Chevron Left
Voltar para Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.7
estrelas
1,428 classificações

Sobre o curso

This course will teach you how to use your written words to become more persuasive. You’ll learn creative ways to use syntax, effective techniques for telling stories, and a clever method for arranging a complex series of information. You’ll also get a chance to both professionalize your use of punctuation and add a bit of style and sophistication to how you craft everything from sentences to slogans. In addition, you’ll get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include (1) the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2) two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; and (3) a monthly “Good Sentences” email. Social media has only accelerated the ways in which we all must learn to use our writing to connect, compete, and create—sometimes all at once. So join us for this first course in a four-part series and experience the many benefits, both personal and professional, of becoming “good with words.”...

Melhores avaliações

PD

7 de dez de 2021

It is an excellent course that offers deep insights into the importance of words, it's usage in professional writing, and the impact it makes. I've learnt a lot from the course. Thank you Coursera.

SS

1 de jul de 2020

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! Excellent teaching and excellent material. Everyone can improve their professionalism by taking Professor Barry's writing on course, it's not just for lawyers.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 356 Avaliações para o Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

por Anjum

1 de abr de 2022

I am loving it. I just wish I could submit the graded assignments. I am waiting to hear if my financial aid application will be accepted.

por Awilda M

10 de jul de 2021

Very informative. I believe that everyone, no matter their background or field of study, can benefit from this course. Thank you so much.

por Caleb T A

26 de mar de 2022

This course exposed me to a lot of stuffs to improve my writing skill. I particularly like the "Notes on Nuance" segments of each week.

por Tatiana S

9 de abr de 2021

Great course! as a philologist, I'm already familiar with most of the concepts, but I still found great food for thought in this course.

por Maria C

13 de out de 2020

Excelent structure of the course, nice readings, videos, quices. It has been very useful for me. I have applied it since the first week.

por Shreya N U

16 de ago de 2020

It's absolutely perfect! This course is probably one of the few MOOCs I've come across that are so beautifully crafted for its audience!

por Gabriel P

22 de jan de 2021

Professor Barry packs a lot of great writing concepts into this course. He is entertaining as well as insightful about good writing.

por RJ

29 de out de 2020

I learned a whole lot about legal writing. Prof. Barry taught a lot of tools and techniques that I will surely use as a legal writer.

por joyce n

12 de fev de 2021

This was an exceptional course—content, structure, and delivery were all fantastic. I look forward to the next course in the series.

por Dan N

13 de jul de 2021

An amazing one for non-native speakers like me. Really interesting. An amazing lecturer with his good teaching methods and books.

por Achuyat S J

20 de jul de 2020

This course was nicely designed and I would like to thank the instructor for making it interesting, participating and motivating.

por Dr. S M

16 de jun de 2020

The course has been awesome; so well designed and conducted with good number of examples, references, and supplementary readings.

por Victor O

28 de jun de 2021

This course improved my editing skills massively. My favorite topic would be the rule of three. Thank you for this opportunity.

por Yaren G K

12 de fev de 2021

Amazing instructor,great matierals,many opportunities to learn how to be a better writer.Very interesting and amazing course.

por Álvaro S

29 de dez de 2020

thanks so much for this course. It was really instructive and Easy to follow, ALL the readings are interesting and engaging.

por MJ

6 de abr de 2022

very informative and good material for students whose wanting to improve more on their writing or communication skills.

por Samuel H

28 de mai de 2020

Very hands-on lessons and great reading materials to learn not only wording skills but knowledge...even wisdom in life!

por Jacquelyn N E

15 de abr de 2021

Not only was this course informative with tons of material and recourses, but it was also fun, peppy, and exciting!

por Rosedelle B

5 de jul de 2020

It's a nice course especially for someone who is really into literature. I've learned a lot throughout this course.

por Danielle S

16 de jun de 2020

The professor is so engaging. He managed to take a dry subject (my opinion) and make it really enjoyable to learn.

por Samin Y A

18 de set de 2020

Found it extremely helpful. The instructor was really professional. This is an indispensable course for everyone.

por Jill L

19 de jul de 2020

I learned a lot in a short amount of time, it was well worth it and will enhance my writing skills in the future.

por Rosa C

19 de jul de 2022

I loved taking this course I feel like I learned a lot .

too bad there are no official credits towards a degree .

por Zulfiqar A

13 de fev de 2022

Professor Barry has a very unique way of teaching. Overall course is good and one needs to do a lot of readings.

por Kat Z

25 de jun de 2020

Professor Barry is amazing! I thoroughly enjoyed this course; it opened my eyes to writing, learning, and life.