Chevron Left
Voltar para Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
3,920 classificações

Sobre o curso

How does a good idea become a viable business opportunity? What is entrepreneurship and who fits the profile of an entrepreneur? This introductory course is designed to introduce you to the foundational concepts of entrepreneurship, including the definition of entrepreneurship, the profile of the entrepreneur, the difference between entrepreneurship and entrepreneurial management, and the role of venture creation in society. You’ll explore where technology entrepreneurship and impact entrepreneurship align and where they diverge, and you’ll learn proven techniques for identifying the opportunity, assessing the opportunity, hypothesis testing and creating a prototype. By the end of this course, you’ll know how to test, validate and prototype your idea, and also whether or not you fit the profile of an entrepreneur! You’ll also be ready to move on to the next phase of entrepreneurship in Entrepreneurship 2: Launching the Start-Up....

Melhores avaliações

AG

4 de mai de 2017

'Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity' made me believe that i had all that one should know before starting up. I would recommend this course to all those looking to build the next big thing.

OO

28 de fev de 2021

Coursera is the best,,, I’ve always thought going to school was all you need to acquire the knowledge you want... But now I no you can be home and acquire your knowledge through the help of coursera..

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 822 Avaliações para o Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity

por Cesar K

3 de abr de 2020

Module based on real facts. Professors with experience as entrepreneurs. Content Delivered in Logic order. This is simply what i was looking for. Thanks to wharton.

por Oleksandr B

6 de jun de 2019

It was amazing experience! I feel that now I have much better understanding of tools and approaches that can increase my chance of success in starting business.

por April

23 de fev de 2016

Overall, this was an excellent course and, for the beginner, a great foray into general entrepreneurship concepts and ideas. Here's why I say that:

1) The professors offering the course are apparently top-notch - they all have extensive and varied experiences with entrepreneurship, and many of them have published research and reports that can be found with a quick google search.

2) The amount and nature of the content make it so that it's easy to approach the course more like a workshop, than some static didactic. For example, one of Ethan Mollick's talks comes with a spreadsheet to help students think a little more concretely and specifically about their ventures.

3) The course passed no judgement on push vs. pull ventures; they really tried to highlight the advantages and disadvantages of each. With the business community's surge in interest in design-thinking, I had been under the false impression that a push venture, by definition, was inferior.

I gave 4 instead of 5 stars, however, because I feel that more attention could have been devoted to more service-oriented or product and service hybrid businesses (though the professors didn't totally ignore the service-oriented business). Also, I was under the impression that the professors would have some degree of real-time interaction with students (although I get that they are super busy), or that even if the professors themselves couldn't respond, that a teacher's assistant or representative would comment on questions raised about the course content.

Again, this is overall a fantastic course, though not perfect - I would still highly recommend it to anyone thinking about entrepreneurship!

por Muhammad O A

25 de dez de 2017

I now have a fair idea to start planning for my startup venture. A major problem in the course has been the contributions of Prof Ethan Mollick and Laura Huang. It has been really hard to follow Prof Ethan Mollick's lectures for his fumbling with words and even a significant portion of complete sentences. The most difficult part of the course was covered rather casually. Subtitles help but they too have their caveats. Prof Karl is outstanding indeed and covers up very well for the problems mentioned. Anyway many thanks for the opportunity provided for this learning.

por Koyesha M

23 de jul de 2022

Great course- very insightful. It would have been helpful to receive more insights on the use of new technical terms in each of the modules. Particualrly for those with no previous background in buiness/entrepreneurship. It becomes difficult to follow the content and to keep using Google simultaneously to make sens of the content. Additioanlly, if we could obtain the correct answers after submission of each of the test modules that would be very helpful for our own learning.

por Stel- l

10 de abr de 2020

Great Course! It provided all of the fundamental information and guidelines anyone seeking to take the plunge into Entrepreneurship would find valuable.

I would ordinarily have rated the course a 5-star, except for the fact that no feedback was provided to questions raised in the forum discussions. Order than that, its a top-notch program.

