Chevron Left
Voltar para Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.7
estrelas
1,370 classificações
333 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course will teach you how to use your written words to become more persuasive. You’ll learn creative ways to use syntax, effective techniques for telling stories, and a clever method for arranging a complex series of information. You’ll also get a chance to both professionalize your use of punctuation and add a bit of style and sophistication to how you craft everything from sentences to slogans. In addition, you’ll get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include (1) the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2) two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; and (3) a monthly “Good Sentences” email. Social media has only accelerated the ways in which we all must learn to use our writing to connect, compete, and create—sometimes all at once. So join us for this first course in a four-part series and experience the many benefits, both personal and professional, of becoming “good with words.”...

Melhores avaliações

PD

7 de dez de 2021

It is an excellent course that offers deep insights into the importance of words, it's usage in professional writing, and the impact it makes. I've learnt a lot from the course. Thank you Coursera.

SS

1 de jul de 2020

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! Excellent teaching and excellent material. Everyone can improve their professionalism by taking Professor Barry's writing on course, it's not just for lawyers.

Filtrar por:

301 — 325 de 341 Avaliações para o Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

por Dan L

20 de dez de 2020

A strong starter course for anybody looking to get back into the word of the English language. Easy to follow & full of useful information to give yourself a new boost in the field or refresh your memory from past educational experience in English. Parts of this course deviate a little from English into the Law route as Prof. Patrick Barry is overall, a Professor of Law. However, all the relevant information is there & you gain a little insight into how writing is used in the world of Law for the most beneficial reasons. It is something you may not have thought about with language & writing; how it is so vastly important in every aspect of work.

por Sommer H

12 de dez de 2020

Great class! I enrolled thinking I would brush up on grammar and stayed for the engaging instructor and wonderful conversations about how to be a better, more persuasive writer and why and where--professionally and personally--it's important. My only previous experiences with completing an online course have been through LinkedIn. This was a completely different, far superior educational experience in which I not only learned but absorbed the material. Four and not five stars because there was virtually no real engagement with other students, even when prompted.

por Huu T P N

28 de fev de 2021

It is very nice designed course to improve your language learning. The course is mainly about how to be better at getting better. However, I find it also difficult for the beginners to follow due to many excerpts that are really difficult to understand completely. I would recommend this course for intermediate level.

por isha h

10 de jun de 2021

I​ apprehensive about this course at the start. I believed that it would be boring but applied for it because I wanted to improve my writing so bad. This was an amazing decision. I love all the course materials, the videos and everything. I wish teachers at my college taught us like this.

por ERICA D

27 de ago de 2020

I wasn't aware that this is focused on those who are pursuing law. I am content and creative writer. However, learned a lot from the content of this course. I loved the examples and Prof. Barry's way of handling a class. I liked the Youtube videos and recommended readings too.

por Genevieve

1 de jun de 2021

T​he actual time needed for this courses is far more than what listed on the page. Required to read a lot of books, article and video. Ultimately, the time allocated for one week is very compact

por Rida W

13 de jun de 2020

The instructor really introduced new concepts in quite an interesting manner that successfully hooked me with the lessons. moreover, the course content seems to be phenomenally compiled.

por Joy T

26 de out de 2020

Very good information and well structured. Energetic, and focused on actionable lessons. I recommend this class to anybody who needs to do persuasive business writing or teaching.

por NIMJE S R

23 de jul de 2020

The course is a complete Bootcamp for all writers, It helped me to understand small concepts, Quizzes and Assignments certainly helped me to grasp all the knowledge.

por Hisham S

5 de jul de 2021

Very engaging and clear material. One request would be to include opportunity for people to submit written work which could be graded and feedback could be given.

por Mario A V D

19 de set de 2021

very interesting this course and qque helped me to classify and know more about different sources that can be used for various situations or things.

por Jeho R D A

16 de set de 2020

A very informative class indeed. I would want to continue with the remaining courses for this specialization!

por Shanmuga P S

25 de jun de 2020

It was really an wonderful experience.I learned a lot of things through this course.Thank you such much!

por Shaz A 1

19 de jun de 2021

Good and Short. Recommended for anyone interested in improving their writing skills while at home.

por Minh H

20 de mai de 2021

I can say this course gives me something basic, just basic, but very useful.

por Sridip N

28 de jul de 2020

Really good materials. The examples and reading recomendations are awesome.

por brendan L

27 de ago de 2020

It was a wonderful course to take and be apart of, I would do it again.

por Elizabeth m

15 de abr de 2022

Es muy intrresante y entretenido en cada contenidp que tiene

por fatima I

26 de mai de 2021

I learned so much from this course. Kudos to the Instructor.

por Melky P

30 de mai de 2020

Very insightful for non-native speaker audience!

por mubasher a

22 de jun de 2020

good course to understand writing techniques

por Orjuwan M A J A

23 de jun de 2020

Thank you for an interesting experience !

por Caterina A

24 de jul de 2020

Wish the course was a little bit harder.

por Patricia E C C

17 de nov de 2021

I enjoyed this class, very informaative

por Apoorva S

27 de fev de 2021

A much needed course for every field!