Chevron Left
Voltar para Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods da instituição Universidade Técnica da Dinamarca (DTU)

4.6
683 classificações
156 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Melhores avaliações

DJ

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

AA

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

por Faji O R

Jun 23, 2017

The course is really good for an holistic understanding of how microorganisms manage to survive treatments.

por Shreya U

Aug 20, 2017

useful and informative

por norma9331@gmail.com

Oct 29, 2017

Es un buen curso para aprender las generalidades de la resistencia a los antibióticos

por Salvatore F

Apr 13, 2018

Hi thanks for the excelent course. I received 2 weeks ago an email requesting my dates for the certification but I havent received it yet

por Miriam E B

Mar 29, 2018

Excelente

por Audrey V

Jul 03, 2018

I learned a lot from this course. Because of the comprehensive lessons and clear explanation of terms and standard protocols, i was and still able to apply such to my Honours and now Master's degree project that i am currently busy with. Thank you so much for the opportunity.

por Rogelio d J T R

Nov 20, 2016

This is an excellent introductory course in the field of antimicrobial testing.

por Thiago S

Jan 30, 2017

The course covers all points about antimicrobial resistance in a simple and complete way.

por Ricardo E

Oct 07, 2017

I really enjoyed doing this course. Lecturers have a great understanding and vision on the approached subjects and i am sure it will be very useful for my work. I will definitely recommend this course to colleagues

por Alessandro B

May 06, 2017

Very useful course! Thank Lina Cavaco for the great job. All the work of DTU is actually a reliable guide in testing antimicrobial resistance.

por Honida.J.Younis J

May 04, 2017

i get perfect information about antimicrobial resistance ...thank you

por Lance R

Feb 19, 2018

Great course! Really helpful if you have anything to do with testing antimicrobial resistance in the lab or if you just want to learn more about the topic.

por Harald S

Aug 19, 2017

The design of the course is just excellent I repeat just excellent ! I , born 1937, could after some confusing as well as puzzling (?) times ,not to forget some language-based problems, catch and hold an overall good understanding about the "tiny ones" ruling our lives. Well must say my hobby is microscopy so I have seen quite a few of them as well as in the 1960. been DD-testing bacteriostatic/bacteriocidal ointments

on noscomiala Staph.aur and pseudomonas aerug and some more. . OooH allmost forget.. give my greetings to the staff ... regards Harald

por nedal a

Jul 07, 2018

Thank you very much

por Annabel L

Sep 27, 2016

Really interesting!!!!!!!!!

por Cristina R M

Jan 07, 2017

Excellent course. Thanks!

por Harry A

May 11, 2017

Thanks for the great insight in the subject of antimicrobial resistance. It's one of the best course I have ever taken. Excellent lecturing.

por Diana R

May 02, 2017

Very good complete introduction to a very important subject!!

por paola g

Aug 23, 2017

great way to learn the basics of antimicrobial resistance

por Md. A N

Mar 04, 2018

Nice course and also so educative

por Anil c s

Feb 12, 2017

good but not giving marksheet which is much needed somewhere i want to used..

por Subimal B

May 30, 2017

The whole system, as how it was structured to give the most compact as well as elaborated explanation with the theory and practical methodologies assembled is one place, has been great effort from each and every person involved in it. I want to thank DTU and its associates and Researchers like Lina Cavaco and Dr. Pimlapas is been a great guide and teacher to me. This unique method of e-learning is been the most flexible yet an intensive curriculum that has broaden my knowledge in this field. I would like to be in touch with your guidance and suggestions in future too. Thank you so much once again and I am hopeful to see this course knowledge strengthening my resume for my future endeavours.

por Taleb H

Jun 23, 2017

Great course full of scientific add on knowledge

por Minjun K

Sep 18, 2017

This course is really useful for people who are interested in microbiology!

por JATINDER K

Jul 07, 2018

This course is really helpful for me, and I am very thankful to all the teachers.