Chevron Left
Voltar para Os Paradoxos de uma Guerra

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Os Paradoxos de uma Guerra da instituição Universidade de Princeton

4.6
575 classificações
125 revisões

Sobre o curso

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Melhores avaliações

JP

Jun 02, 2016

One of the best academic experiences I had.\n\nAs a soldier I would recomend it to my fellow soldiers and to my civillian friends so they could understand a little better the paradoxes of war.

DW

Mar 15, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Os Paradoxos de uma Guerra

By Catherine H

Mar 12, 2019

This is a really interesting and unique class! The professor is extremely knowledgeable about his field, and does an amazing job at explaining the sociology behind war.

By Henry-Claude B

Feb 28, 2019

I liked a lot this course.

Thank you for your humanism and bravo for yours skills.

By atta r m

Jan 28, 2019

Lovely course. Wonderful understanding of the Professor about War and its related implications. Thank you Professor. For the first time I fully understood the horror of holocaust.

By Ramon p

Jan 12, 2019

V

By Tom B

Oct 22, 2018

Outstanding! Very informative, nonpolitical and thought provoking.

By Emil

Aug 24, 2018

Done it. Nice and informative course.

By Alex

Jun 29, 2018

Amazing course!)

By Nichols J

Jun 15, 2018

Great class according to its objective, to study wars from a sociological point of view. There is perhaps a need for a deeper review from the military point of view and the eastern form of conflict, but such matters are beyond the scope of the course as the teacher says. It aroused curiosity on various subjects and will certainly help me in the masters!

By Timothy

Jun 12, 2018

Thank you, Miguel. I watched your videos with great interest. You and I are the same age so it was interesting hearing your perspectives on things. I have spent most of my life in the Defense industry, both in uniform and now as a contractor. While having never served in combat or seen it from up close, I found your research and application of the sociological aspects of war on a civilization as extraordinarily fascinating. Thank you! Tim

By Bill W

Jun 12, 2018

The course content is very good and well delivered. Unfortunately, the forums are not replied to and you have to send months rejoining the close in order to get sufficient comments on your work to complete the course. In my case it took nine months just to finish, even though I completed the materials in under two months. It would be great if the backroom parts of the course were as good as the material and delivery.

By Daithi M W

Mar 15, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

By Kateryna K

Feb 06, 2018

great course! the only thing I could advice to change is to make the course a bit shorter, a more compact

By Olga L

Dec 11, 2017

very interesting view and perspective on a sensitive and difficult subject

By Víctor F

Nov 27, 2017

Great lectures and great reading recommendations, i have ordered a couple of books from the bibliography and was not dissappointed.

By Pere T

Oct 08, 2017

It's a very interesting perspective of the war.

By William M

Oct 05, 2017

This is an outstanding course. I was not sure that I would be interested in the topic, but it turned out to be a very interesting course. It is a course about the sociology of war, but it also covers some military history, philosophy of war and psychology of war, which gives it an intriguing interdisciplinary spirit.

By James K W

Sep 08, 2017

As a Vietnam Veteran, I believe war is when humankind caves in upon itself. It brings out the very worst of humanity, destruction of humanity and societies, manipulation of humankind, including minorities, women, and children for production of war resources. War shows the resilience of humankind from the worst of events, experiences and horrors.

The only good of war is the good inside mankind. War involves the destruction of humans. I believe the concept of this course is lunacy. The US Military is deterrence and preparation for war to defend America. Nevertheless, only barbarians celebrate war. James Kirk Wiggins (MSGT, USAF, RET)

By Mariya G

Aug 11, 2017

Well-structured and organised course! I would recommend it to my colleagues.

By David D

Aug 06, 2017

One may surprise oneself in being interested in taking such a course. My experience with this course is highly positive. You learn world history in general over the last 1000 years plus a glimpse into earlier times as shaped by war.

I would say one becomes convinced of the merits of war in shaping society into larger, stable entities and actually encouraging peace and prosperity. Who would have agreed to that before taking this course! Bravo.

By cihan a

Aug 02, 2017

Perfect course.

By samantha

Jul 22, 2017

Great information shared in an easy to understand method.

By Patrick P

Jul 03, 2017

One of the best introductory courses. For a thoroughly understanding of the subject matter, you do need to read the additional texts (I would even recommend not only the given chapters, but the whole books).

By Antoine C

Jun 16, 2017

V

By Swen L

Mar 09, 2017

Interesting approach and good overview of the long history and development of the Western way of war.

A bit of a gap between the long historical development lines up until WW2 and the the last lectures about more recent events.

By Madeleine W

Mar 09, 2017

Really interesting course which allows for new insights.