Chevron Left
Voltar para Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.4
estrelas
2,054 classificações
477 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the online course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Melhores avaliações

AD

25 de mar de 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

AM

27 de fev de 2021

It is a great course! teachers explain everything with care. While providing lectures there are some popup ques that verify whether you understood that lecture or not. Overall, a great experience.

Filtrar por:

451 — 473 de 473 Avaliações para o Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

por Jody-Lynn R

28 de out de 2021

I don't want to pursue taking this course at this time. It does not allow me to unenroll or cancel this course.

por Aaron A

6 de jun de 2020

A lot of sections were not explained really well. I had a hard time following the concepts.

por Sidney G

19 de out de 2020

The lecture is good however, it is difficult to understand because of the stuttering.

por Matthew E

27 de abr de 2020

Some interesting ideas, but course delivery and content needs a lot of work.

por Ramkumar

22 de abr de 2020

i don't know how this course is going to help in computer scien

por Luis M V F

9 de jan de 2020

This course lacks of mathematical foundations.

por Assael M

10 de mai de 2021

course material was great

por Ganesh P

23 de mar de 2021

I can't figure out what direction the course is going, and what the end goal is each lesson or in general. I don't feel like i'm learning anything objective but that i'm just being presented with loose and abstract ideas, that can't be applied anywhere.

You need to watch the video a couple of times to understand what they are talking about and even then you don't know why we are learning to solve that puzzle, what can be taken away from it that is useful anywhere else.

ABSOLUTE WASTE OF MONEY!

There is no refund, so I cancelled my subscription but watch everyday anyways to get my money's worth, hoping to see if by chance i find something useful to apply in my programming, but it's fruitless. Even by the poll results from quizzes, you can tell, most people aren't following.

To think this is course is provided by a university. Youtube provides much better content for free and I just found a good course

por Chanon B

28 de jun de 2021

I​'d give this 0 stars if I could. Don't be baited by the "University of California" subtext, it's 100% taught by professors from HSE University in Russia. There's a language barrier; I understand that English is not their first language, but since lectures are all pre-recorded there's no excuse for stuttering and stumbling through a pre-written script, especially not for "lectures" that are only a few minutes long at most. Homework and assignments are child's play, but also with no real feedback.

por Khan S H

21 de mai de 2020

week 2 to week 5 does not cover much, especially does not provide any clue how that could be used in computer science. It shows many ways to solve the problem but give zero direction how one could think about a new problem. When you have a new problem, you do not know which theory will apply. How should we think to decide which theory will work, this should be covered.

por Onur S S

3 de set de 2020

I'd give 5 star, i just wanna indicate a problem. After week 3, 3rd party puzzle app links are broken. I can't do exercises. I see '502 Bad Gateway nginx/1.18.0' error on my page. Apart from this, course is awesome.

por Riley K

15 de jun de 2021

Link for quiz tool did not work and wasn't fixed after a month. The order of the units seemed like it made little sense in my opinion. Some questions were worded poorly or crucial information was left out or vague

por rajinder s s

13 de dez de 2020

I did not get much from the course. while the material is interesting but somehow some instructors lack the ability to explain things very clearly.

por kaushik

10 de jun de 2020

some of the topics were fucking bad the explanations could have been a way more clearer felt bad

por Andrea Z

26 de abr de 2020

good content, but I have to say that is very and I mean very hard to understand the teachers

por William L H

24 de ago de 2020

I'm not sure which is more bizarre, the topics being discussed or the quizzes.

por Course

21 de jun de 2021

solutions are contradictory. i am trying to unenroll, please help me, thanks

por Iryna D

12 de mar de 2022

Too many errors and incongruencies. Often very unintelligible.

por RAYADURGAM K K

17 de mai de 2020

By far the worst Coursera course, I've taken

por Michael J M

28 de ago de 2021

unable to unenroll. extremely frustrating.

por Vikram R V

25 de jan de 2022

some of problems can not solved

por Yiqing L

26 de fev de 2020

quiz is too hard!!

por forat s

26 de nov de 2020

Very poor