Chevron Left
Voltar para Archaeoastronomy

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Archaeoastronomy da instituição Politecnico di Milano

4.5
estrelas
988 classificações
303 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Melhores avaliações

II
2 de Mar de 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT
16 de Set de 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 301 Avaliações para o Archaeoastronomy

por Ana I P G

4 de Abr de 2020

Un curso altamente interesante, bien fundamentado, de introducción pero con conceptos muy interesantes y bien comentados por el profesor Giulio Magli. Me ha resultado fascinante, fácil de entender y apasionante. Enhorabuena.

por Paola B d l R

17 de Set de 2017

Un curso excelente que he disfrutado muchísimo de principio a fin y que encarecidamente recomiendo. Muchísimas gracias Giulio Magli y al equipo que ha participado en la realización de este curso.

Un afectuoso saludo, Paola.

por Agrim G

1 de Fev de 2020

My second course on Coursera related to Astronomy. Professor Guilio Magli excels at explaining each and every detail regarding Archaeoastronomy, ranging from Angkor Wat to Chichen Itza. Hope this helps me in the future.

por Ekain R

2 de Abr de 2017

Increíble. Me ha parecido un Curso con un valor agregado impresionante. Es de los pocos cursos que he hecho que he terminado muy satisfecho por todo lo que he aprendido; tanto a nivel astronómico como a nivel cultural.

por Gonzalo V

6 de Set de 2017

I enjoyed this class a lot! Living in Mexico, surrounded by ancient ruins (not "european" ancient, but ancient nonetheless), I am know visiting archeologic places with a different view... and a compass in hand.

Thanks!

por Jose A C A

29 de Fev de 2020

Fue una experiencia muy grata, aprendí muchas cosas que desconocía, ahora puedo entender mas sobre las grandes cosas oculta que desconocemos acerca de algunos resto arqueológicos.

por Thangella S

3 de Nov de 2020

The course was informative but is not at all a beginner level course. Also, the quizzes are quite challenging. It should be labelled as an Intermediate course or Advanced. And it doesn't take 7 hours to finish. It takes more than that. It should be labelled as 18- 24 hours. Overall, it is good.

por Alexandra C Z G

24 de Jun de 2020

La materia es interesante y los vídeos muy explicativos, sin embargo la última unidad es solo lectura y me hubiese gustado que siguiera la misma metodología de las anteriores.

por Sharon M

18 de Jun de 2020

Interesting course but could do with much better explanation of astronomical information, as I found myself becoming lost with trying to work out some of the data regarding relative planetary positions during the tests. Also I found the point of view of the tutor very narrow minded, although this is expected of mainstream scholars who fail to accept the findings of alternative researchers - for example, no mention of the clear alignments of the Giza Pyramids to the stars of the constellation of Orion... he mentions that the pyramids were 'tombs'! though no Pharoah's remains were ever found in a pyramid - they were buried in the Valley of the Kings! Regarding the tutor's comment about Tihuanaco - the alignments match 15 millennia ago but 'what do you think is more likely...', a slight error from the builders of this magnificent construction or the errors of (mainstream) archaeologists - I go with with the errors of the (mainstream) archaeologists every time! I would very much like to hear the tutor's explanation of how the pyramids were built when modern technology is unable to replicate.

por Abhishek V

28 de Mai de 2018

I was just looking to experiment and this seemed very interesting given the blend of architecture with astronomy. My sense of imagination with respect to the 3D is very poor and thus I didn't put enough effort in a few places. These were the very ideas which required effort and dedication to be put, for the other parts of the course are easy enough to understand. Overall it seems like a light course not requiring enough effort and often effort and your learning are linked together and you might leave the course not having learnt as much as you had hoped. The course and coursework should be made more rigorous to expose the students to the core ideas like visualising space, directions through other means ans thus you end up giving the students a way of thinking and looking at the world.

por Ginny H

17 de Ago de 2017

Too much information crammed together. Videos way too short and astronomy concepts not well explained. The quizzes would be almost impossible if it weren't for the ability to retake them as many times as necessary to pass. I didn't retain much from this class.

por Brian S

9 de Set de 2020

Can't understand prof. I want to Unenroll, but the function isn't working.

