 de Ago de 2020

I was expecting a low-key introduction to commonly known information about astronomy with some new images from the Hubble telescope. I've taken similar on-line courses for the general public before. This course, in contrast, provided thought-provoking, challenging material in every unit. I found myself re-reading the supplementary materials, re-watching videos, and doing additional on-line research because my curiosity was piqued. Professor Impey is a master teacher, and the supporting materials in the class provide additional depth and perspectives, and sometimes a dose of humor through light-hearted videoclips. Thank you for this excellent course.

por Jennifer R

15 de Jun de 2020

This course is fascinating, engaging and of high quality; Professor Impey is obviously interested in sharing his field with a wide audience. Although familiarity with physics and mathematics helps with understanding the material, no math or science background is required to enjoy and complete this course. The lecture videos are interspersed with photographs, diagrams, and videos. An online textbook is available to further delve into the subject matter. Two interesting projects are assigned, involving actual science online. And to top it off, Professor Impey had live Q&A sessions on YouTube live. Highly recommend to anyone curious about our universe!

por Garth M

1 de Nov de 2020

Firstly, I would like to thank the UA for offering this eye-opening course about the final frontier. Secondly to Prof. Impey, who spent weeks or even months compiling all the videos, slides and notes that went into this Astronomy course - it was well worth it. A big thank you to the moderator, Christy Read, for the continued support and advice that she patiently and unselfishly provided to all who partook in this course.

I honestly enjoyed the Astronomy course and it provided me with new insight into our enigmatic, yet mesmerizing and fascinating universe. I would definitely sign up / enroll for similar courses in the future. LIVE LONG & PROSPER!

por Utkarsh T

8 de Jun de 2019

This course has a deep impact on my vantage point about the obvious things that I have always taken for granted without considering the possibility of a scientific basis behind them. It helped me understand the fundamentals not only in astronomy but also real-life day-to-day things and I am so glad to write about historical viewpoints and beliefs that this course has provided me.

I am so impressed by the work of Professor Chris Impey and his team. You people have made it possible such an organized course for all the students(especially who are not from astronomy background).

Looking forward to be a part of any other similar course in the future.

por Arjun S

7 de Dez de 2017

This course has been a wonderful and very informative experience. Aimed at novices like me, it manages to explain very complicated stuff in easily understood ways. I guess Prof Impey is a fan of Carl Sagan and is carrying on his proud tradition of making difficult science more accessible to people who don't have the necessary training. However, I would advise future learners to spend as much time as possible researching the Teach Astronomy website which is an invaluable source for material directly connected to the course. You will find it much easier to tackle the assignments if you do. Can't wait for them to offer other courses like this!

por Karolina

21 de Dez de 2020

I've chosen four courses on coursera and this course "Astronomy: Exploring Time and Space" was my favorite! I loved everything - video lectures and readings were very interesting and informative, tests and assignments were very helpful to absorb knowledge. I could never regret taking this course as I always dreamed to study physics and I was interested in astronomy since my childhood. I am truly grateful to professor Chris Impey and coursera for having this amazing experience which, hopefully, will encourage me to change my profession in future. And of course, I highly recommend this course to everyone who's interested in astronomy!

por Armando F

13 de Jun de 2020

I was enthusiastic about this course in which I participated only for personal interest in astronomy without having curriculum or career purposes. I have discovered many interesting new things and above all I am now encouraged to continue to deepen the topics that most interested me.

I am sincerely admired by the vastness of prof. Impey is the naturalness with which he exposes even the most complex concepts.

Sincere congratulations! And many compliments and thanks also to the mentor Christy Read for the kindness and competence with which we have followed our work in these weeks

Many thanks to all the staff !!

por Shirley O

22 de Mar de 2021

This was my first Coursera class, and my first science class since college (many years ago). I loved it and and sorry it is over. Professor Chris Impey is a very skilled teacher, and the instructional platform is excellent. No technical challenges whatsoever— and such interesting use of multi-media! But most of all, I loved the subject matter, learned so much (including much science), and am left with a great sense of wonder about the privilege of life we enjoy in this vast, expanding universe. The course was skillfully planned and flawlessly executed. Thank you to all who made this opportunity possible.

por Eric Y

28 de Abr de 2017

Chris Impey eases into the subject of astronomy, with increasingly difficult subject matter as the course proceeds. However, he is very methodical and plain (in a good way) in his language, and his videos are a joy to watch. I started this course already interested in amateur astronomy and learned a lot of new things about the technology and methodology in astronomy. I'd recommend this to anyone who is really interested in astronomy. Be prepared to make a not insignificant commitment, because the course is nearly four months long! Time well spent in my opinion. Thank you to all who made this course possible.

por David B

13 de Ago de 2017

I have taken 5 or 6 online courses through Coursera and this have proven to be the most interesting of the lot. I enjoyed the professor's delivery style and all the topics that were covered. I had little knowledge of Astronomy before taking the course and now feel I have a much better insight into outer space. Great job Professor Impey and those that assisted. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in gaining a broader knowledge in science. You do not need to have any previous knowledge of Astronomy to be successful in this course and to gain knowledge from this great course.

por SAI P S R

5 de Dez de 2020

Very good course. Had a good experience. very happy that I have completed the course. Thanks respectful Mr. Chris Imprey. His teaching made this course interesting. The materials provided were so useful to complete this course. I have learnt many things from this couse. This course not only gives information about astronomy. But also about different branches of Astronomy. Thanks for this valuable and worthy course. The point it is free is so good that anybody who are interested in astronomy can learn this course. I would recommend this course to my friends and neighbours. Thanks once again !