Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.2
estrelas
3,110 classificações
563 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Jun 22, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ

Jun 12, 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filtrar por:

451 — 475 de 551 Avaliações para o Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

por David Z

Jun 24, 2020

I am aware this is an introduction course, however, some of the concepts and information presented is too surface-level basic compared to the questions required to be answered from the quiz. In essence, it seemed the questions from the quiz did not match the information presented many times. However, there is no doubt I definitely learned many things.

por Jonathan K

Jun 09, 2020

The professor did not do a good job at explaining the concepts. Coming from no background experience in modeling or excel, the professor really glossed over getting from basic spreadsheet knowledge to having a completely filled out model. I wish the videos were more structured like the first course in the specialization was!

por Bill L

Sep 27, 2017

I think more time could have been developed on QA/QC on the quizzes. I thought the presentation of questions was not that clear. Upon becoming initially discouraged with myself on not answering questions, I found in the forums that I was not alone in being a little frustrated with the presentation of the quizzes.

por Elli L

Aug 01, 2017

This course did not meet my expectations. Firstly, the videos are way too short in length and substance. So much more can be covered in spreadsheets/models. Nothing was covered in terms of cash flows, business cases etc. Too much focus on (in my opinion), things that not everyone will deal with in the real world.

por Blake W

Jul 04, 2016

I've only taken 2 classes with Wharton online. This and Intro to financial accounting. Financial accounting is awesome. It taught smoothly and explained things well. This class jumped around and didn't give full explanations and had questions on one quiz that we didn't learn until the next week.

por Lacey J

Jul 18, 2018

This course was helpful, however not particularly instructive. A lot of the specifics on how to do things in spreadsheets were quickly glossed over. The course notes were not particularly useful. The exams seemed prone to errors in grading and Coursera was unresponsive in resolving the issues.

por Luis M M d S

Apr 29, 2018

I have expirience using montecarlo and excel statistical functions. Unfortunantly the exams were very confusing and the open questions hard to answear not because of the difficulty but to get the particular answear asked by the teacher.

This module should be developed more deeply

por xiaohang w

Apr 01, 2017

Definitely could be more systematic and clear. Sample spreadsheets could be improved in many ways and any attention to detail would do this course much good. Tests and quizzes also could benefit a lot with a revise-currently plenty of confusion with phrases and wording.

por Jeosiah C

Aug 13, 2019

The lectures were too focused on the examples that are discussed in them. There is little explanation as to why the skill is important. Improvements should also be made in explaining when and how to use the skills and functions being taught throughout the course.

por houman h

Aug 15, 2018

The course was helpful. However, it was not organized and some questions in quizzes where not covered (briefly explained) in the course.

There were unnecessary information in the slides and there was technically no reading material for this course.

por Joanne Z

Dec 25, 2016

I don't feel learning much after the class. Particularly I think the video should be better made to present the spreadsheet content more clearly and i think there should be more emphasis on important points during the lecture session.

por Chris G

Jul 31, 2020

Did not sufficiently walk through building models, only showed completed models and formulas. Rushed through model building and fundamental statistics explanation. Would have liked more in-depth model building, formulas, and stats.

por Bryan D

Jan 29, 2017

The slides are not at all helpful. Unfortunately, this is a far less useful course than the companions in the specialization. The quizzes tend to be glitchy, and have a maddening propensity to have users type formulas,

por Olivia E

May 13, 2020

Poorer quality than other courses. Content was sparse and poorly explained in parts, and quizzes didn't help with learning as well as they could have. The Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling course is much better.

por Michael A

Feb 28, 2018

There were issues with both slides and quiz questions. The team of instructors and TD's may be masters of their material but they lack the ability to create a meaningful and endorsable learning experience.

por Robert S

Apr 20, 2020

Not very helpful or in depth compared to other courses in this specialization. Skimmed the top of topics without really providing much in terms of actually operating the tools of spreadsheets and models

por Ephraim B

May 18, 2017

Decent content; really, really bad quizzes. Considering it's taught by the head of Wharton Online, you'd think they'd know how to structure quiz content for this delivery medium. You'd be wrong.

por Kimberly T

Mar 13, 2017

I was expecting an intro course for beginners... this was not it. I'd say this is more of a refresher course for intermediate/advanced users who are out of practice.

por Asif B S

Apr 09, 2016

1st 3 weeks were helpful but questions of the quiz were unclear & improvement is really necessary but still an ok course for basic learners.It could be much better

por Harrison E Z

Jan 01, 2020

A lot of the questions end up being opinions and I would have liked to go further in depth with using Excel. Many questions were not answered well by the videos.

por Fahad A

Jun 25, 2016

I didn't know how to make cashflow assumptions. Also, instructor jumps from one lesson to another without enough explanation how did he reach to the solution

por Dave S

Nov 10, 2016

Weak, definitely not what I would call a "course". Should have been at least twice as long to give more depth. Also, too many type-in answers for quizzes.

por Jaydeep C

May 30, 2018

The course was good in the sense that it gave at least some idea about spreadsheet model however conceptually very less scope was there for learning.

por Andrea P V

May 28, 2020

Quizzes are very disputable. Not clear in some passages and in some cases you must remember the exact expresssion of the teacher or you fail. Crazy!

por Ansh P S

May 05, 2020

Fine Knowledge but very poorly constructed course. Test has random questions with ambiguous answers. Monete Carlo isn't explained well enough.