Chevron Left
Voltar para Wood Science: Beyond Building

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Wood Science: Beyond Building da instituição Universidade da Virgínia Ocidental

4.6
estrelas
662 classificações
179 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The central question of this course: “why study wood?” If “why study wood” is the question, one answer would be that it is the only raw material available to us that is truly renewable in human life span terms. Wood is as important to society today as it ever was, despite the development of many man-made substitute materials, changing resource availability, and the changing needs of society. Some items on the list of wood products stay the same (lumber, plywood and veneer for building construction, furniture, shipping pallets & crates and other containers & packaging materials, railroad ties, utility poles, chemical feed stocks, etc), but the list also keeps changing to meet new needs and challenges as the resource changes. In short, wood is a far more diverse, green, and renewable resource than you might have imagined. Join us to learn about the important role of wood in human history, civilization, and our future. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: - describe wood as a raw material and its critical importance to the world economy, and the lives of the people that make that economy work. - identify the projected trend for wood consumption to continue to grow in the coming years, despite the image of wood as a "low tech" material. - identify the ways in which wood's properties can lead to its efficient and sustainable use. -identify wood's positive role in boosting the world economy and ability to lead to unexpected vocations....

Melhores avaliações

DB

4 de jun de 2020

I am glad that I took this informative course. This course is useful to each and every people irrespective of their academic background and interests. It is good course regarding wood and its uses.

CZ

11 de fev de 2020

As a Civil Engineering student, this course has been very helpful for me. I do recommend to have this course in order to get the basic concept of wood science and its use as a building material.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 179 Avaliações para o Wood Science: Beyond Building

por Sanmitra D

18 de out de 2020

Course was really helpful, to the point and very much informative. I recommend everyone who are linked with wood directly or indirectly to go through the course, it's really great.

por Amin M

16 de mai de 2021

it is a very good course and I learn many things that never seen or hear about that. I hope to give a new course about contract woody building from first to operation.

Thank you

por samet

13 de jan de 2020

It was a great experience to learn wood, I am a civil engineer unfortunately we learn much of wood in school. Thanks to everyone who available us to learn this materials.

por Ronie C D J S

25 de nov de 2019

This is an awesome course! Such a fair conversation an dialogues about many technologies, as well as issues involved in the use of the wood resources. Highly recommended.

por David T

27 de mar de 2020

Short, sweet, simple, and concise while at the same time presenting a decent summary of key factors affecting wood use and harvest as it pertains to construction.

por Squats S

26 de abr de 2020

Thank you so much. Excellent lectures. Clear explanations in a practical view.

Thanks alot to coursera for providing this platform to learn.

Thanks to instructors

por Ravi C

27 de jul de 2020

Few words are not just enough to say if you love the nature and environment for this course, it is a really very informative course. Thanks for the course

por Margaret

24 de abr de 2018

Very imformative, very engaging, very inspiring!

An awesome course to be taken and the knowledge shared here is simply shocking and usefull.

THANK YOU.

por Christian R

22 de nov de 2021

Needs to fix a few broken links but was great overall. I learned a ton and have new materials to go to when I need further help on this subject.

por LINDA D M M

25 de mar de 2021

gran curso sobre las maderas y todo lo que lo compone, muy bien explicado y argumentado, grandes personajes y un agradable ambiente de estudio.

por James G W E

14 de mar de 2022

Fantastic course, full of useful knowledge and insight. Really liked the theme of critical thinking expressed toward the end of the programme.

por PARVATHY G R

14 de set de 2020

this is an awesome course.I really get some variety experiences the information about wood.wood is not simple subject.it has a vast to study

por Rangani s p

15 de abr de 2019

It is a very useful topic to everyone. It explains about the how human damage environment. And how we regulate the wastages of wood

por Hoda M

19 de dez de 2021

T​hanks alot! I really had a great moments with this course understanding new things which are so helpful for my goals and career.

por Freire A P P

3 de jan de 2022

Para los que quieran conocer sobre la madera y todo lo que lo rodea, recomiendo este curso. Encontrarán datos interesantes.

por Laura K

20 de mai de 2020

Loved the course, so interesting and insightful. Very helpful for someone in the design/furniture/architecture industry.

por Philip D R P

15 de out de 2021

Amazing course, especially for a civil engineer and someone who is interested in the structural properties of wood.

por Vinicius P M R

20 de jun de 2020

It is an amazing course. I learned a lot about wood science and probably I'll apply some knowledge in my work now.

por Dana L

22 de jun de 2019

I loved the course. Very informative, I shared some resource links with my mothernatureus facebook fanpage too.

por Kiran M K

3 de set de 2021

Best and smart course to learn quickly on Wood Science. Course methodology is very effective. Thanks Coursera.

por Sage A G

11 de ago de 2021

I learned a lot with this course. I hope the learning I had will help me change the world into a better place.

por Yugantara K

2 de mai de 2020

It was awesome experience during this course.I got to know many things related to wood.Thank you so much

por Aditya r

5 de nov de 2020

it is a very good course especially for civil engineers. this course has a lot of learning experience

por Kalliopi K

25 de mar de 2018

Great course for introduction to forestry with many information about wood science. GREAT teachers !

por Jeyhun R

28 de nov de 2019

It is not only theoretically but also practically educational. Thank you for such amazing course.