Chevron Left
Voltar para Os Paradoxos de uma Guerra

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Os Paradoxos de uma Guerra da instituição Universidade de Princeton

4.6
estrelas
644 classificações
152 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Melhores avaliações

DW

14 de mar de 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

JW

11 de jan de 2020

Great course! This course has provided some great information and proposed some important philosophical questions. I wish there were exams and a certificate to go along with it too.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 152 Avaliações para o Os Paradoxos de uma Guerra

por Clifford L B

16 de jul de 2016

A different perspective of war that made me think very differently about the whole process and the reactions of people involved in any form of confrontational situation

por Gregg C

13 de mar de 2016

Solid presentation of ideas that SHOULD be considered before entering a war -- but sadly are usually ignored in the emotions of a mindless mass moment.

por Belle S

28 de jun de 2016

Good coverage and interesting lectures that provides a good history of all the warfare and on the social psychology. A fresh perspective I guess.

por whitney r

9 de jul de 2022

The course itself was fine, but it won't filter into my completed section though it says 100 percent.

por Peter T

24 de fev de 2016

A good course and very interesting perspectives. A pity Princeton does not issue certificates.

por Samantha S

18 de jul de 2022

Enjoyed this course, however, being made in 2014 it is a little dated in the later lectures.

por Derek D V

6 de set de 2016

I loved the elaborate structure, but they should provide a certificate

por Krishaan K

3 de fev de 2016

Although long-winded, it is a fantastic course w/fantastic insights!

por samantha

22 de jul de 2017

Great information shared in an easy to understand method.

por Smita P M

26 de jan de 2016

Great Course, explores the war in its different facets.

por Rahul

8 de set de 2015

Good information. Good discussion forum. Recommended.

por Mustafa Ü

17 de set de 2015

really introductal course ive utilized.thank you.

por Mike D

11 de set de 2015

I love the idea of a sociological view of war.

por Zeynep B

14 de dez de 2019

Nice but sometimes becomes too repetitive.

por Fumio S

24 de jan de 2016

I did enjoining this program. Many thanks.

por Janis A

4 de out de 2015

Good course, with a lot of information.

por javier b g

20 de jul de 2022

Interesante, extenso y muy didáctivo

por Antoine C

16 de jun de 2017

V

por Julie C

14 de jan de 2016

For an undergraduate course it's good - my only comment is on delivery - quotations given verbally might have been better if shown on screen to drive them home.

I hope the professor will do a military history course that analyzes war more particularly now that we have the broad strokes. My interest is piqued from this course and I want to know more about specific wars/battles. I am also interested in war prior to 1500, esp. ancient civilizations.

por Rui V

22 de set de 2016

Weekly quizzes would be great!

por Erez B

25 de nov de 2019

too many cliches, too little substance

por Bill W

12 de jun de 2018

The course content is very good and well delivered. Unfortunately, the forums are not replied to and you have to send months rejoining the close in order to get sufficient comments on your work to complete the course. In my case it took nine months just to finish, even though I completed the materials in under two months. It would be great if the backroom parts of the course were as good as the material and delivery.

por Christine L

2 de nov de 2015

It said it could be done on your schedule, but that is not true. I want to withdraw from this stupid course - it sucks.

por Wylie К י

20 de ago de 2015

My initial impressions are of astounding mediocrity. Amazes me how academic careers are made these days.

por Robert W M

4 de fev de 2016

After almost a year I am still waiting to receive my grade of 90%+ for c