Chevron Left
Voltar para US Social Services Compared

Comentários e feedback de alunos de US Social Services Compared da instituição Universidade Columbia

4.7
estrelas
106 classificações
31 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In all nations, social policy is a very large public investment. Course 1 will explore the size, structure, and outcomes of U.S. social policy and compare this policy to those of similar developed countries. The course will also probe the values this policy represents and the values debate regarding about how big our welfare state should be— in other words, how much of our education, housing, health, income support, and social services the government should supply and how much individuals should supply for themselves. This course addresses issues of power, oppression, and white supremacy. The course is part of a sequence in social policy that has an HONORS TRACK. This track will prepare the learner for masters-level work in policy, which involves reading the literature, writing concise summaries and probing critiques. Over the sequence the learner will develop a policy analysis that will create a foundation for professional policy analyst assignments....

Melhores avaliações

IL
9 de Mai de 2021

I learned a lot and very much enjoyed learning about the social policy. Thank you professor Robertson and all the speakers for their lessons taught throughout the course!

TA
26 de Set de 2019

"US Social Services Compared" - I am hoping this course will help me out with a clear concept of US Social Services Compared. Thanks COURSERA for the such online access.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 33 Avaliações para o US Social Services Compared

por Sarah G

11 de Abr de 2020

The content is overall useful and is a good introduction to understanding the US welfare state. However, some of the quiz questions are unclear and occasionally do not reflect the content discussed in the course. Discussions are not very critical, I would have liked to have a greater centering of marginalised communities. The honours option seems a little excessively time-consuming.

por Sean L

21 de Jan de 2019

The quality of the content is good for an introductory course. The high amount of typos in the slides is distracting when you're trying to take notes.

por Joy S

17 de Jan de 2019

good info, instructor really quiet. had to use earphones

por Evaluation R

11 de Dez de 2019

Dr. Robertson developed a great course. I was a little put off by Garfinkel. A few slides need to be edited a little bit because the errors are distracting and may be confusing for ELL e.g. venerable instead of vulnerable ... I learned quite a lot even though I have over a decade of experience working in Health & Human Services. THANK YOU!!!

por Leah B

22 de Mar de 2019

very interesting and useful for my wider studies supporting my application to universities

por Hector O

6 de Jun de 2020

Excellent Course! Better than the one I took on-campus for my MSW at another institution.

por Maite S P

22 de Jul de 2020

The course was very informative, it definitely broaden my knowledge of Social Services in the US and other Countries. I would recommend my co-workers to take this course.

por Caroline R

8 de Nov de 2020

This course presented a good overview of the basics of the U.S. welfare state, but in many cases, arguments were not presented in a way for students to critically engage with the coursework. I wish that there was greater opportunity for critical engagement, because I found some of the beliefs presented to be biased yet present

por Mohammad O A

28 de Mar de 2021

This was a great course, content wise. The quizzes are very simple and do not require much critical thinking. The Honors Assignments, however, are rigorous and require in depth reading, preparation and writing.

There was a bit of delay in getting reviews for my assignments for this course. However, I was able to work things out with Coursera Help Desk and also Professor was kind enough to reply to my email. It worked out in the end and I got my Honors credit on the certificate!!

Content wise: the quality of the readings was top-notch, drawing from book chapters to journal papers to think tank reviews. I am so glad I took this course!

por Leslie W

20 de Jul de 2020

This course taught me so much about the United States social welfare state and how it compares to other Welfare States. I was excited to review each new course as I learned a wealth of information that will assist me in my upcoming policy classes at Columbia this fall. A truly valuable source of information that was delivered in a highly comprehensible fashion. Thank you for creating this course!

por Quanchai K

22 de Abr de 2021

It is an excellent course that helps me better understand general social welfare in the United States, which is very unique compared to that in other Western countries. The instructor can very well explain and discuss complex issues that allows me as a non-American citizen to follow the contents easily. Thank you very much for offering the wonderful course.

por Ila L

10 de Mai de 2021

I learned a lot and very much enjoyed learning about the social policy. Thank you professor Robertson and all the speakers for their lessons taught throughout the course!

por Tofail A

27 de Set de 2019

"US Social Services Compared" - I am hoping this course will help me out with a clear concept of US Social Services Compared. Thanks COURSERA for the such online access.

por Eyasu M

9 de Ago de 2021

I​ am a Human service profesioanl and student . This course has taught so many important insights that I can apply to my job now and the future. Very good course!

por Diana M

22 de Jun de 2020

Excellent information and well presented. Love the honors section that provides an opportunity for further learning and feedback from peers.

por Mushtaq M G

26 de Out de 2020

It is very true encouraging step to enhance educational skills and knowledge by doing this course.

por Syam S A

9 de Jan de 2020

Very informative. I am very new to Social Policy, so the grounding was very useful.

por Denise B

12 de Fev de 2021

Excellent content. Valuables knowledge about US social policy and welfare system.

por Ruben C

29 de Jun de 2019

Exceptional topics and Positive take-aways for our nations Welfare State

por Paulo

15 de Jun de 2019

Excellent course about the US welfare state in comparison with others.

por K L

12 de Dez de 2020

I have a greater understanding of the State Welfare system.

por Diane H

12 de Dez de 2019

Challenging class but also very informative!

por Loubna C

11 de Nov de 2021

very nice introduction to welfare state

por Robert B S M

6 de Jan de 2020

Good course... thanks.

por Michael L B J

17 de Ago de 2020

Un excelente curso.