Chevron Left
Voltar para Writing, Running, and Fixing Code in C

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Writing, Running, and Fixing Code in C da instituição Universidade Duke

4.3
estrelas
713 classificações

Sobre o curso

Building on the course Programming Fundamentals, this course will teach you how to write code by first planning what your program should do—an important approach for novice and professional programmers. You will learn how to compile and run your program, and then how to test and debug it. This course builds on the Seven Steps you have already learned and provides a framework for systematically testing for problems and fixing them, so you can find and fix problems efficiently....

Melhores avaliações

KK

30 de mai de 2020

Instructors and the instructors who moderate the forums are great. It is a bit different way to look at programming but it makes sense and I would recommend to anyone who wants to learn C

AE

14 de jun de 2020

It is actually a hard course i guess you need to have at least the basics as some of the assignments were really hard take me a lot of time to do them. especially the poker assignment

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 171 Avaliações para o Writing, Running, and Fixing Code in C

por Ahmed M m

3 de jan de 2021

.

por Sk I A

24 de jan de 2020

Honestly speaking, Coursera doesn't need any review as it's already a world-class platform. But the thing for which i gave 4 star, because i have only completed 5 or 6 assignments so far and i don't know why suddenly my financial aid expired for which i had to apply for it again till then i'm not able to access my assignments after so much hardwork i have done to complete the assignments, sometimes it took me 2-3 days to solve a problem and sometime i had to wait for an week to manage.But it is proven that the Assignments are much! much! tougher than the actual thing they teach in Coursera. While studying Rectangle intersection when they taught me the logic it seemed so simple but when it comes to assignments of rectangle intersection, it literally lowered my self-esteem. The Overlapping square assignment was literally the tough where the algorithm which was written on the emacs editor of PPE was itself totally misleading, though it was a very big satisfaction when i completed the assignment and it helped me to develop my skills but i had to take help from the discussion and sometimes even discussions are of no use, you have to find your own way to solve it just like i did in the squares problem. Hope Coursera again accepts my financial aid so that i can continue my incomplete course for which i have done a lot of work. You just have spend a lot of time to complete the coursera course, as it's literally very challenging.

por Fabian d A G

3 de jul de 2021

T​he course material is really good. The specialization from the start greatly stresses algorithmic thinking for problem solving. The implementation details are not that difficult, but that could be because I've done C Programming beforehand. It's really interesting how production grade tools are integrated into the course work, so that the learner would be industry-ready. HOWEVER - The reason I didn't give 5 stars is because of the final assignment, where several test cases had to be designed for poker project. Since the source code is not available (black box testing), I have to spend 10+ hours to create test cases, generating over 80 test cases (poker hands!), just so that my cases can detect 22 problems (they do not permit partial submissions, it's all or nothing). I spent more time on poker than I spent on learning C, and I believe that is an utter waste of time and money (hello Coursera subscription!). Everything else is good, but I have a serious bone to pick with the design of that last assignment.

por J K

4 de jun de 2019

I like the use of separate tools (instead of visual studio) and I FULLY agree with the ski/snowboard analysis of why the use of *nix type software.

A disadvantage - but that might be a personal thingy - is the black-box testing and thinking of test cases. I assume that it has something to do with my own impatience. I'm really missing the ability to check the code for errors too. Simple black-box testing... not my thing

Otherwise, I'd recommend the course, and have actually already recommended it, to anyone interesting in this stuff. Very good!

por Mubeen M

17 de jul de 2020

Definitely a highly resourceful course. The only thing is the times mentioned or allowed for certain sections of reading are not sufficient. Also if you are new to terminal or emacs it may take more than three amounts of time required for coding. They have very clearly stated the shortcuts for MacOs but keys are different for normal laptops with windows that are somewhat different. Would have been great if mentioned those too.

Coursera should allow us to make notes from reading sections also not just from the videos section.

por ilai l

3 de ago de 2019

Over all I think this is a good course.

I think that some notes should be added for FAQs about the assignment as most question in the discussions aren't always phrased correctly (and it will save the staffs time answering repeating questions)

Also I think that there should be some more reading about the methodology of testing as I just played a lot with the input and prayed a lot more (more luck than brains...)

por Victoria J

30 de mar de 2021

The assignments on testing and the final project 2 (again, about testing) are frustrating. The return (the amount of learning) on your time invested in these assignments is rather low. You don't necessarily get to learn something really important just by spending 2 hours trying to figure out that one last test case.

por NIKHIL S

8 de jul de 2020

Just like of the first course again this course is not for absolute beginners (novices), but for someone having a bit of programming knowledge and experience, it is simply fabulous. If you are a novice and have the grit to learn and go for it, the same goes for the experienced ones also.

por sam r

13 de jul de 2020

Great videos, teaching and material! For the feedback part, it will be very helpful if the discussion forums are more interactive. Also, the assignments' README should state more explicitly what should to be done and some hits.

Thank you Duke University for the course!!

por STEFANO P C

21 de ago de 2020

Good introduction to coding in C. The only problem I had with it was the last part of the project. It was way to hard and based more on luck than on problem solving skills. Other than that, the assignments were really good to reenforce what we were learning that week.

por Gonzalo J E D

18 de ago de 2019

I think it's a great course. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars it's because of the final assignment that in my opinion is not well explained and turns into a time consuming exercise of hit and miss. Other than that, wonderful class :)

por Seif E E

26 de jun de 2019

The Testing assignments were very challenging considering they were black box and we had no access to the code itself ,I hope better Hints are given to students as some of the tests really depended on the implementation.

por Siddhant K

3 de mai de 2020

A Bit Hard course, since it has many assignments also some are complex, but 100% guaranty that you will learn to run a succesfull code by solving assignments and completing the material

por satyendra

10 de ago de 2020

grader is too confusing but the faculty managed to overcome it with their experience. I request the faculty to use alternative methods for ppe tool to not confuse students

por Siddharth R

15 de ago de 2019

Took me a while to finish this course but I am glad I finally did it on my own !!! Thank you for introducing me to git. The tool is being used at our work place !!!!

por MEGHNA K

18 de out de 2020

It was a great course. And we gain a lot of information from this one. Hope you too enjoy completing it. Thanks Coursera.

por Courtney J

11 de jul de 2019

the PPE is really annoying -- times out arbitrarily, does weird things if you type more characters than the line allows.

por Noppadon P

25 de dez de 2020

This course looks boring at first sight but when you try to complete the course's assignment it is very challenging

por KietQTHE163599

7 de mai de 2021

No enough help for the test case evaluation exercises and some other exercises. Aside, every thing else is perfect

por Øyvind M E

1 de jun de 2020

Good course, but if you're stuck on a particular coding problem it might take some time to fix it.

por Preeti

11 de jul de 2020

I am learn lot of thing and also clear all my doubt

It is best course for study c language

por Dickson

1 de jul de 2022

Really challenging but learnt a lot. Hope the grading assignment could be more humane.

por HITESH G

13 de jun de 2019

poker question requires need more info so that students could understand ques easily

por Mike C

28 de jul de 2022

Some of the assignments(testing) may cause too much frustration for new programmers

por ch4ewon

26 de nov de 2018

the last tast was awful though,

it was helpful to understand what is "test"