Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.2
stars
2,403 classificações
404 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Jun 22, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

BH

Sep 12, 2017

So many tools that I knew existed and have tried to use the How-To's to learn how they work and until the Prof takes you through them one-at-a-time, they never make sense. Great Stuff!

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

por POKOU K A

Mar 04, 2019

Very useful

por Akash A

Sep 18, 2016

good course

por Liu Y

Oct 28, 2017

I like it

por ZHU Y

May 22, 2017

Excellent

por Vishal M

May 23, 2016

super

por Gaurav A

Jul 01, 2018

GOOD

por Karen V

Aug 27, 2018

I think this was a good practical, hands on course. I would love to have more linkages with the theory covered in the Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling course, a little bit better coverage of all key concepts during the presentation using some simple techniques as repeating important concepts twice or at least changing the tone of the voice. When the lecture is delivered in a monotonous manner, sometimes it's hard to follow and catch what were the important concepts presented and which ones were secondary. I noted that description of topics related to some exercises in quizzes were covered only in subsequent module. I don't appreciated this approach from learners perspective. It's always good to present material thoroughly first and then check whether the student has understood the concepts.

por Michael M

Jun 11, 2016

Pros: Very good information and methods for running real life business models. The course provided the spreadsheet modules which allowed you to tinker around and learn them. I consider myself a power Excel user and I picked up some very good new modeling methods. Very concise.

Cons: I did Week 2 on my lunch break. Some questions on the quizzes were a bit vague. Probably need some working knowledge of Excel before taking this class.

If you need to complete a lot of modeling with your job, this is a good course to pick up some skills.

por Rafeh S

Aug 25, 2017

The course was a great introduction to using spreadsheets, although the information was a bit basic. Anybody with decent working knowledge of excel should not take this course unless they are trying to complete the specialization. For true beginners it is fantastic The instructor was clear and concise, although it felt like he was rushing through the material sometimes.

por Artem S

May 11, 2016

I like the course but currently it has some issues. First and foremost problem is tests. There are some questions that allow ambiguous interpretation, some questions require to know the information that is discussed later in course and so on. Also the lectures are quite short. Other than that course gives very nice introduction into using the spreadsheets in modelling

por Abhinav J

Oct 10, 2019

It was a great course where I understood how spreadsheets can be used in modeling. Different types of models and the characteristics of each model. I would have appreciates if the course has taken more complex and real-world applications and models so that the utility of the subject can be much more appreciated.

por Daguo X

Apr 14, 2017

This course teaches how to use spreadsheet to do some predictive modelings. Although no depth in math, but for me, some practical skills and functions are introduced.

I just give 4 stars only because the overall content is still kinda simple. I though I could have learnt more with this price.

por John P

May 26, 2017

Good overview of implementing statistical tools we have learned so far in excel. Loss of one star due to quiz questions & and answer requirements in week 1 & 2 being ambiguous. This caused some frustration. Week 3 & 4 were quite good in my opinion. Overall a good class. Thanks.

por Bhaskar

Jul 22, 2016

Sometimes, when I worked the spreadsheets out, the data differed from that on the examples. The items in the course were good and built up well. Some more details would have been nice. The instructor went over some spreadsheet steps quite fast.

por Roger M

Apr 20, 2016

Great introductory course for the subject. There were some parts, especially at the start of this course, in which the subject matters were being explained too simplistically and very quickly - not a good combination to maximize ones efforts.

por John C

Feb 08, 2018

Very good, but on its own it left me wanting more detail. Better if followed with Modelling Risk and Realities (the next in the specialization), which provides more substance and detail to some of the concepts glossed over in this course .

por Antonio J

Jul 15, 2017

O único problema é ter que comprar o curso para ser avaliado nos questionários.

Entendo ser o modelo de negócio estabelecido pelo Coursera ou mesmo pela faculdade, mas essa situação não possibilita a ampla disseminação do conhecimento.

por Volker

Mar 15, 2017

I think its oa good course, however, the XLS examples could be better and more complete (?) did not find some functions. German English Exec translation is a bit anoying - bit worried how that will work in more complex courses...

por Gytis R

May 09, 2017

A pretty basic intro to spreadsheets - good for complete newbies or for those who want to refresh their memory! I wish the course was a bit longer and showed a wider variety of Excel functions and worked examples.

por Jim H

Apr 23, 2017

I enjoyed the course quite a bit. What would really be useful is more opportunity to work examples or problem sets. The quizzes and knowledge checks don't really give me a sense that I really know the material

por Samir D

Mar 06, 2017

The course was well blended and covered depth about models which can be seen in a business work place. However there should have been practice exercises before the quizzes to understand the topics better.

por Omar G A

Jul 09, 2019

This course requires discipline, patience and attention to details. I learned things, about the subject and beyond. Don Huesman is the organizer of this entire series. Thanks for that.

por Martin Š

Aug 10, 2018

Course is great with showing much interesting fuctions in excel. Only 4 out of 5 stars because it is not clear how to submit formula input in quizes - whether start with = or not etc.

por Bintang A S

May 22, 2016

Would give this course 5 stars to be honest. It's just that the lecture slides are not informative enough (only course outlines are there) & look like they weren't made seriously.

por Akmal A K

Oct 29, 2016

Completing this course helped me improve both my theoretical knowledge and practical skills in MS Excel, discover exciting new tools and technics for modeling. Thanks a lot!