Chevron Left
Voltar para Writing and Editing: Drafting

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Writing and Editing: Drafting da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
232 classificações
46 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This third course in the “Good with Words: Writing and Editing” series will give you a number of strategies to help with what is often the most intimidating, even paralyzing part of the writing process: getting started. You’ll learn about the “planning fallacy” and “temptation bundling.” You’ll get a chance to experiment with “freewriting” and “writing before you are ready.” And you’ll continue to benefit, through our ongoing “Good Sentences” and “Takeaways” segments, from the models and advice of a diverse set of writers. As with the other three courses in this series, you will also get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include: (1) the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2) two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; and (3) a monthly “Good Sentences” email....

Melhores avaliações

JE
3 de Jan de 2021

Patrick Barry has put together a terrific series of courses! Skills in the nuances of writing, organizing complex ideas, planning, how to get around 'blocks' and get started. Well worth it!

BA
24 de Jan de 2021

It is an inspiration learning from Prof Barry. He knows his stuff. He is very well-read and he actually motivates me to read wide too.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 47 Avaliações para o Writing and Editing: Drafting

por Eduardo J K

29 de Nov de 2020

O curso é incrível. Conteúdo interessante, apresentado de forma didática e leve. O professor é didático e engajado. Apesar de ser dedicado a alunos do curso de Direito da Universidade de Michigan, pode ser aplicado a qualquer área do conhecimento. As dicas sobre o uso da língua inglesa são muito boas e proveitosas. Recomendo este curso para todos(as) que desejam escrever de forma persuasiva.

por Maria

12 de Fev de 2021

Excellent Course. Professor Barry is awesome with his explanations and examples. I highly recommend this course for aspiring writers, this is not just another writing course, Professor Barry will inspire you to write and read no matter where you are in your writing journey.

Maria

por Uzair

9 de Ago de 2021

Excellent course. Highly recommended.

por Mark L

28 de Mar de 2021

The course continues to engage, enlighten and challenge the learner in written use of the English language. I particularly like the manner and style in which Professor Barry introduces the topics, gives examples in both lecture and PowerPoint format, and then challenges the learner to apply the concepts discussed.

por Ha D

9 de Set de 2021

The course is very helpful for both my professional and personal life. I get to improve my productivity, enjoy more readings and writings, and make a meaningful impact on my society just with the power of writing and editing. Big thanks to Professor Barry and Coursera!

por kevin d

10 de Out de 2021

Like the previous 2 courses, 'Drafting' includes many effective insights and builds on previous lessons. A little disappointed there is not more actual writing to be submitted and reviewed, but overall a broadly helpful set of writing tools.

por Shoaib M

12 de Jun de 2021

As a professional content writer, the course amazed me and found highly useful in my day-to-day work. If I can get a lot of insights from the course at the age of 56, it means it is exceptionally excellent for the next generation too!

por Kat Z

10 de Jul de 2020

Another wonderful course by Patrick Barry. This course walked me through important principles of drafting and overcoming the barriers of a blank page and unresolved research. This is a course that is at once engaging and educational.

por Hanan B A

1 de Out de 2020

Such a wonderful course! The ideas, the flow of information, the recourses, everything was so beneficial. I highly recommend it whether if taken alone or after the first two course. You'll always find something to take with you!

por Maleeha B

16 de Nov de 2020

Amazing course! Well planned out and Professor Barry is an excellent instructor. This course also helps in writing better sentences. I really enjoyed taking this course and would definitely recommend it.

por Jennifer M

3 de Jan de 2021

Patrick Barry has put together a terrific series of courses! Skills in the nuances of writing, organizing complex ideas, planning, how to get around 'blocks' and get started. Well worth it!

por Bernice A

25 de Jan de 2021

It is an inspiration learning from Prof Barry. He knows his stuff. He is very well-read and he actually motivates me to read wide too.

por Mikaela C

11 de Out de 2020

Really great writing course with lots of real world examples and great context given. Would absolutely recommend to a friend.

por Joseph K

5 de Fev de 2021

I have taken a writing course before, but Patrick Berrys' course has made me change my writing significantly for the better.

por Donna C

14 de Abr de 2021

If you want to improve your writing skills in a painless way, do this course and all the others in the specialization.

por Roro A L

22 de Out de 2021

This course's learning material is somewhat thight (at least for me), but Prof Barry make it easy to understand

por Jessa I

9 de Nov de 2020

This course opened me up to more ways to write creatively; emphasis on the use of the semicolon and however.

por Charles G R

4 de Set de 2020

Fantastic, well worth the investment for anyone who wants to learn to communicate their ideas better.

por Aldino F

18 de Ago de 2021

T​his course is really helpful. I get the knowledge on how to explore my writing and editing works.

por أسامة ه - O

26 de Jul de 2020

A wonderful, very interesting course, in which I learned the correct formulation method.

thank you

por maureen t

6 de Jul de 2020

This course is helping me make my Critical Reading and Writing class for freshmen stronger.

por Jennifer K

20 de Fev de 2021

Incredibly helpful course in helping you to clarify your written ideas.

por Margaret L y

16 de Dez de 2020

Excellent course! Tons of great tips on writing and editing!

Thanks!

por Sptw

21 de Set de 2020

Nice course. Provide many useful insights not limited to writing!!

por Michele E B d S

9 de Set de 2020

Wonderful course! I am so glad it is available as a MOOC!