Chevron Left
Voltar para A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650)

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650) da instituição Universidade Yale

4.7
212 classificações
72 revisões

Sobre o curso

This course follows the extraordinary development of Western Christianity from its early persecution under the Roman Empire in the third century to its global expansion with the Jesuits of the early modern world. We explore the dynamic and diverse character of a religion with an enormous cast characters. We will meet men and women who tell stories of faith as well as of violence, suppression, and division. Along the way, we encounter Perpetua and her martyrdom in Carthage; the struggles of Augustine the bishop in North Africa; the zeal of Celtic monks and missionaries; the viciousness of the Crusades; the visions of Brigit of Sweden; and the fracturing of Christianity by Martin Luther’s protest. We hear the voices of great theologians as well as of those branded heretics by the Church, a powerful reminder that the growth of Christianity is a story with many narratives of competing visions of reform and ideals, powerful critiques of corruption and venality, and exclusion of the vanquished. The troubled history of Christian engagement with Jews and Muslims is found in pogroms and expulsions, but also in the astonishing ways in which the culture of the West was transformed by Jewish and Islamic learning. We shall explore the stunning beauty of the Book of Kells, exquisitely prepared by monks as the Vikings terrorized the coast of England. We will experience the blue light of the windows of Chartres, and ponder the opening questions of Thomas Aquinas’ great Summa. We will read from the Gutenberg Bible of the fifteenth century, which heralded the revolution brought by the printing press. We will travel from Calvin’s Geneva to Elizabeth’s England to Trent, where a Catholic Council met to inaugurate a modern, missionary Catholic church. We will walk through the great Escorial of Philip II of Spain, hear the poetry of John of the Cross, and follow the Jesuits to Brazil and China. Christianity in the West was forged in the fires of conflict and tumult, and it brought forth both creativity and violence. It echoed with calls for God’s world to be transformed, it inspired the most sublime art and architecture, yet it also revealed the power of the union of cross and sword to destroy. The course is a journey through the formation of the West as one strand of Christianity, as one chapter in a global story. It is a journey that has shaped our world....

Melhores avaliações

ES

Mar 23, 2018

A great journey! Lots of information and bonus material! I'm very thankful for the course. It might be that the professor's speech is sometimes a bit difficult to follow, but it's a minor drawback

SN

May 27, 2019

I enjoyed this course so much!! I learned a lot about history and the church. It has kept me looking for more courses and books to learn more!!!!!\n\nThank you so much for offering this!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650)

By Michael X

Jan 08, 2019

If you want a course super biased towards Catholicism, by all means, take this course. Completely glosses over the faults of Catholicism in history, like the failings of the peasant crusade, which is actually the 1st crusade. He named the 1st successful crusade as the 1st crusade. Just listen to the language and content. If you really know history, you'll know he skips over ugly stuff and tries to paint everything in a positive light.

By Qin L

Dec 30, 2018

Distinctive Christian scholarship is demonstrated throughout this course. A wealth of information is presented. Professor Bruce Gordon knows the things he teaches really well. His sincerity towards knowledge, combined with his cooperation with Nazanin and Maximilian, makes the course an enriching and inspirational experience.

By Kristi D

Nov 14, 2018

I have enjoyed Professor Gordon's class so much and could repeat it several times and still not absorb the vast amount of information that he has spent so many hours sharing with us.

Loved it!

Thank you Dr. Gordon, Nazanin and Max, for your time and talent.

By Frank

Sep 04, 2018

Very good introduction (or re-introduction) to Christianity in the early world up until the Colonial Era. The instructors skillfully brought in elements from the arts, primary sources, and on-site visits to paint a cohesive image of Christianity through this time. The discussions between the staff were also very good in bringing out more subtle differences in some areas where opinion still differs.

By Rafael M

Jun 03, 2018

The course brings up a great and unknown view of Christianity throughout history. It was an execellent opportunity to take it.

By Christophe S

Mar 28, 2018

It was a great course to have a global overview of the role religion had in the history of europe and even some parts of other continents with the last week session about jesuits.

By Stephanie N

May 27, 2019

I enjoyed this course so much!! I learned a lot about history and the church. It has kept me looking for more courses and books to learn more!!!!!

Thank you so much for offering this!

By Sophie W

Mar 30, 2019

Excellent thousand foot view of roughly 1400 years of Western Christianity, covering a huge number of critical events.

By Sanjy R

Jan 27, 2019

Thanks for all, it's a very good MOOC

By Lee T

Nov 14, 2018

Clear explanation how western christianity developed

By Sylvia S M

Nov 07, 2018

I enjoyed the notes, the references the videos and professor. I learned a great deal about a subject I had some awareness of. A subject I am keenly interested in, as I pursue a career as a minister. Thank you.

By Melody L

Oct 08, 2018

Recommend to anyone wanting to expand their knowledge on the growth of Christianity. The subtitles are a bit iffy at times, but if English is your first language you should be fine.

By Patricia N W

Oct 04, 2018

The presentation is superb and attention holding. I'm enjoying this class so very much. I would love more by this University and this Professor.

By Damon T R

Sep 30, 2018

Absolutely loved this course! Could not recommend it more!

By Andrey C

Sep 10, 2018

Excellent course!!!

By Mir P

Jun 22, 2018

Good overview, good sources.

By Brent H

Jun 07, 2018

great course, very informative.

By Aniceto P

May 02, 2018

Great course. Clear content. Good teachers

By Charles E M

Apr 30, 2018

Everthing

By Greg L

Apr 19, 2018

A good survey of Western Christianity taught in an engaging manner.

By Neil K

Apr 17, 2018

Just superb. Engaging lucid speakers, vast scope of subject matter, lucidly spoken about.

By erich n

Mar 26, 2018

This is a well thought out course, that offers real insight into the rise and growth of Christianity. It is well done, and offers great content.

By Neelam P

Mar 26, 2018

Great course to get you introduced to the first Millenia of Christianity in the west!

By Giusi F

Mar 24, 2018

Thank you for this course. I appreciated in particular the teaching of Prof. Gordon. Very clear also for a non English mother tongue and very expert of the theme.

By Evgeniia S

Mar 23, 2018

A great journey! Lots of information and bonus material! I'm very thankful for the course. It might be that the professor's speech is sometimes a bit difficult to follow, but it's a minor drawback