Chevron Left
Voltar para Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan da instituição Universidade de TóquioUniversidade de Tóquio

4.8
estrelas
633 classificações
199 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Melhores avaliações

DP

8 de out de 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM

30 de nov de 2020

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 200 Avaliações para o Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

por Samantha E

22 de abr de 2022

V​ery interesting course and the professor knowledge made me kept my attention through the course.

por Prathit B

26 de jun de 2021

Very Good Course, I would recommend it to everyone who are looking for a good taste in literature

por Kam L

26 de nov de 2020

Excellent review of how words and pictures are integral to 19th century literary culture in Japan.

por Katrin W

22 de nov de 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course, while at the same time learning a lot about the subject.

por Steven T W

16 de mar de 2021

Great course with very interesting insight into art and literature in nineteenth century Japan.

por Giuliano B

16 de jan de 2021

This is a fascinating cultural course that I have learned a lot. I am very grateful. Thank you

por Shohei W

18 de mai de 2020

Very good overview of relationship between Japanese photography and illustrations and texts

por Aurea L R

10 de fev de 2019

It has been very interesting. I've learned a lot about a topic that I do not know

Thank's!!!

por Ricardo M

30 de out de 2017

A great course with plenty of interesting data and delivered by a master in the subject.

por yui k

12 de jun de 2020

Watanabe Kazan's insights gave me something for current Black Lives Matter movements.

por Sandra R d C

25 de jun de 2020

The content is very interesting and well explained and many beautiful images, too.

por Janna T K

26 de fev de 2018

An excellent course worth of seeing for anyone who is interested in oriental art.

por Daniel Y

19 de nov de 2020

Fascinating, well edited, served in easy to digest bits, and very communicative.

por Mauricio U C

16 de jan de 2021

Very enjoyable and full of interesting information. Allowed me to learn a lot.

por Tala B

7 de fev de 2018

An amazing and interesting demonstrations from Japanese visual art and culture

por Hayley H

18 de nov de 2017

Love the professor! He explains literature and arts so clearly and elegantly.

por Мальчикова С П

31 de out de 2018

Thank you so much for this course! I had a great pleasure when I passed it.

por Brian C S

6 de dez de 2017

Recommended for those interested in studying 19th century Japanese history

por Spiros X

20 de abr de 2019

great lecture. I have learn so many for Japanese culture and history.

thx!

por Karolina U

25 de out de 2020

Very useful and interesting for me as a East Asian culture specialist :)

por Tran T H

19 de mai de 2021

甚だ有意義なコースだと思います。それを通して、19世紀に日本での芸術と文化に関する多くの見識がはっきり分かります。ありがとうございました~~

por Carmen

21 de fev de 2019

Very interesting introduction to a subject I was very ignorant about!

por Seif A K

13 de set de 2021

It was Fabulous, Looking forward to more courses on Japanese Culture

por Melina C K

6 de mar de 2019

Very interesting course! Great to start understanding Japanese art!

por Sagan-Indiana C

10 de ago de 2020

Loved it! Inspired a whole new literary area of research for me.