Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.2
2,237 classificações
368 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Jun 22, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

BH

Sep 12, 2017

So many tools that I knew existed and have tried to use the How-To's to learn how they work and until the Prof takes you through them one-at-a-time, they never make sense. Great Stuff!

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

por Matthew H

Apr 13, 2016

Overall the course was good, but the quiz assignments need work. When entering formula's there should be more clarity. Formula's can be entered in many ways and even when right were often counted as wrong.

por Patryk E

Mar 23, 2016

It seems to me like the course could have like 2 or 3 times more video concerning tasks required

por Vidhyalakshmi K

Mar 23, 2016

This course needs tremendous improvement. In contrast to previous fundamentals of quantitative modelling module, this lags in lot of areas. No clear explanations and the quizzes are worded super vague and filled with with bugs. I expected a lot under Monte Carlo Simulation. However, too simplistic example and explanation was presented. The topics were not introduced clearly.

por Matt C

Apr 24, 2016

The lecturer was very slow, and some things were not explained very well (while very simple concepts were often over-explained).

Also, I'm quite sure there were at least 2 errors in the weekly quizzes. One that comes to mind is a question that had identical options for two of the multiple-choice answers, but only one of them was correct (50/50 guess, more or less --- I had to take the quiz 3 times before I guessed right!).

por Alex D

Nov 29, 2016

A bit boring – way too basic. And I expected it to be a bit more systematic – simple (and quite fragmented) examples around one case... Could be a bit more.

por Joe V Z

May 22, 2017

Slides did not add value. I prefer the slides summarizing the lecture so that I can keep them on file.

por Siddhartha M

Nov 16, 2017

The questions on the quizzes were very confusing and marked answers incorrect despite being right. Quiz content should be improved, the instructor was good though.

por Meg B

Apr 07, 2016

What to say about this course? On the one hand, I learned a lot which merits the three stars. On the other hand, the quizzes were very poorly designed. It took me the maximum three tries on every single quiz to pass and I did just barely. Hey, this is EXCEL, not advanced calculus! Also, there were questions on the quiz that weren't even covered in the particular module. E.g., on quiz #1, there was a question about "objective functions" which the instructor didn't explain until the last course module. There were times when I questioned my own sanity until I read in the course discussions that others were experiencing the same issues. Before presenting this course again, TEST, TEST, TEST the quizzes and answers!! And if you're not going to allow for a range of correct answers or formatting variances, then change all questions to multiple choice where there's (maybe) a fighting chance of passing. I am immensely relieved this course is done and I can move on to the next one in the specialization--hoping it's better organized as was the Fundamentals course that Richard Waterman taught. I was fearful that a course in Excel was going to doom me for the rest of the specialization. Last recommendation: improve the presentation materials. Provide more details for reference purposes. Okay, I'm going to go relax, now, to recover from this trying experience....

por Nil D R L

Sep 06, 2016

The course is fine but very short videos and lack deeply explanations.

por Rahul R

Jun 25, 2017

In my opinion, this course is more information oriented rather than knowledge oriented.

por Ben G M

Apr 28, 2016

Wharton's online MD can not have a course so poorly develop (lectures vs quiz vs material)

por Yu P Y

Jun 02, 2016

Good introduction

por Hector P

Apr 18, 2016

A bit too basic at the beginning.

por Eshan B

Jun 01, 2018

The prerequisites are accounting. Things need to be more transparent for the students by making the mistakes available. Additional resources to grasp the fundamentals are needed.

por Michael S

Mar 18, 2016

A separate class for spreadsheets and modeling isn't bad perse. The best way to teach these models is to integrate them during finance or accounting, or whatever specific class you are trying to learn.

That said this is probably a good resource for someone with 0 and I mean absolutely NO experience with excel. However my gut feeling also tells me that those who have had 0 experience with excel will not be able to follow the models shown in this class.

por Alexander C

Mar 20, 2016

The professor of this course expects you to read his mind too much, preferring to skip through explaining his reasoning for solving some problems, such as calculating risk with the Empirical rule. He also mentions subject in the course outlines which he is supposed to lecture about in the course but doesn't, or just expects you to learn it yourself.

por Yogendra N P

May 10, 2016

This course is very brief and basic introduction to spreadsheets. It was surprising that the "pivot tables" was never mentioned in this course.

por Tomas C d l F

Aug 10, 2016

too superficial in the discussed ideas

por Martzel I G

May 01, 2016

Is not as bad as I thought at the beginning (the first two weeks). It gets better the third week. I think it needs some improvement though.

por Silvio J R G

Apr 25, 2016

It was a good course. The quizzes should be corrected since some questions are ambiguous.

por Evin K E

Mar 24, 2018

Although the course content was good and helpful. A more detailed explanation would have helped provide more context.

por José C d H

Feb 22, 2017

This course could work better as either a longer course with more examples, exercises, and step by step instructions in excel, or as a smaller part of the first and third courses in the specialization. The content is good and the examples are properly explained, but it probably doesn't warrant an entire course of its own

por Viktor L

Mar 23, 2016

Good course overall

por Ruslan K

Apr 19, 2016

Many errors in the quizzes made this course a disaster, although the course staff was eager to correct them as more complains in the discussions arrived. Being the second course in the specialisation, it doesn't actually live up to the expectations as it mostly covers the very basics of the excel functionality in terms of modelling.

por Adrian L

Mar 16, 2016

The exam answers were not clear.... The were questions not related to the videos. This was an excel course and no excels were available to download, just PDF. In the other two courses (Quantitative Modeling and Accounting Analytics) the excels were explained and available for download. This was an excel course and no excels available.....