Chevron Left
Voltar para International Women's Health and Human Rights

Comentários e feedback de alunos de International Women's Health and Human Rights da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.9
estrelas
1,321 classificações
384 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course focuses on women’s health and human rights issues from infancy through old age, including information about positive interventions relating to those issues. Learners are encouraged to interact with each other through interactive discussions. It is important to us that this course be available to all learners. We encourage you to apply for Coursera's financial aid (see link to left) if the cost of the course certificate is difficult for you to afford. Please note that you may view all materials in this course, and participate in it, without purchasing a certificate. The course was co-created by Consulting Professor Anne Firth Murray and Kevin Hsu. Anne Firth Murray is the Content Director of the course; Kevin Hsu is the Design Director of the course....

Melhores avaliações

SD

14 de out de 2020

A wonderfully insightful course, with many real-life case studies that reveal the ingrained and systemic abuse that so many women face. The course had the right balance of videos and reading material.

MC

2 de mar de 2019

This course is very complete, professors and collaborators can provide extremely important information to your learning regarding women Human Rights.

I also appreciated all the resources available.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 389 Avaliações para o International Women's Health and Human Rights

por Anna-Tabita

25 de jun de 2018

It was an amazing journey all the way of the course. So much information I have learned about women issues around the globe. My knowledge boosted up incredibly. Making the assignments seems like you are participating in resolving the issues of the women worldwide. You have a lot of freedom to use your creativity for looking for solutions. Very informative interviews and lots of extra material to read if interested. It is the must for everyone to know global issues, for not to be an ignorant or making excuses of not knowing what is happening around. Highly recommended not just for the women but also for men and the youth especially! For to be aware and be able to prevent the issues as much as possible. Anne is a Hero for all the women, I feel very proud that exist women so active and capable to make big changes. It seems like she is everywhere in the globe being part of helping women and their issues. Thanks! I rea

por Kassandra M

28 de jun de 2021

Excellent course - thank you Anne Firth Murray - please keep this course going. Brilliant grassroots learning about the harsh and beautiful realities of Women's issues. I wish I could keep learning, going deeper into these issues.

Finding a course that relates exclusively to the unique female experience is a true privilege. Please do not ever change. Hold on to this format, and keep sharing the vast array of realities for women and girls all over the world.

Thank you to all the brilliant and strong women who have contributed to this course, and much honour and respect to the women whose stories have been told throughout this course.

Women for Women!! I feel very Blessed for this opportunity and hope to be able to put this leaning to good use in my future of working with women and children.

por Stefani k S

21 de out de 2021

I personally found this course gave me more knowledge as woman. This course gave opportunity for me to values my self as woman who have rights as human. From speakers to reading sources, it is very much complete. I also found my english skill improve especially in writing skill. This course also gave me opportunity to learning about another different point of view.

Overall this course is very good. I hope Coursera and Stanford University would continue this great relationship so that a lot more people would reach the knowledge.

I personally recommend this course for every person who interest. No matter how young or old you are, no matter your gender are so that this knowledge and awareness not only belong to women.

por Zuzanna S

7 de mai de 2022

Very thorough, well-prepared, fascinating and eye-opening course. I strongly believe everyone should participate in it to fully understend problems women must face everyday. Each module addresses specific issue's description, interesting reads and interviews with amazing, wise women around the world and an opportunity to check your learning progress with short quiz and an essay. What I especially esteem about this course is the ability to read and grade my colleagues' work and look at the same subject from another perspective. The knowledge and wisdom I've gained during this course will be treasured forever. Thank you!

por Mary M M Z

13 de abr de 2018

I am actually impressed by how this course is designed to be an intensive introduction to those beginners who wish to enter the gate of knowledge towards the international health and human rights issues of women worldwide! The way it is designed, tailored, customized to suit every student from every corner in the world is spectacular! I am still in week three, yet, I am impressed by how great everything related to this learning opportunity is for me and I do recommend it to everyone around who works in development and women's areas. Thanks big for everybody, institution, portal that made it successful as it is!

por Hanifah K

23 de jul de 2020

This course was presented in a way to allow me to think about and research into these important issues regarding women's health and human rights which I had not considered before. I feel that I have achieved so much insight into the issues covered. I feel that I must do something positive to change the outcomes for girls and women in some way. I thank Ann Firth-Murray and hope that she and the others contributing to this course will considered devising an accredited post-graduate course where by those of us wanting to make a difference can research the issues in a professional and intentional way.

