Chevron Left
Voltar para Wharton Business and Financial Modeling Capstone

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Wharton Business and Financial Modeling Capstone da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
399 classificações
67 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this Capstone you will recommend a business strategy based on a data model you’ve constructed. Using a data set designed by Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS), you will implement quantitative models in spreadsheets to identify the best opportunities for success and minimizing risk. Using your newly acquired decision-making skills, you will structure a decision and present this course of action in a professional quality PowerPoint presentation which includes both data and data analysis from your quantitative models. Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is the leading data research platform and business intelligence tool for over 30,000 corporate, academic, government and nonprofit clients in 33 countries. WRDS provides the user with one location to access over 200 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, ESG, Finance, Insurance, Marketing, and Statistics....

Melhores avaliações

AV

Nov 02, 2017

Good course that helps understand different considerations to take into account when creating models. Well laid out Capstone project to help understand portfolio diversification and Optimal Portfolio.

RT

Sep 26, 2016

Really a great set of courses to understand and apply models to many different scenarios. I was able to use the skills I learned right away in my profession. Would definitely recommend.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 65 Avaliações para o Wharton Business and Financial Modeling Capstone

por Micael J

Dec 06, 2018

The course lacks compatibility with the rest of the Specialization. It is tremendously hard and there is no orientation or guidance. Thanks to the support of some colleagues I might be able to finish it. But I ask myself if the extra work was really worthy.

2 stars because of the relevance and deepness of the subject.

It certainly doesn't represent other courses from the same university.

por Alexander V

Dec 27, 2019

The project is very interesting although I have already built several asset allocation models in the past. I do not like the session structure of the capstone. I have to wait 1 month to start and therefore pay another month's subscription just to wait. This is very annoying.

por Filippo L

Dec 19, 2018

The course was good, but lack of support when I needed. My questions were not answered and had to find out by myself wasting a lot of time.

por Tian M

Dec 01, 2019

As mentioned by many in the comments section, week 3 was severely lacking as there was either insufficient guide or irrelevant course materials. The task was extremely difficult and I would have not been able to complete the course had it not been with the help from peers. This should not be the case for a self-learning module/course by a respectable institution such as UPenn, Wharton.

por Arun R

Aug 15, 2017

Excellent course with an indepth understanding of financial modeling and optimal risk portfolios. The Capstone project created a challenge by introducing 10-stock covariance matrix and Portfolio Variance calculation, which threw some of us off, but ultimately managed to get it done.

por Jesus O

Dec 27, 2018

Excellent course and very good approach for a project to evaluate the learning of the other modules. This is probably the best course of the specialization, as is not only a test, but a simulation of a real life application to help make clients undestand the importance of diversification in portfolio management.

por Juan P M E

May 01, 2020

Successfully completed Wharton Online "Business and Financial Modeling" specialization program from the The Wharton School. Would highly recommend this program with full of real scenarios examples and a lot of a lot of technical content.

por Sola O

Jan 15, 2019

This course is very demanding and require high level of concentration with total attention to be able to complete the capstone assignments and project but will deliver practical capability in financial analysis for investment purposes.

por nil

Feb 13, 2017

课程设置的很好,引导学生自主从公开信息渠道获取信息,并根据现代金融理论,以Sharpe ratio最大化构建自己的资产组合。最后的大作业可以锻炼学生的综合能力,包括数据、论点、论据的组织,展示材料的制作。另外,审阅其他同学的作业有助于帮助整理自己的知识点。非常感谢制作方和老师用心的制作,感谢审阅同学的辛勤劳动!

por Atanasio R M

May 07, 2018

I had some technical problems to upload the final project, but finally they were solved.

First of all, I tried to upload several times the file, because the file couldn´t be uploaded. I had to try with a different device to upload it after many tries.

After that, I uploaded the file but it could not be opened by the rest of students. At expiration date to be evaluated the projects, I entered into the course. Unfortunately I had failed because the students couldn´t read my file. In last call I contacted with technical support to upload again with very little room for manoeuvre to be evaluated my project.

I had to strongly follow up the issue during these last days to pass the course.

Apart from these problems, I have to say that the response of technical support via email was quick.

por Andrey N

Sep 06, 2016

Too easy, no direct feedback. But a good refresher, though

por Fred J

Apr 20, 2017

Excel seems not like the ideal tool for portfolio optimization. A business plan or a net value calculation would have been much more in the spirit of this specialization

por Deleted A

Sep 05, 2016

Seemed like the Capstone was rushed and turned into an Investment Management course...I signed up to practice business finance modeling not investment management. The instructors did not present any further information and referred students to third-party resources (ie, Investopedia and Youtube). Many students in the forums voiced their frustration. Disappointing course with little added value, and in my opinion, hurts Wharton's image.

Overall, the Wharton Online Business Finance Modeling Specialization is not worth the ~US$550. If I could I would ask for a refund.

por Jayesh B

Jan 09, 2018

Very good introductory course in finance. The skills and resources provided in this course are very helpful to people working in technical field. The instructors were did were outstanding in explaining the course material. I learnt a lot from all the courses and always looked forward to the next course.

por Sebastiao S

Jul 20, 2020

I Have Learned more in this Module, Because of the Work we have Done, by practicing in real-time.

the Experience was Amazing, I love the all Scenario with Financial Statement, Portfolio diversification.

Wish I could Rate at 10 Stars, instead of 5.

por Rahul

Apr 21, 2018

Its a great course on building portfolios, portfolio optimization and concepts around managing risk while doing so. There is extensive use of excel in practicing above concepts and applying it in real life scenarios which I really liked about it.

por Jafed E G

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

por Jerrad A

Sep 25, 2016

Really interesting course. I especially enjoyed the capstone project, which had a lot to do with portfolio construction in the real world. There are many real-world applications for this course and I highly recommend it!

por Gerard E

Sep 12, 2017

Excellent course that covers a variety of topics in risk and modelling. The capstone project was also key in understanding and presenting the risk/return relationship from a portfolio investment point of view.

por Anshul V

Nov 02, 2017

Good course that helps understand different considerations to take into account when creating models. Well laid out Capstone project to help understand portfolio diversification and Optimal Portfolio.

por Roman T

Sep 26, 2016

Really a great set of courses to understand and apply models to many different scenarios. I was able to use the skills I learned right away in my profession. Would definitely recommend.

por Zacharias L

Aug 07, 2017

Great lesson of managing a portfolio. Sufficient education of good risk management techniques. The process was very intuitive and much of fun. Again I feel great to have taken it.

por Marco K

Apr 30, 2020

Teachers have done an excellent job in explanations. I would recommend this course to many.

Sometimes the exercises require very precise answering which is quite frustrating.

por Galib H K

Nov 07, 2017

This was a great opportunity to get practical experience about calculating the optimal risky portfolio as well as understanding the importance of Portfolio Diversification.

por Sutej

Sep 20, 2016

This context of this capstone was great. I was able to learn about finance and apply the tools that I learned in preceding courses to complete this project successfully.