Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.2
estrelas
3,207 classificações
589 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Jun 22, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ

Jun 12, 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filtrar por:

526 — 550 de 577 Avaliações para o Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

por Marek N

Oct 26, 2016

Too basic and superficial.

por MA J

Jun 21, 2016

the quiz is so frustrating

por Khushi S

May 27, 2020

Things are confusing

por Dennis W

May 21, 2020

It's pretty boring

por Andrii V

Oct 04, 2019

Absolutely useless

por Mehul D

Oct 03, 2016

needs more clarity

por arthur337

Aug 16, 2018

Terrible quizzes

por Andre B

May 05, 2020

Keeping in mind that this course should introduce spreadsheets and models, it is quite a discombobulated attempt at doing so. The 'models' are glossed over, and too much focus is placed on simple spreadsheet functions which can easily be learned via internet searches. The quizzes are riddled with ambiguity, potential solutions don't take into account multiple solution possibilities/variations such as optional excel function parameters, and numerical questions do not specify rounding requirements. This will likely lead to several attempts to pass the quizzes despite knowing the correct answer but not the specific solution required. Thus, making quizzes a chore rather than a test of knowledge. There is a disconnect between the material covered and the material tested, and there are inconsistencies between supplied spreadsheets and in-lecture examples. Additionally there is a notable error as the lecturer refers to the 'coefficient of determination' as the 'covariance' in one of the videos. Not something you want to hear when someone is teaching the interpretation of excel regression outputs. For anyone who has used Excel before (to do a calculation) and knows how search engines work, I would not recommend taking this course. You're better off just searching the syllabus sections online as there are tons of free resources that provide exactly the same information. There are plenty of websites that can not only teach you this content, but do so much more comprehensively and in an introductory business modelling context. All of that is provided freely online, with equivalent brevity and clarity to the lectures in this course. Other online course websites also offer much more comprehensive excel modelling and intro courses that 'blow the socks off' this one and for under 20 bucks when on sale (frequently)! The only acceptable reasons to take this course are: the specialization prerequisite, or you are interested in business but 'Excel' and 'Google' are undefined words to you.

por Colin E

Apr 05, 2016

This course needs a total overhaul; in its current state it is a detriment to both Coursera and the Wharton Online brand. First, there was relatively little content; there was less than an hour of lectures each week and no actual programming involved. Second, the material was pitched at a very basic level, but not in a good way. Third, the tests didn't manage to even test the material being covered. For example, when given a mean and stdev, when asked to find a value, often the lecture would use an approximation ( i.e., a 2-tailed 95% distributed = 2.00 std devs. ) This is a class on excel: there is NO excuse for not introducing norm.s.inv and norm.s.dist when asking that question. When the test required the "approximation" rather than the exact calculation? Everything about this course was wrong, it needs to be scrapped and thrown away.

por Wang Y

Apr 28, 2016

Frankly speaking, it should be the most disappointing MOOC I have ever enrolled so far. The Professor's teaching is clear and comprehensible but the depth of the course content cannot meet the university level, especially from a worldwide renowned school like Wharton. Quiz is the most terrible part which seems like nobody could get it because of the ambiguous questions and paranoid answer area. Personally, I, like many other mates, am really grateful to Coursera for offering everyone this equal opportunity. But courses with that kind of quality but staggering price will destroy the company's brand. We all want Coursera to go further and better, but few people prefer monopoly businessman rather than prestigious professors and diligent intellectuals.

por James M

Mar 16, 2016

This was very disappointing, especially considering it's a Wharton product. The "course" was little more than an afternoon's worth of seminars. Since I am not a paying participant, I could not take the quizzes, so I finished watching the videos in less than a day.

In addition, there are NO collateral or supporting materials provided. None of the spreadsheets or workbooks illustrated in the videos are available anywhere on the course site, despite their being advertised in the videos. All in all, it was consistent with the first course in this "specialization".

Again, very disappointing. I'm glad I didn't spend any money on this.

por Maria C

Jul 24, 2019

Content is badly presented with a little attention given to difficult topics of modeling. You would get more information from simple Google search than this course. In addition, some solutions, proposed by professor are not optimal in terms of time consumption.

