Chevron Left
Voltar para Managing Social and Human Capital

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Managing Social and Human Capital da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.5
estrelas
2,048 classificações
359 avaliações

Sobre o curso

People are the most valuable asset of any business, but they are also the most unpredictable, and the most difficult asset to manage. And although managing people well is critical to the health of any organization, most managers don't get the training they need to make good management decisions. Now, award-winning authors and renowned management Professors Mike Useem and Peter Cappelli of the Wharton School have designed this course to introduce you to the key elements of managing people. Based on their popular course at Wharton, this course will teach you how to motivate individual performance and design reward systems, how to design jobs and organize work for high performance, how to make good and timely management decisions, and how to design and change your organization’s architecture. By the end of this course, you'll have developed the skills you need to start motivating, organizing, and rewarding people in your organization so that you can thrive as a business and as a social organization....

Melhores avaliações

DM
19 de Out de 2018

Excellent Course. Understanding human behavior is one of the most difficult challenges in an organization. This course describes the challenges well and offers approaches to tackling those challenges.

J
4 de Nov de 2019

A fantastic, thought provoking course. Gave us a lot of things to reflect on and be mindful of in different situations in the organization. Thank you Prof Cappelli and Prof Useem. Grateful to you.

Filtrar por:

326 — 350 de 353 Avaliações para o Managing Social and Human Capital

por Srimathi C

13 de Ago de 2020

Professor Capelli was really amazing. He took the natural flow of explaining the subject slowly with pauses and expressions while Professor Mike's explanations were really hard to follow, dry and was hard to focus.

por Andreas K

24 de Mai de 2018

A nice course with important concepts pointing out the importance of the subject Human and Social capital. On the other hand it scrapes only on the surface of this important area for a manager.

por Federico B

6 de Dez de 2017

First two weeks were super interesting; the second two seemed a little "dispersive", lots of time focused on the details of the examples but not enough explaining on the core messages.

por Keiran H

16 de Abr de 2020

Very much an introductory course with fairly slim content supported by a lot of examples. This felt a lot less substantial than the Intro to Marketing course in this specialisation.

por Amy T Z

13 de Fev de 2020

I was hoping this course would go deeper into psychological managing. This course seems better suited to just learning the architecture of the building departments.

por Jonah R

1 de Jul de 2020

Case studies were good but it was otherwise a very theoretical course and didn't often feel like it could be boiled down to everyday application.

por Rahul S

23 de Jun de 2020

The notes from Mike were not very interactive. ALso the flow of Mike's presentation was not captivating

por Roman P

20 de Jan de 2018

Great introduction. A bit more depth and breadth (ie. 8 week course) would be terrific!

por Gusen Y

19 de Jan de 2018

Way too easy and general...I wanna learn more from the instructors.

por Gil R

18 de Dez de 2016

I think more examples would have been better for the class.

por Balazs M

4 de Ago de 2017

Thought provoking albeit at times vague and dragged out.

por Jordan X R

24 de Mar de 2020

It started off strong but lost momentum.

por Kyle N

22 de Set de 2019

Could be a bit more interesting

por Marc T

19 de Dez de 2019

Content is too anecdotal.

por Nolan S

13 de Jul de 2020

Boring!

por Niwech H

19 de Nov de 2016

5 points out of 5 for professor Peter. 1 point out of 5 for professor Mike. The first 2 weeks were good as professor Peter presented with very brief and sum up the ideas. On another hand, the last 2 weeks were bad, professor Mike didn't do well in term of summary. He spent 70% for introduction of each topic before reaching to the points that he want to make. Most of the time, he didn't make any points. Plus he didn't answer the questions that he asked. I am disappointed. I was expecting to learn more as the course structure was impressive BUT the actual lectures are not covered the topic.

por Steve M

20 de Abr de 2020

This is a survey course. It uses several simple case studies to explain some basic points, but does not go into detail in any particular area. For example the course does not explain well different organizational models or their strengths and weaknesses (functional, regional, etc). I expected more than a cursory mention of matrix management, which is powerful but complex to implement well. There are no hands-on activities other than quizzes at the end of the week. The subtitles are broken and/or of poor quality in several of the videos.

por Q W

15 de Nov de 2020

Taking this course as part of the series of courses offered by Wharton on intro to business. I'm coming from engineering background so not sure if this is true to everyone, but I feel this course does not offer much in-depth on those topics, it's just a slight touch on the surface of those. Among the series of courses I've took so far I fee the accounting course is definitely the No.1 among all others, no doubt at all.

por Janice A

4 de Mai de 2020

I think the Professors are both great and well-knowledged, but I find that the presentation of the material could have been better. I find that case studies took too much time to present and discuss, and I also think that the quizzes do not highlight the importance of the materials. The quizzes contain too many trivial questions and those that do not have much added value to the learning experience.

por celine

15 de Jul de 2019

great theory and principles but could be a little more tactical and related to real case scenarios of the working environment. such as: how to manage your bosses as well as react to peers when competition exists though team work must prevail. How to handle medium performers. How to handle politics in the offices when bosses use preferences and similarity concepts.

por Yi-Chien, C

18 de Jan de 2020

It was a very general overview through human resource management. Hope that more insights could have been offered by providing more concrete strategies. Also, it would be a plus to offer recommended readings for the topic.

por Samantha B

22 de Abr de 2020

I didn't quite feel I left with a sense of practical knowledge on how to manage or build the architecture of an organization.

por Eoghan C

22 de Ago de 2017

felt a bit dated. older materials, older case studies and examples. all quizing should be a little tougher i thought.

por Keiji H

14 de Out de 2017

Explaining many abstractive things with a couple of concrete actual stories and less correct materials.

por YUN L

2 de Set de 2017

the course is poorly structured. the videos are lack of well-organization and the slides are poorly written. The lecturer teaches in a way that's so hard to follow with tedious cases. Avoid this one and seek for other alternatives.