Chevron Left
Voltar para Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.4
estrelas
2,055 classificações

Sobre o curso

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the online course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Melhores avaliações

AD

25 de mar de 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

AM

27 de fev de 2021

It is a great course! teachers explain everything with care. While providing lectures there are some popup ques that verify whether you understood that lecture or not. Overall, a great experience.

Filtrar por:

426 — 450 de 474 Avaliações para o Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

por Neeraj G

10 de fev de 2020

The course was very basic for me when I compared the material with the book of Discrete Mathematics

por Shashwat P

4 de set de 2020

Last week was a bit confusing because the concept of permutation and cycles are mixed I guess.

por Ambarish B

24 de ago de 2019

The lectures aren't good and the assignments are not well explained as to what we need to do.

por Erickson N R I

25 de out de 2020

I didn't really get the lessons. The instructors weren't confident in teaching their topics.

por Hea R W

17 de set de 2019

The quiz were all very interesting, but sometimes it was hard to understand the lecturers...

por Trần C L

19 de out de 2019

Good course with many interesting quizzes although it is lacking of clear explanation

por Megui

23 de abr de 2020

Last 3 weeks were not engaging at all, the first 3 were amazing (my opinion)

por Ghali L H

9 de set de 2020

Explanations of Puzzles are not always clear.

Week 6 is very complex.

por sathyamoorthi M

9 de jun de 2020

Good explanations .Last two weeks aren't clear enough to understand.

por Shambhav A

3 de ago de 2020

lectures, particularly by alexander vhen, were good!

por Jamil R

20 de mai de 2020

language is not clear always ..it can be better

por Joseph G R M

28 de jul de 2020

I didn't understand clearly the use of proof

por RAJ K S

23 de ago de 2020

Explanations not clear

por YIHONG J

17 de jun de 2020

The course is fun!

por JAMI S V L T

30 de nov de 2020

Good Mind teasers

por DELA C J K (

25 de mar de 2020

HARD

por Robin H

5 de nov de 2020

Interesting but needs MUCH better instruction. I'm sure the people teaching this really know their stuff but the students need to be able to understand it. Not even considering the heavy accents making the instructors hard to understand at some times, the instructors are just not good teachers. In order for someone to be a good instructor they have to know the content AND be able to explain the content so that someone without knowledge of the content can easily follow and understand. I felt like most of what they said was reading or paraphrasing power point slides and this course seemed more like a 'review' course for someone who had already been taught the concepts previously. Many times the course flow seemed unorganized as well. Having to program was also a problem when the course was not supposed to have prerequisites as a 'beginner' course. I want to take more courses in this specialization but am worried to do so since these guys teach the other classes as I'm sure the instruction will be pretty bad as well but further complicated by more difficult concepts.

por Maria S

6 de abr de 2021

The instructor seems super nice and friendly and smart, buuuut. I'm not sure if there is a more methodical way to teach this material, I just find the presentation of the puzzles very frustrating. It's not really clicking for me to keep watching examples, and after a couple of weeks, I still feel like I'm not really learning anything -- just feel like I'm watching someone show me 'tricks' to solve puzzles in the hopes that some pattern will suddenly spark a light bulb. At every step of the way, I keep thinking 'nope, still not getting it', 'nope, that hint didn't work for me', 'nope, you're gonna have to explain it all the way to the end'. I can't help but feel there has to be a better way to teach mathematical thinking...

por S. U

9 de ago de 2020

Interesting topics, lots of puzzles, but lacks structure. Lectures are well-prepared, but as someone new to this space, I would have preferred a bit more structure to the learning, with a clearer idea of how we would incorporate the concepts into something more than simply solving odd parlor trick puzzles.

As it stands now, I'm not confident I would recognize when I would be able to deploy any of the skills/concepts taught in the course. A shame, because the instructors are easy to follow and engaging.

por Araik B

28 de dez de 2020

I came out of that with a 100% and was confused from start to finish. Some of the classes did help in regards to the other programming class I took.

The beginning message that you do not need to know anything other than algebra and basic math was way off.

I don't feel like i got much out of this specific one but it is part of a package so we will see how the rest develop - usually its by the last class im like OH THIS IS WHY

por Andrés M

3 de jul de 2021

As much as I liked this course, I wouldn't recommend it. I felt there was a language barrier, using sloppy English for an academic environment. Pronunciation was often hard to understand. And I found the teaching methods often to being too rough in the spirit of being more "challenging". Definitely not what I was expecting from an North American University.

por Jeffrey W

3 de nov de 2020

Not great quality of teaching. They made lots of assumptions about what you knew and could have explained things a lot more comprehensively. They also made a lot of mistakes In their speaking, and corrected them with numerous on screen corrections, which made It hard to get Into the flow of the class.

por DINKAR S K 2

27 de mai de 2021

The course itself is good. Easy to hard problems. But the external tools which helps you in solving puzzles does not work. So, you will be unable to get through the course. This may be perfectly OK if you care about the grades, but not if you really want to learn.

por Nijat A

29 de out de 2020

I personally think the content could have been better structured and explained - I had to frequently refer to other materials on the internet to understand some of the concepts. Also, the programming task in Week 6 is not designed for a beginner such as myself.

por Ian L

3 de set de 2018

I got stuck for ages on the last puzzle where you cut the squares, because it was not obvious that the middle square was not supposed to be counted as the shape - it looks like a grid of 9 squares.