Some quiz questions are based on personal view of the professor on model structure which, however, is never clarified in lectures. Furthermore, a lot of topics are the same for this course and "Fundamentals of quantitative modeling", but this course quality and clarity of explanations is way below.

Do not recommend if it is not a part of specialization for you.

por Jack R

May 13, 2020

No detail, terrible professor, overly focused on the history and reasons for using spreadsheets rather than actually teaching you how to use them. This is probably helpful for people who've literally never opened Excel before, but given this is a course designed to teach complex financial modeling, a basic understanding of Excel should be expected when designing the course material. Quizzes, too, aren't based on reality and don't test knowledge of the useful material in the course. A waste of time.

por Kwadwo A

Jul 21, 2017

I felt the Quizzes were poorly written and the instructor skipped around a lot or just did not explain concepts in detail compared to course 1. For the quizzes, fill in the blank does not work in this format especially given how imprecise the instructor was during this course. A lot of jumping from one idea to another without explaining the connections. Instructor in course 1 was very good at this. Instructor at 2 was not as good.

por Sunil V

Jun 12, 2017

This course has been an extremely disappointing experience considering a course from wharton faculty. I am sorry to say that a staff guy is trying to become a faculty to teach people and that sucks. The course contents are choppy and the lectures and quizzes were a guess game as a result of such siconnect. Please review this course and get someone more qualified an experienced in real world scenarios to teach this course.

por Jose G

Feb 10, 2020

Dropping this cert on account of this course. The quizzes are horrendous. They include concepts not yet covered. Some of the answers that require a formula keep getting marked wrong if the formula is not entered exactly as those who created the question want it. The presentation of the information is one sided. There is not an option to follow along with the instructor, just a series of small video and then the quiz.

por Mike

Jun 08, 2020

The recommended add-on for google sheets does not work (as of June 8, 2020), rendering most of the information in this course useless. The instructor seems to presume a lot of technical knowledge in that he skims over objectively dense subject matter that could use better explaining. Last annoying thing: speaks too close to the microphone in a way that it sounds like there is a piece of gum in the mouth while talking.

por Blerina M

May 11, 2018

This course felt like a waste of time. The presentations are very rushed, no attention to detail and the explanation lacks purpose. It took more time to solve the quiz then go over the module material. Very challenging to answer the quiz questions with such limited material. Very disappointed! Please review the content to enhance the quality and hopefully make it a better experience for other learners. Thank you!

por Patrick

Apr 26, 2018

This course was not good. It was not taught or presented in a structured manner; the videos were seemingly meandering, haphazard monologues. To compound the poor teaching and poor structure, the images were so grainy it was impossible to make out cell references in the text bar. I will definitely not recommend this course to others and would actively discourage others from taking it (especially if paying).

por Rainier G C M

Apr 27, 2020

This is one of the worst courses I have ever completed on the coursera. Although it has a good content, it is passed in a rush, without good explanations. Not to mention the extremely confusing questionnaires with information that is not in the material.

To learn during this course, I studied more in other videos and materials than through the instructor and course content.

por Mehul C P

Jul 13, 2018

Modules are taught nicely, however does not aline with tests at the end of each module, wasting humongous amount of productive time. No direct help available. Most question are very vague and expected answers are from wide range of choices. Very poorly designed. This doesn't look like Wharton teaching. Very sad

por Reese A S

May 12, 2020

With all due respect, this course was definitely not easy to finish - not because the course material was hard but because it was very confusing. It really needs modifications, especially because of the lack of course material and the confusing way questions were phrased.

por Munjal

Jun 22, 2016

This course does not belong to this specialization. Poor content, poor assessment quiz, and felt quite disappointed. It is way below par. I never thought I would have to rate it this bad. If not for specialization that I am aiming for, I would never take it. Period.

por Vinnie V

May 13, 2017

One of the poorest courses that i have taken. The instructor was unable to motivate or even teach the fundamentals of the course. As a matter of fact, You Tube tutorials (free) can do a much better job of training in spreadsheets and models. Very disappointed !

por Nelson H

Nov 28, 2016

This course was a extremely introductory course in excel. I would not recommend it to anyone, especially at the cost of $95. Aside from getting yourself thinking about using Excel and some minor lessons learned, I found it to be a complete waste of time.