Thank You!

por Stella M

31 de ago de 2020

This course offers an extremely thorough grounding in women's health and human rights globally. The individual modules and examples from around the world are extremely informative, but it is the bringing together of those modules, surveying women's life experiences both chronologically and across domains, that creates a comprehensive picture of women's heath and human rights. For me, this picture has been deeply politicizing. You cannot know this material and be indifferent. Thank you, Anne Firth Murray, and thank you, Stanford University, for offering this program. It's what the world needs.

por Philippa L

3 de mai de 2021

I loved this course, it was informative and inspiring to learn of current issues and projects to address them. Anne Firth Murray is an amazing woman, I am very grateful to her for creating this course. Exposure to these injustices is needed to create awareness and elevate a demand for change. I would not hesitate in recommending this course. It is a fair amount of reading to do on top of work and mothering, but all worth it. I loved reading what my peers thought and their own investigations - this was an interesting part and such multicultural exposure. Really great, thank you!

por Priya K

20 de jul de 2020

A wonderful course. A range of curious topics which is interesting. Very good teaching materials. A lot of surprising information throughout the course. Emotional content as we learn that the contemporary world has people like us who suffer to the maximum extent for being a woman. Thanks to Dr. Anne Firth Murray for this excellent course and for taking us from week 1 to the end of the course to week 10, through various organizations and personalities we met in this course. I found the utmost sincerity in the course contents. Thank you to everyone involved in this course.

por Fátima M H d l S

31 de mar de 2020

El curso es muy interesante y abarca diferentes temáticas que te permiten aprender acerca de diversos aspectos de la salud de las mujeres y los derechos humanos. Me encanto cada modulo y cada parte, y volvería a hacerlo. Es muy motivador, y te permite reflexionar y expresar tus propias ideas en todo momento. Tanto las lecturas como los videos o la información adicional, siempre me resultaron muy enriquecedoras y me enseñaron mucho. Recomiendo este curso, sin ninguna duda, a todas las mujeres y todos los hombres que quieran generar un cambio y luchar por la igualdad.

por Catherine H

22 de dez de 2018

This is, hands down, the most influential class that I have taken so far. It is a lot of work, but it's so well worth it because it's extremely written and all of the information is provided in a way that you can build on your knowledge of the subject as you advance through the lectures. This class was extremely emotional, but I think that's part of the point. It really stirs up sadness and anger for the injustices against so many women in the world, and helps to provide ways to get involved in change. If you take any class, take this one.

por Irene U B

12 de out de 2020

This course was exceptional. It not only had very relevant and interesting topics, the way the course was organised and delivered was excellent. It is so obvious that this course has been created with so much love and care. Videos, readings, optional readings, tests, many essays! This course is here for the people that really want to engage and dive into it.

It made me learn so many things I didn't know, introduced me to amazing people and big names inside this field. This course is not 10/10, it is 12/10.

por Dr. S P T

24 de ago de 2020

I am an Assistant Professor by profession specialized in Criminology & Victimology. Before taking up the course I was under impression that I know about the victmization and human rights violation. But let me confess that the course gave me a new perspective of the entire issue. The course covers all the relevant aspects of violence against women and health issues globally. Very well structured syllabus and informative session from the experts. Congrats and all the best to the entire team. Thank you.

por Patricia

16 de out de 2017

I would highly recommend this course. It touches on different topics related to international women's health and human rights in deep, and it explains the interconnectednes between those topics. I had already completed a Master's degree on International Human Rights when I took up the course, but this course still provided me with further knowledge in relation to women's rights and health, and on different forms of activism to achieve shared goals in relation to social justice.

