Chevron Left
Voltar para Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science, University of California San Diego

4.5
332 classificações
72 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Melhores avaliações

por JV

Oct 16, 2017

I really liked this course, it's a good introduction to mathematical thinking, with plenty of examples and exercises, I also liked the use of other external graphical tools as exercises.

por KL

Nov 29, 2018

The course is excellent and most stuff is being taught in a nicely presented way. The main disappointment is 15-puzzle, because it's too difficult to understand without proper material.

Filtrar por:

71 avaliações

por Luc Nanga

Dec 14, 2018

I am just into week 1 but the explanations given are unclear and confusing. The didactic is poor. I am right now wondering whether I should continue learning this or not

por Valentin Burkin

Dec 13, 2018

This course if the most horrible experience of online education:

1. Content of very poor quality. They barely explain a thing. Everything is left unclear.

2. They just can't speak English. I'm not talking about accent. All teachers have just extremely not understandable speech structure.

Strictly recommend not to take this course. Waste of time and money.

por Mohamed Al Jalanji

Dec 08, 2018

It's a very stimulating course, though not caring for students much. The material sometimes should elaborate more on concepts, say in week 6, it should've been clearer to student what are permutations in a clearer sense.

por Thomas J. Haslam

Nov 29, 2018

More like logical puzzles that get solved with basic math than your typical high school classes in algebra or calculus. Definitely wakes up your brain. If like myself you've not been doing serious math for a while, a good way to reactive the required neural circuits.

por kirill leonov

Nov 29, 2018

The course is excellent and most stuff is being taught in a nicely presented way. The main disappointment is 15-puzzle, because it's too difficult to understand without proper material.

por Nyam-Ochir Bold

Nov 08, 2018

Nice course little python programming and very good resources. clear teaching and explanation for theories and it's proofs

por Vijay Ram

Nov 05, 2018

What a waste of time.

por Praveen Kumar Rana

Oct 19, 2018

The course is structured well but we need more explanation for the last week lecture. And more topics inside logic section. The assignment had really helped me in understanding the course.

Thank You

por Miguel Diaz

Oct 03, 2018

Perfect!

por Eddy Pan

Sep 23, 2018

There are many very interesting cases in this course! I will definitely recommend it to others!