Thank you Coursera and wharton for this. I would definitely complete the next 4 Entrepreneurship courses.

por Abdullatief A S

31 de mar de 2020

It’s my first time taking any type of education online. I like the sequence of the course and the progression from one topic to the other . I didn’t like the way of presenting the textual material ; it’s a copy of what the professor is saying and it doesn’t make sense if read by it self , also taking note was a bit confusing. My apologies for the bad comments I really enjoyed the course and had learned a lot

por Matt F

30 de jun de 2016

Great course! The content was produced very well. The course offers the slides as PDFs & makes other materials available for download as well. The information was extremely good & informative. I say this as someone who has taken multiple business classes already on entrepreneurship, as well as reading several books, & listening to many podcasts. The only things I would suggest as improvements are to in some of the optional content interviews at the end of the course it appears that they used a stereo recording which seems great but is a pain when you listen with headphones. You'll have only one headphone speaker with any sound. Also it would be great if the optional audio recordings at the end would be available for download or some other method.

por Geoffrey D

24 de out de 2016

This course provides great knowledge for anyone who wants to be successful on any career path. The teachers are actually very interesting people, entrepreneurs with great stories. It was a nice surprise in the class. I was also surprised with the depth and quality of information provided, it was beyond expectations. I suggest anyone who takes this class, or any class, take notes and save them on your cloud to master. I also got more perspective on the concepts of pivoting with, not only a business, but on your career path. It really inspires me to think about the possibility of becoming a parallel or serial entrepreneur. These teachers honestly have very cool jobs, there are no limits on your career autonomy when you are a VC.

por Nishant K S

19 de out de 2016

It was extremely intriguing and exciting to learn the program modules in such a systematic and comprehensive manner but still retain the fun elements of business and Entrepreneurship. It was gripping right till the end and I did not loose my focus even once. More than anything it was a fun learning experience and I will surely try and be a part of the second leg as well. It was an eye opener for as to how business is done and things are made to look so simple in the module by just having a systematic approach to risk and risk mitigation whilst developing a business. Thank you to all the teaching faculty for this great learning experience.

por ANATURUCHI I

2 de dez de 2017

The professors really know their work. The interview sessions by Ulrich and Lori were very apt to give real life insight into people who are practically doing this entrepreneurship out there. I recommend this course.

My pain point in the course is that I expected much more in-depth digging into Elevator pitch and the different dimensions it can take and how we can tackle it and what sort of barrage of questions one can expect and how to reply without putting off the prospective investor since the course teachers have been in the investment arena too.

Overall, it is a great course.

por Gani M

13 de mar de 2020

This is my first time of engaging in a full online program and I am particularly impressed by the content and depth of this course and the overwhelming delivery by the esteemed Professors. From the lecture videos to the slides, the audio and video interviews and the backup online facilities, I cannot but express my sincere appreciation to the entire Whatson management for this rare privilege of acquiring the startup skills of Entrepreneurship Specialization through this medium and to Coursera for the enabling financial aid support.

por Michael B

5 de ago de 2017

This is the first time I've taken a business class however whenever I explain it to friends or watch interviews etc I realize how much I've learned about ironing out the idea phase of a start up. The class provides a normalcy to the idea of startups and makes it accessible to anyone. I can't imagine an aspiring entrepreneur taking this class without having a complete change in perspective on how to approach creating an idea, having confidence afterwards, and knowing the next steps to take afterwards.

por Aneta J

18 de ago de 2018

I find the course useful, mainly because the professors talk about their own experience with their business and businesses they co-founded.

