Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.2
estrelas
3,238 classificações
595 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Melhores avaliações

MM
21 de Jun de 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ
11 de Jun de 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filtrar por:

451 — 475 de 583 Avaliações para o Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

por Francisco J S M

21 de Nov de 2017

Content is good but not practical enough

por Tomas C d l F

10 de Ago de 2016

too superficial in the discussed ideas

por Bei J

1 de Jul de 2017

quiz design is extremely confusing

por Hector P

18 de Abr de 2016

A bit too basic at the beginning.

por Scott

6 de Mai de 2020

Quiz questions were ambiguous.

por XI R

13 de Fev de 2018

Material is not deep enough.

por Viktor L

23 de Mar de 2016

Good course overall

por Thomas V

15 de Out de 2018

No implementation

por Yu P Y

2 de Jun de 2016

Good introduction

por GUANXIONG H

18 de Mar de 2016

Poor quize

por Shrenik V Z

10 de Jan de 2018

better

por Orlando C

7 de Mai de 2018

The Wharton School and Penn by extension has taken such tremendous effort to put together a great on-line offering. Some of their finest professors have made some of their rigorous coursework easily accessible via this platform.

This course however is one of the weakest that I have experienced both on this platform and from The Wharton School. The material covered is indeed dry in nature but the lectures - uninspiring - make it more so. The quizzes, designed to test your retention and understanding of material covered are ambiguously worded and not at all helpful in developing skill level around modeling. In more than one case, students are asked to write formulas that can use input data to create an output that will help make a decision. Many correct formulas are not recognized as correct by an overly rigid set of data in the grading system. That creates confusion - not helpful in developing skills.

Words such as "simplify" and "logical" appear in quizzes. These words are subjective, so the "logic" of a student may be different from the "logic" of the professor. Again, creates confusion.

It could be that one of the objectives of the professor is to get the student to think differently about modeling so as not to be overly linear. If that is the case, that is a good objective. However, whatever the objectives are - they are not clear nor directly put.

If you have little experience with financial models you will likely find this course to be both confusing and frustrating. If you have had some exposure to financial models you may find this course to be even more confusing and frustrating.

por David A

7 de Jun de 2020

Pros: -Learned some new Excel shortcuts and tricks

-What-if Analysis and Solver

-Random variables and Monte Carlo Sim

Cons: -The combination of boring lectures and next to no screen aids, as well as bare bones "slides" seemed like the course was setting students up for failure. Minimal effort toward the learning process, just lectures and working in Excel.

-Not a single "fill in the formula" quiz question was marked correct, even though I took the formulas directly from the Excel sheet (modified of course for the example cells in the questions). My only explanation for this was that maybe there is only one "correct" answer that can be input? So if I say C8*H3 and he says H3*C8 maybe it's wrong?

-The prof enjoys writing (and sometimes speaking) at a very high level. Complex wording and sentences that span 3 or 4 lines are difficult to decode. I found myself reading one of the quiz questions 5 times in a row trying to figure out what he was actually looking for. We understand, you have a PhD. State the question simply. True communication is the response you get. I felt he was trying to force people to decode his complicated writing instead of helping us to understand the concepts. Student understanding should be of greater concern than complex sentence structure.

Overall: I would only recommend this class if you really want to learn some new excel functions and need to know linear models and Monte Carlo simulations. Even then, I would exhaust other resources first.

por Geir E A A

26 de Ago de 2018

Unfortunately, I have to say I was disappointed with this course. Especially right after doing the "Foundations to Quantitative Modeling", which held a high standard containing very thorough- and clear instructions. I felt that parts of this course were not explained thoroughly enough which made it feel very "jumpy" and abstract. -This was then later verified in the tests where the question/thought; "did he even go though this?" often arose. Furthermore, the excel sheet that can be opened by oneself, on the side of listening to the videos, or reading the lessons, sometimes didn't fully match the one you saw in the video lesson. -For example; the reference points could be different.