por Maria D M

7 de jan de 2020

The course is very interesting and let me reflect a lot about women's situation. It was interesting to read other participant's points of view in order to better understand the situation all over the world. My suggestion is to insert more women's voices, it is always very interesting to know people's experiences about the topics. another suggestion is to insert updated texts, in order to compare the situation and better understand if things have changed thorugh years

por Natalia D

1 de fev de 2021

I highly recommend this course to those who are interested in women's human rights advocacy. The course is valuable to everyone who stands for women's rights and empowerment of young girls and women. It was very beneficial for my personal and professional development. I appreciate the opportunity I had to learn about women's rights and women's lives in different countries. I will contribute the knowledge I received to serve my community better.

por Parviz H

15 de abr de 2020

Great course but don't pay the certificate before reading this.

Written that SOME ONLINE COURSES MAY DRAW ON MATERIAL FROM COURSES TAUGHT ON-CAMPUS BUT THEY ARE NOT EQUIVALENT TO ON-CAMPUS COURSES. THIS STATEMENT DOES NOT AFFIRM THAT THIS PARTICIPANT WAS ENROLLED AS A STUDENT AT STANFORD UNIVERSITY IN ANY WAY. IT DOES NOT CONFER A STANFORD UNIVERSITY GRADE, COURSE CREDIT OR DEGREE, AND IT DOES NOT VERIFY THE IDENTITY OF THE PARTICIPANT.

por Marjorie B

21 de jul de 2022

I know in 10 years I'll refer to this course and thr growth opportunities it has opened me up to. I want to say a big "Thank You" to Anne Firth and her team at Stanford who put this coruse together. I'm certain you've given the world a legacy that would thrive beyond your time here. I have grown and i'll continue to use the learning here to build my foundation for service to humanity. This course is beyong 5 stars!!!

por Tsitsi M

24 de mai de 2021

I thought this course was rally good and insightful. The wide variety of sources used really helped gain a better understanding of the course material. The only issue I had was the time allocated to the work, there are a lot of reading materials that will definitely take up a lot more time than the time indicated on the course. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the course and I definitely recommend it!

por Audrey T

20 de set de 2020

This class has given me history I did not receive during school, High school or College. I do not know why I thought that the things that women has gone through ONLY happened in my country. It turns out to be all over the world. I love to have learned that people are working on ways to make the world better for men AND women! I enjoyed this course and believe that it will help me with my career.

por Nahida I

10 de jul de 2021

You can learn Many vital life lessons from here even you are a normal person like me. you will get to know when actually world stood up for women, what is CEDAW, what is Human Rights and also you will know what is going through all over the countries, how's the all the women over coming the issues from all over the world. Thank you so much for love and support Anne Firth Murray and everyone

por Amyra S Y

30 de dez de 2020

Every single week was an enjoyable one! The reference materials are so insightful I can see myself still using it for the next few years. I just hope that in the future, the quiz can be more about our understanding about the issues rather than asking us statistical questions haha. Overall it was a very great course with great speakers, 11/10 would recommend to everyone.

por Soojung Y

26 de jun de 2020

I learnt really a lot and I recommend all people to go through this short journey to have an idea what has been going on the different part of the world, including where you're living in.

This course really gives an insight of not only 'Women's health' but also how it impacts child and men in the world.

Please take your time for this course. I strongly recommend it.

por Laura P

22 de ago de 2020

Absolutely wonderful! I am so grateful to have taken this course, it has taught me so much about women's health that I didn't already know. This course has made me want to take on a new career path towards supporting women's rights. Anne Firth Murray was a fantastic lecturer and the content she used was fresh and insightful. I couldn't recommend this course enough!

por Denise N

6 de jul de 2022

This is a very informative course.  It opens my eyes to the various challenges’ women around the world experience including their health and violation of their human rights. It also exposes me to numerous women, organizations, agencies and other groups that have made it their business to expose and minimize the issues.  Overall, this course is very enlightening.