Professor Ulrich is absolutely amazing and I loved all of his lecturer - good pace of speach, very interesting (practical) content. Unfortunately it can´t be said about all of the professors. Some of them just read so quickly that for me it´s hard to be able to actually think about what they are saying. Sometimes I just read the transcript.

por mehran f

30 de jul de 2020

Excellent course. A wealth of information. All instructors impressive. I liked it how fast and natural they talked. It did not really feel that they were just reading from the screen. I also liked how the lectures were rather long and meaty, not interrupted by some foolish questions to check our understanding. The extra material such as Wharton radio interviews were useful and fun. Looking forward to the remaining courses in this specialization. Gratitude from Chicago.....

por José M L d A

24 de jun de 2018

I really like this course, it provide me a lot of tools that I am using to start as an Enterpreneur. Evaluations are purely about facts of the course and do not involve judges from other people (as other enterpreneur courses where your idea is being attack even that you are not quite sure of it). I appreciate teacher´s experience, they came up with life examples of each topic in their own ventures and even share formulars and best resources. Looking forward to next part...

por Candice K

24 de out de 2020

I really enjoyed the course, and wanted to highlight two things. Firstly, I think it's a really great course for someone like me who has a background in business (education + work experience) that may not have had prior exposure to the underlying concepts of entrepreneurship. Secondly, I love that this course has such high quality resources available on Coursera - slides, interviews, and concrete tools to illustrate the concepts. In short, well done!

por Jaspreet D

28 de abr de 2020

it was absolutely mind blowing & probably more than what i expected from this course. Techniques, examples, language, Used Case Analysis were spot on & i never felt that i was sitting thousands of kilometres away. I could relate to the teachers so well & they had a very good grip & experience of not only academics but also practical world. I would like to extend a big thank you to all the Professors, Wharton & Coursera for developing this course.

por Peshaan K

19 de out de 2019

A thoroughly engaging course that made learning the basics about Entrepreneurship both insightful and relevant to the modern world. The principles can be applied across product, software and services. The mechanisms and techniques studied can be applied to innovation in the workplace, for those uninterested in actually pursuing an entrepreneurial career. Would highly recommend this course to anyone looking upgrade their skills and knowledge bank.

por Jonathan G

18 de out de 2016

The course is very interesting and useful, especially for me who lives in the country encouraging mass entrepreneurship and innovation. But I cannot take the tests as an auditor. I am not working in the business, I only need to learn the knowledge first, and choose to get the certificates whenever I need. Other courses like Machine Learning allow you finish all the processes and buy later. Could these Entrepreneurship courses also do like that?

por Bryce H

22 de out de 2017

It made me realise about our social mission: to make a significant contribution in our own community beyond financial sustainability. Thank you very much! Professors of Wharton, I am greatly indebted for the knowledge you have shared. I wish to continue to deepen my understanding on entrepreneurship and help generate jobs for the impoverished families in my community. I am hoping to make it as my career goals after finishing this course.

por Fahad F

18 de out de 2016

Brilliant course. Excellent instructors. Course structure was concise and easy to follow. I thought product demo's, use of real business case scenarios and venture's made the course more exciting and appealing. This course has certaintly given me the motivation and confidence to perhaps consider starting my own business. I will now move on to the next course of the specialisation. Thank you all very much!!!

por Shrawan

23 de abr de 2020

It was my immense pleasure to learn such a wonderful things from such professor of one of the top business school in the world . I love this course .

I suggest professor to update various data and facts as they were quite old as of 2020.

I also suggest all the enrolled students to complete all four specialization of this topic because completing only one will not hep help to get core concept of entrepreneurship .

por Bernhard S

8 de abr de 2016

It is a great specialization!

The professors are really engaged and they find a great balance between providing the latest research on entrepreneurship as well as teaching practical insights.

Personally, I really enjoy that the professors have own experience in building a start-up and are willing to share their experiences and learnings with us. This makes the course even more tangible and valuable...

por Samuel A

6 de mai de 2021

A good introduction to thinking about the various aspects of brainstorming and conceptually developing a start-up. This course will take you from the back-of-the-napkin sketch to a more comprehensively deliberate business idea. The lessons on gathering potential market data through interviews and surveys was solid, although this is certainly not a complete course on those data collection methods.