Chevron Left
Voltar para Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods da instituição Universidade Técnica da Dinamarca (DTU)

4.7
estrelas
1,503 classificações
336 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Melhores avaliações

DJ
14 de Nov de 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

KD
30 de Ago de 2020

I would personally recommend this course to any student aiming for a brief introduction to antimicrobial resistance and also to anyone looking for a very nice and quick brushup of the concepts.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 334 Avaliações para o Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

por Jones A

6 de Abr de 2020

This has really stepped up my knowledge in a field I have been trained and am proficient in: pharmacy. I feel it will increase my relevance as I progress professionally.

por ELOI D S M

14 de Ago de 2017

Excelente curso, parabéns pela iniciativa e proporcionar a todo o mundo conhecimento de qualidade e com certeza agregara uma gama de conhecimento a todos os envolvidos.

por Eduardo H V

19 de Jul de 2020

I like so mucho the course and all the classes from Lina Cavacco. I am a researcher and i am looking for new antibiotics. It is a possibility for colaboration?

por Sania S

3 de Mai de 2020

The course was great for learning but I want to say if you could add more in silico methods as a separate course that could help in small research projects.

por Lance R

19 de Fev de 2018

Great course! Really helpful if you have anything to do with testing antimicrobial resistance in the lab or if you just want to learn more about the topic.

por Sunila H

11 de Jul de 2020

excellent resource for understanding antimicrobial resistance mechanisms and information on online tools available for identification of resistance genes

por Andrea T

15 de Out de 2016

I feal so amazed by all the information, is a complete course and i would like to learn more about antimicrobial resistance. Thank you professor Lina <3

por Fabio S

19 de Jul de 2020

Really well-designed course about the main antibiotic resistance patterns, very useful for physicians not direct involved in biolabs. Congratulations.

por Rafshan J

1 de Fev de 2019

One of the fine course for developing basics as well as advanced level of antimicrobial resistance.Very co-operative,easy instructions to understand.

por Adnan S

17 de Jan de 2017

The last two weeks are a bit DENSE. Especially Week 4. Bring your Brain power. But a course worth learning from for relevant skills to use in lab.

por Alessandro B

6 de Mai de 2017

Very useful course! Thank Lina Cavaco for the great job. All the work of DTU is actually a reliable guide in testing antimicrobial resistance.

por José M C F

25 de Ago de 2017

Great course!

It gave the necessary tools to improve myself on developing new projects related to the antimicrobial evaluation.

Thanks a lot!!

por Harry A

11 de Mai de 2017

Thanks for the great insight in the subject of antimicrobial resistance. It's one of the best course I have ever taken. Excellent lecturing.

por Pooja P

6 de Nov de 2020

A great introductory course helpful for students and professionals who are developing interest in the field of antimicrobial resistance !

por Salvatore F

13 de Abr de 2018

Hi thanks for the excelent course. I received 2 weeks ago an email requesting my dates for the certification but I havent received it yet

por Azghar A

21 de Nov de 2020

thank you for the course,

it is structured, very clear, it reflects the quality and competence of the different speakers.

thank you

por PRIYANKA M R

8 de Mai de 2020

It was an amazing experience to learn concepts that were less known to me.

I am happy that i enrolled this course,thank you so much.

por kamathamsravani

24 de Mai de 2020

Thank you for providing interesting topics its very useful for me. I want some more courses related to antimicrobial resistance

por Hafiz M T M

11 de Jul de 2019

It was great learning experience for me. Great course beautifully designed and well explained by the tutors. thank you coursera

por Tan P W

24 de Mai de 2020

Everything is clear and enjoyable to learn! Thank You! I will wait for the next course series of antimicrobial resistance.

por amany e b

2 de Jul de 2017

dr lina cavaco is awesome her illustrants and data show helps me greatly in understanding the subject , thanks dr cavaco

por Md A H Z

16 de Set de 2020

Just excellent. I will request everyone interested in AMR research to acquire this awesome course. Thanks the team....

por Aldo A M

15 de Jul de 2020

Me encanto aprendí muchos conceptos, las técnicas necesarias y nuevas para aplicarlo en un laboratorio de otro país.

por shamsi a s s

11 de Nov de 2018

coursera and DTU course one of the best thing happen to my professional life

thank you all for this wonderful work