Chevron Left
Voltar para Os Paradoxos de uma Guerra

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Os Paradoxos de uma Guerra da instituição Universidade de Princeton

4.6
estrelas
603 classificações
130 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Melhores avaliações

DW

Mar 15, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

JW

Jan 12, 2020

Great course! This course has provided some great information and proposed some important philosophical questions. I wish there were exams and a certificate to go along with it too.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Os Paradoxos de uma Guerra

por Itzhak G

Sep 10, 2015

Very interesting course. The first few weeks are little beat boring, discussing some features that are obvious, but as the course continues the questions become more untresting, especially those which concern war with politics. As a whole it is a very good course, which gives the student a broad understandung of the issue. recommended!!

por Chooi C Y

Jan 25, 2016

A fresh perspective to see the relation between wars and our societies. The notion that wars are always bad and to be avoided is challenged, and seemingly controversial idea of wars bringing benefit to the societies (at a cost) is discussed, quite convincingly.

por Paul F H

Oct 19, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I think I must have virtually done it on my own as there were no other interventions, certainly in recent weeks. A very thought provoking course and all credit to the Professor and those who helped him put the course together.

por GHOUSE B A

Dec 22, 2015

Specified subject and well explained view on WAR. Was also able to understand what are the other factors that for war. Being a Research and explorer this was one of the best learning that I had in 2015.

Thank you so much,

por Rubén A B P

Sep 01, 2015

An extremely interesting course, full of fascinating sociologycal and historical topics!

The only thing that wasn't that good about it was the difficulty to get some of books the instructor mentioned.

por Clifford L B

Jul 16, 2016

A different perspective of war that made me think very differently about the whole process and the reactions of people involved in any form of confrontational situation

por Gregory W C

Mar 14, 2016

Solid presentation of ideas that SHOULD be considered before entering a war -- but sadly are usually ignored in the emotions of a mindless mass moment.

por Belle S

Jun 28, 2016

Good coverage and interesting lectures that provides a good history of all the warfare and on the social psychology. A fresh perspective I guess.

por Peter T

Feb 24, 2016

A good course and very interesting perspectives. A pity Princeton does not issue certificates.

por Derek D V

Sep 06, 2016

I loved the elaborate structure, but they should provide a certificate

por Krishaan K

Feb 03, 2016

Although long-winded, it is a fantastic course w/fantastic insights!

por samantha

Jul 22, 2017

Great information shared in an easy to understand method.

por Smita P M

Jan 26, 2016

Great Course, explores the war in its different facets.

por Rahul

Sep 08, 2015

Good information. Good discussion forum. Recommended.

por Mustafa Ü

Sep 17, 2015

really introductal course ive utilized.thank you.

por Mike D

Sep 11, 2015

I love the idea of a sociological view of war.

por zeynep b

Dec 14, 2019

Nice but sometimes becomes too repetitive.

por Fumio S

Jan 24, 2016

I did enjoining this program. Many thanks.

por Janis A

Oct 04, 2015

Good course, with a lot of information.

por Antoine C

Jun 16, 2017

V

por Julie C

Jan 14, 2016

For an undergraduate course it's good - my only comment is on delivery - quotations given verbally might have been better if shown on screen to drive them home.

I hope the professor will do a military history course that analyzes war more particularly now that we have the broad strokes. My interest is piqued from this course and I want to know more about specific wars/battles. I am also interested in war prior to 1500, esp. ancient civilizations.

por Rui F V

Sep 22, 2016

Weekly quizzes would be great!

por Erez B

Nov 25, 2019

too many cliches, too little substance

por James K W

Sep 08, 2017

As a Vietnam Veteran, I believe war is when humankind caves in upon itself. It brings out the very worst of humanity, destruction of humanity and societies, manipulation of humankind, including minorities, women, and children for production of war resources. War shows the resilience of humankind from the worst of events, experiences and horrors.

The only good of war is the good inside mankind. War involves the destruction of humans. I believe the concept of this course is lunacy. The US Military is deterrence and preparation for war to defend America. Nevertheless, only barbarians celebrate war. James Kirk Wiggins (MSGT, USAF, RET)

por Bill W

Jun 12, 2018

The course content is very good and well delivered. Unfortunately, the forums are not replied to and you have to send months rejoining the close in order to get sufficient comments on your work to complete the course. In my case it took nine months just to finish, even though I completed the materials in under two months. It would be great if the backroom parts of the course were as good as the material and delivery.