Chevron Left
Voltar para What is Data Science?

Comentários e feedback de alunos de What is Data Science? da instituição IBM

4.7
18,388 classificações
2,987 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Melhores avaliações

PD

Jul 19, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

BB

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o What is Data Science?

por Mahesh K

Jan 03, 2019

It encompasses fine details to introduce data science and explore data scientists as a career.

por Huyen P

Jan 14, 2019

Good contents and brief understanding about Data Science

por longmen

May 06, 2019

I have learnt about what the data science is and it's basic knowledge. I am glad I took the course. I will continue finishing the rest of the courses.

por Ferry T

Aug 20, 2019

Great for introduction!

por Chan H D L

Jan 04, 2019

Very informative and presented by respected individuals with a passion for the field. The only critique is that the material might be a little outdated as it seems to have been created around 2014-2015.

por Dwight F

Jan 01, 2019

It does in fact answer a basic, fundamental question; what is Data Science?

por Rick N

Apr 27, 2018

I did not learn much from this course. I did not enjoy seeing the young data scientists talking about their jobs. I was not too impressed by Dr. Haider or the professor from NYU.

Dr. Haider misused some words, such as "judgmental" and "argumentative". Without any evidence or examples for support, he claimed that it was more important for a job applicant to have a sense of humor than technical skills.

This course should have named specific techniques used in data science, and how to acquire the knowledge. Regression was mentioned, but the explanation was inadequate. Perhaps the explanation should have been omitted. K-nearest neighbor was mentioned.

Many students want to know what courses to take next, what computer languages to study, etc. What are the computer programming languages of the future?

Students cannot learn everything. Would it make sense for someone to skip some things, and to focus on others? Should everyone learn Python? Does everyone need to learn SQL? What about Tableau? Is that worthless?

How should students set their learning priorities in order to achieve a basic or minimal skill set within 3 or 6 or 12 months?

Remember that most Coursera students already have a college degree.

The course was created several years ago, so I think it needs to be updated regarding developments of the last three years.

por Mateusz K

Dec 31, 2018

Quite vague and repetetive, I didn't feel like there is a structure in the course, more like a collection of random thoughts by various people. It's more an introduction to what data scientists think about data science than an introduction to data science itself.

por Vincent Z

Jan 07, 2019

This is really an introductory course, and there is not much to be learned, not a single line of programming or a single chart generated. But it can all be done in a single day, so it is a necessary evil to reach the good stuff in the specialization, I guess.

por Ankit S

Jul 30, 2019

I dont appreciate the Peer-graded assessment part. It is simply not acceptable to be reliant on other students for assessment. This is just lazy.

por Dafydd J

Jan 17, 2019

i thought a lot of questions were subjective at aimed at the academic field. It neglected to refer to real world situations and jobs, which is where the majority of learners will surely be coming from. Probably a little bit my own perspective, but I dislike when Data Scientists big them up to be so much better than every other profession and separate themselves from statistics so much (it's part of statistics and should just be considered a branch of such in my opinion, not a separate profession). There was too much of it here.

por Angelique B d l F

Mar 27, 2019

Very very superficial, most of the course material is about the profile, job and prospects of a data scientist. Hardly any of the content is about the actual science and technology. A few sketchy minutes are spent on Hadoop and deep learning, the rest is fluff. Waste of my time. Too bad, IBM is such a forefront player, I expected a lot more.

por Sebastian S

Mar 28, 2019

IBM Cloud advertisement and nothing more.

por Steven L

Sep 10, 2018

The course seems poorly pieced together with videos from Big Data University - which is now known as Cognitive Class. There is mainly little coherence into what the course is trying to teach in all the videos. Readings were given on a rather low resolution image file - that makes it difficult to read and kinda 1990s feel. Is it that difficult to save the pdf in text or include a higher res image file?

Similar to the point that a data science report should indicate the details and affiliations of the person writing the report, many speakers in the videos apart from the two professors does not have any background information. Who are they? Where are they from? What background are they speaking from? All these are important context for learning.

I did learn something from the final assignment though. However, that was personal reflection and learning from peers. Thinking whether I should continue with this course.

por Clayton B H I

Dec 12, 2018

This is literally just hype for data science with no substance, include coding from day one or get real, I'm here to learn.

por Mohit B

Jan 15, 2019

Should this even be a course? Like they just say things that anyone can find the first thing on google if search you data science.

por Ahmad W

Aug 26, 2018

This cannot be considered as a course it tells some general info about the experience of some professors but nothing technical, of course it's useful but it's not really worth it

por Jan D

Oct 05, 2018

Don't take it. No Course Instructors, no help. Not worth the money...

Even the Working Platform is always timing out or has a gateway error.

por Joel L

Oct 23, 2018

Didn't really learn anything but I guess it was a good gatekeeper.

por Preston K

Oct 01, 2018

Utter waste of time

por NIKHIL K

Nov 19, 2018

Great course. Nice content of course.really help to guide about data science.

por SAJJA R K

Nov 18, 2018

Excellent Course to know about Data Science.

por Rohit G

Nov 18, 2018

Perfect Introduction to Data Science! love the examples delivered by the Instructors. Recommended for beginners.

por Karl G U

Nov 19, 2018

Good intro course!

por Seungbum K

Nov 18, 2018

Good for entry education about Data Science.