Chevron Left
Voltar para Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.7
estrelas
1,367 classificações
333 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course will teach you how to use your written words to become more persuasive. You’ll learn creative ways to use syntax, effective techniques for telling stories, and a clever method for arranging a complex series of information. You’ll also get a chance to both professionalize your use of punctuation and add a bit of style and sophistication to how you craft everything from sentences to slogans. In addition, you’ll get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include (1) the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2) two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; and (3) a monthly “Good Sentences” email. Social media has only accelerated the ways in which we all must learn to use our writing to connect, compete, and create—sometimes all at once. So join us for this first course in a four-part series and experience the many benefits, both personal and professional, of becoming “good with words.”...

Melhores avaliações

PD

7 de dez de 2021

It is an excellent course that offers deep insights into the importance of words, it's usage in professional writing, and the impact it makes. I've learnt a lot from the course. Thank you Coursera.

MT

16 de nov de 2021

Professor Barry is skilled and compassionate in teaching the writing course. He's very clear with how he discuss concepts and make learning easier. And he's got a good taste in good sentences.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 341 Avaliações para o Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

por Nicole M

6 de abr de 2021

I enjoyed Professor Barry in this course. He was very good at explaining the information and used great examples. I also liked the supplementary materials provided with the course. Combined together will aid any individual in increasing their writing skills to be more effective and efficient.

por Ramnath S K

11 de jan de 2021

Absolutely wonderful and engaging course on Improving one's command over the ENGLISH LANGUAGE - written in particular. I was totally bowled over by the erudition, the quizzes, the resources, and the lectures. The instructor was nonpareil. I wished I had done this during my halcyon years.

por Marilyn R

4 de mar de 2021

I am encouraged to read more and look for sentences I like. I can dissect these sentences and compare them to the lectures on what makes a good sentence. The Resource Library has an abundance of books and articles available to students that is worth more than the price of the course.

por Ariff A R

19 de dez de 2020

I learned a lot about how to become a better writer in a relatively short duration. Working professionals should consider joining this course as the knowledge of good writing acquired can really help you advance your careers. Terrific course contents and teaching by Professor Barry.

por Pragyan P P

17 de jun de 2021

This course is a must to galvanize the writing style and pattern. The excellent reading materials support contextual learning and execution throughout the course. The citations and exercises throughout the course help in enhancing the standards of professional and personal writing.

por Listya p

29 de jan de 2022

I'm glad with all the materials that offer by this course. I could even find the a few of materials that is benefical for copywriting/ad campaign projects. It's amazing because this course is like kill two birds with one stone :)

Hope i could join this kind of course next time :)

por Farah R

17 de set de 2021

This course is truly helpful for those writers who want to write an engaging piece for their own or other's blogs...and there were tons of excellent resources that helped me to improve a lot! Huge THANKS to Professor Patrick Barry, and looking forward to learn more from you...

por Danica M

7 de jan de 2022

The lectures are engaging and funny. You really do learn a lot. The samples/related literature cover a wide range, and you'll notice that they're kept updated, too, which is awesome. It's great if you wanna brush up on your grammar or need some ideas to be more creative.

por Ha D

9 de set de 2021

The course is very helpful for both my professional and personal life. I get to improve my productivity, enjoy more readings and writings, and make a meaningful impact on my society just with the power of writing and editing. Big thanks to Professor Barry and Coursera!

por Hanne M N

20 de mar de 2021

This course will take your writing to a whole new level. By far the most inspiring, compelling, and down-to -earth scholar I’ve ever come across _ Patrick Barry is an academic on a mission to trim the flab of the overly cluttered legalese writing.

Hanne Nordlander

por Arianne M

19 de jan de 2021

Professor Barry has a great teaching style that will keep you engaged. I truly appreciated the vast variety of examples because connecting what you learn to the real world always seems to make it stick more. So glad I challenged myself to try something new!

por Shoaib M

26 de ago de 2021

I think it was an unprecedented opportunity for me to go through the Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order.

It has potential to add some values in my profession and upcoming opportunities.

Thanks Proffessor Patrick Barry & Coursera.

por May D

8 de mar de 2022

Excellent course, deepened my love of writing and language and has made me even more confident in my writing abilities. I've got a long reading list of recommendations from this course. Definitely a life-changing course for all people.

por Fatima S R

12 de jan de 2021

Professor Barry is an amazing mentor. He created a world where the students can vicariously experience an engaging atmosphere to learn. The editing tips and strategies are so worth the time spent listening to his lecture.

por Sandrine W

29 de nov de 2020

Tips, techniques and grammar asides, the most important thing I've learned is: writing well is a force of persuasion. And I enjoyed sampling a wide range of good writings, works that I wouldn't have encountered otherwise.

por Akzira

27 de nov de 2020

Thanks for this amazing course to everyone who made it. I enjoyed going through materials, book recommendations and doing really interesting assignments. Also, big thanks for letting us repeat the assignment over again:)

por Connie D

21 de fev de 2021

Professor Barry, I appreciate your teaching style, and your desire to share your excellence and experience of how to be a better writer. I will be ordering Good with Words, so I can digest your guidance again and again.

por Allison W

23 de set de 2021

This is a well-planned, comprehensive writing course. Very good recent examples from literature, speeches, and other notable sources.

Make sure to participate in the forum discussions to get the most out of the course.

por Janhavi M

23 de nov de 2020

A wonderful course that helps you become conscious of the way you write! Thank you to the course instructor for his interesting classes/videos. I recommend this course to all who indulge in professional writing.

por Masoud H A

12 de fev de 2022

An excellent course and a job well done by Professor Patrick. This is a must-have course even for seniors because it covers important concepts and ideas that are fundamental for mastering the art of writing.

por Mehnaz M

30 de mar de 2021

I didn't expect the course to turn out to be so useful, informative, well organized and easy to understand. I was very motivated to learn and enjoyed every bit of it, Highly recommend it to aspiring writers!

por So F

10 de jan de 2021

It was a really good course. The concepts were given in a way that I could easily understand. I found various interesting topics and many books that I would love to read. Totally worths the time spent on it.

por Abir M

19 de out de 2021

The material that is provided in this course is of high quality. I recommend taking the time for this course, it doesn't only teach your writing and editing, but something deeper that is related to it.

por Ma. A G T

17 de nov de 2021

Professor Barry is skilled and compassionate in teaching the writing course. He's very clear with how he discuss concepts and make learning easier. And he's got a good taste in good sentences.

por Chideraa I

6 de mar de 2022

Taking the course, taking notes and exercises has challenged me to be more intentional with my writing. I have also been able to note writing weaknesses and work on improving them.