Now I'm hoping the next course is more like the first one, which I very much enjoyed!

por Valentin Z

23 de Set de 2017

Contents of this part of the Specialization looked very promising (especially after a brilliant first part) but in reality this Introduction is shallow, rather monotonous, and I always had a feeling that it's like a patchwork and not something integral. The best part is that it doesn't take too long to complete, and the bulk of the time you spend decyphering the meaning of the questions in quizes (and at least some commentaries in answers would be great because this is not an exact science like math and there are a lot of possibilities for interpretations) . All in all, there are a lot of much more useful courses on Excel for models. I hope that other parts of the specialization will be closer to the 1st one.

por DIONYSIOS Z

1 de Nov de 2016

Some of the ideas discussed are useful & new to me like linear programming and what-if analysis. The content is more suited to this specialization context instead of teaching excel in general so in case you are looking to learn excel, this is not a great course. I didn't like the quizzes, most of the questions added no value. My suggestion to the instructors would be less questions on the quizzes and more relevant to what you teach. I wouldn't complete the course if it wasn't a part of the specialization that I am attending.

por Li Q

8 de Jun de 2018

1.Lecture & test is not well connected;

2.PPT for course material does not address the key point/knowledge that we need to master. If next review, I have to repeat the vedio instead of PPT.

3. Quality of Forum is bad. It is a paid course, the resource cannot help you to solve the problem. And I reviewed the majority of the forum, the useful answer from your staff is almost none. You may need to think about the staff training of the course related knowledge/skill.

por Rajat

11 de Set de 2019

This couse needs to be more detailed. Simple formula application in excel is not helpig understand the objective. I was looking forward to understand under what circumstances do i need to use a paticular techniques. Also more of real time problems could have helped relate the situation.

the videos showed the excel prebuilt with formulas, until you actually show why are you referring a particular cell, this is not going to retain with beginners

por Ryan D

29 de Abr de 2020

Quizzes need to be updated and are very subjective sometimes. There are multiple ways to skin a cat especially in excel, but this course and its respective quizzes basically say there is only one right answer. Professor has mistakes in his excel models that he uses for class lectures, but again your expected to be perfect based on logic that isn't cover in the lectured. Good coverage of material for an intro to excel however,

por Deleted A

27 de Abr de 2016

For what you pay for, this course is not worth it. While I was able to follow the lectures, the material is very introductory and I was hoping to learn more. The lectures are really short in duration and the quizzes aren't challenging. I feel that pricing of this Specialization is purely due to the brand name of Wharton. Please improve this Specialization to encompass more depth in the course material or lower the price.

por Matthew V d M

7 de Jun de 2017

This course left a lot up to the student, as many quiz questions were far too ambiguous or were barely covered in the materials. I'm flabbergasted that no clarity was given regarding how Excel formulas should input in the quiz answers, which naturally causes correct answers to be rejected because of arbitrary formulaic differences. A lot more work needs to be done on this course to make it useful to the student.

por Jim S

23 de Jun de 2020

The material was interesting but a challenge. As someone with little to no experience with spreadsheets, I had to refer to directions to review materials after not being successful on quizzes. The directions were not relevant to the questions and I found the overall presentation to be inconsistent and lacking in a meaningful order to follow. I wanted to understand, but I couldn't connect with the method.

por JESÚS B

14 de Nov de 2020

Considero que se debería dar información complementaria para obtener una mejor experiencia.

Para resolver algunas actividades hay que tener cierto dominio de conceptos matemáticos que se dan por adquiridos previamente sobre todo en lo referente a teoría de probabilidades y estadística.

Las explicaciones y las presentaciones que da el tutor son escuetas.

Gracias por darme la oportunidad de ofrecer mi opinión.

por Hernando E

3 de Mai de 2020

Significantly worse than any of the other 5 courses (all of which are authorized by U. of Penn. and Wharton).

The lecture slides for all modules were essentially useless.

3 of the 4 module quizzes have questions whose meanings are unclear

The screen size for the professor's demonstrations of the spreadsheet functions was too small to follow.

Worst of all, I didn't learn nearly as much as I had hoped to.

por Siddharth .

5 de Ago de 2018

I had a good background in excel and finance and that is sole reason I was able to comprehend. Moreover, the questions need to be change. They get vague sometimes. There is quite good use of jargon without even describing those terms. And for the complete SPECIALIZATION, whenever I give quiz I would be happy to know that why is this answer wrong instead of shooting in the dark.