Chevron Left
Voltar para Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.9
estrelas
1,095 classificações

Sobre o curso

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the evolutionary changes that occur when air-breathing terrestrial animals return to water. This course examines the diversity, adaptations, convergence, and phylogenetic relationships of extinct marine reptiles. Students will explore three major groups of marine reptiles: ichthyosaurs, plesiosaurs, and mosasaurs. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-marine-reptiles...

Melhores avaliações

JC

1 de abr de 2016

An excellent introduction to the sometimes overlooked marine predators that lived alongside the dinosaurs! A lot of detail is presented here, so be prepared to act like a sponge and soak it all up.

DB

22 de abr de 2020

I really enjoyed the course & finding out about the creatures that have fascinated me for years. The course was very well structured in logical sections that enabled me to study when I wanted.

Filtrar por:

301 — 319 de 319 Avaliações para o Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

por Stephanie V

20 de ago de 2017

Very informative and well presented. The videos could perhaps have been a little shorter. More videos of c. 15 mins are more readily digestible than fewer at c. 30 mins.

por Brian D M

9 de jun de 2016

excellent course would love to see more on early crocodilians and turtles, I know turtles have a debated history but would be awesome to look at possible origins.

por Marike S

25 de mai de 2017

Thank you for a wonderful course. Ancient Marine Reptiles isn't my main area of interest and I still enjoyed every second!

por Kiran E

17 de abr de 2021

It was okay, could do better with explaining but still would recommend to anyone interested in paleontology.

por Andres A

24 de out de 2017

I would like more information about taxonomy an evolution. The couse focus mostly in the aquatic problem

por WP P

15 de jan de 2020

Great course! Very well done. The only flaw: subtitles in some lessons are not in syncro with video.

por Nicole G

1 de jun de 2021

r​eally enjoyed. links didn't work (embedded multiple choice quizzes did work though). thanks!

por Francine

23 de mar de 2016

A very interesting course, but it's a pity one can only do the quizzes after payment.

por Nicole R

17 de ago de 2021

ive very much enjoyed course and found some things i did not know previously

por André V

23 de set de 2020

Nice intoductory course. More questions and quizes would be nice. Thx!!

por Erick J A O

20 de mar de 2016

It would be great if even the auditing students cool take the quizzes.

por Yvette H

2 de jan de 2021

Good content in videos - readings were also well done thanks

por Clotilde D

2 de fev de 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

por Richard K

13 de mai de 2017

very well presented course

por Stacey C

28 de out de 2020

While the information presented in the course is top-notch, it's held back by the use of Flash for many interactive aspects of the videos and also large PDFs for the reading material. Flash is an outdated app that is not terribly secure; I'm unwilling to download it just for a free course. That meant I had to skip valuable learning material that really ought to have been presented in some other way; Flash is just not necessary. As for the PDFs, I realize that is a standard format but these must be exceptionally large files, because each week's reading assignment took 20-40 minutes just to load. That's WAY too long. If the files are that big, break them up into chapters so we can load them and get on with learning.

I hate to only give this 3 stars! The material was excellent (5 stars), it was just so held back by the awkward presentation aspects mentioned above.

por Sayantan S

15 de jul de 2020

The course was pretty informative but it lacked a couple of things. Most important of which was the lack of pictures. I believe that using more pictures of actual fossils can be a lot more helpful. Many examples of fossils being found were mentioned throughout the course but only a handful of them were shown. Showing pictures of the actual fossils excavated helps us to visualise these animals properly.

por Céline L

3 de nov de 2019

Le contenu du cours est intéressant et Scott Persons rend le cours dynamique. En revanche les sous titres déclalés en permanence et la non présence de sous titres en français comme annoncé initialement rendent le cours très difficiles à suivre. c'est bien dommage

por Talita S B

19 de out de 2018

A maioria dos vídeos estavam com as legendas em inglês fora de sincronia. Do restante, ótimo curso

por Luis A

13 de mai de 2016

This is a very basic course that introduces you to the topic, but doesn't go into much depth. While it's clear that a lot of time was spent filming and creating the course material, I still would not recommend this course. Both the presentation itself and the in-video quizzes are unbelievably obnoxious. The presenter emphasizes every other word and talks in a very unnatural manner that makes it very tiring to listen to, and the in-video quizzes are far too basic and take up too much time. Sometimes you also have to go to an external site in order to do the activities, which are badly designed and just frustrating. Overall, I recommend waiting for a better course.