por Alejandra L P

20 de Jun de 2020

I enjoyed each segment when learning about each culture and how astronomy gives us an insight, and how we can apply simple and complex knowledge we have. What was for me the plus of this course is the way the professor makes the difference between the pseudo-scientific rumors around and the data we can gather from this new brand discipline. It was a lot to study but the material made it easier to get and to use all the other tools, such as Stellarium, for a better understanding of what had been explained.

por Theofilus H P

27 de Jul de 2020

Very educational and well described. This course is a good start for those interested in archaeoastronomy. I learned a lot of interesting things and methods to use in doing researches around this topic. The professor described every detail of the course in clear and organized lectures which made understanding archaeoastronomy fun and easy. I hope that in future developments of this course, more archaeological sites that happened to have astronomical alignments in them will be discussed.

por Melissa R

20 de Out de 2020

This was such an interesting course; I knew nothing more about archaeoastronomy than Greeks orienting their temples East to allow the rising sun to fall into them in the morning. This has vastly expanded my knowledge of other ancient cultures that I have only heard of in passing and have never had the chance to delve deeper into. I had no idea there was so much in the connection between archaeology and astronomy. Thank you Dr Magli! :)

por Wattana K

5 de Set de 2020

This is amazing, I've learned from this class a lot. The knowledge is very interesting and I think I could apply it to my work as a writer to distribute the ideal and perspective about archaeoastronomy in a much more excited and corrected way. And the way the professor describes and narrates is easy to understand and gives me a clear picture of what we are learning.

Thank you so much for such a splendid class^^

por Heba

23 de Mai de 2020

The course is easy and full of fun and interesting cultures and the way it describes the events , monuments and the mentality of ancient people is fascinating ... I really hope to have a written copy of this course content ... The only problem that there are many complicated words to be understood ..

However i really have enjoyed learning this course

por SANTIAGO H M

4 de Jul de 2020

Hola. Me pareciò muy interesante aprender esta relacion entre la arqueologia y astronomia. Muy claro y con muy buena calidad de las fotos y lugares que se iban mostrando en el curso. Ayuda mucho a entender sobre lo que hablaba el profesor.

No tanto la parte tecnica de astronomia, por lo menos, a mi no me interesaba.

Gracias y seguimos en contacto.

por Tristan C

12 de Abr de 2020

I absolutely LOVED this course. LOVED !!!!! I am an Environmental Engineer by Trade, and the videos where fantastic!!. This course has made me want to travel to see all the great megalithic structures in the world. I will listen to the videos again and will seek the books you have recommended. Well done Politechnico Milano !!!

por Daniel O C P

17 de Nov de 2020

Es un curso muy bueno e interesante, no solo se limita al tema arqueológico, de hecho empecé a tomar conciencia del movimiento de los astros y pues efectivamente tienen relación con las temporadas de lluvia, ubicación en cierto lugares, época de cosecha, etc. me gustaría volver a llevar un curso similar con el mismo docente :D

por Lara

13 de Out de 2020

Great new course that provides interesting connections between temples build by different nations using knowledge of stars. I wish it was more temples included in this course, such as from the Middle East. Looking forward to learn more from Politecnica Milano, that related to astronomy and architecture. Grazie from New York.

por Rakesh M

14 de Jun de 2020

Excellent introduction to the less known but fascinating field of Archaeoastronomy. The content has been designed meticulously and explained well by Dr. Giulio Magli. Some parts of the week seven content, like the motions of the moon and the Venus, if explained through animation would make it even better. My felicitations!

por Elizabeth G

16 de Mai de 2020

This is a fascinating overview of archaeoastronomy. I learned a lot about ancient monuments that were built in accordance with movements of the sun, moon, and stars. It is challenging to understand all the concepts, but worth the effort. I bought Dr Magli's book and look forward to reading it. I want to learn more.

por Svitlana

6 de Jan de 2021

I am very pleased that I found this course and was able to complete it. It is rich in interesting information and shows Archaeoastronomy as a promising area of research. During the course I improved my skills in astronomy, although (as the final test shows) they are still not very good. Thank you Teacher for his work!

por Karen O

5 de Jan de 2021

I really enjoyed this course and only wish I hadn't taken it over Christmas when I wasn't able to give it my best effort.

A big thank you to Dr Magli for the great video lectures.

I am hoping to further my interest by reading more of bibliography contents.

Thank you and Happy New Year!