Chevron Left
Voltar para Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan da instituição Universidade de TóquioUniversidade de Tóquio

4.8
estrelas
633 classificações
199 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Melhores avaliações

DP

8 de out de 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM

30 de nov de 2020

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 200 Avaliações para o Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

por Diana

24 de jun de 2022

A​mazing introductory course into the art and literature of 19th century Japan. I couldn't get enough of this fascinating subject. Thank you!

por Hiranmoy L

16 de out de 2017

Great course, excellent teaching by sensei. ALthough subtitles sometimes are wrongly interpreted (like 'major restoration' nstead of 'Meiji'

por Andrea K L

28 de dez de 2017

Excellent introduction, I enjoyed this course tremendously, very informative, learned a lot.

Many thanks to Professor Campbell and his team!

por Bert S

25 de jul de 2020

Surprisingly interesting to me. I first thought it had a limited scope but that gradually proved wrong. Thank you for creating the course.

por Jerome H

10 de jul de 2020

面白かった. It is the first time i understood that combination of images and poems or words was a specificity of Japan in the 19-20th century.

por Itziar B

19 de nov de 2020

I really enjoyed and learned, maybe a little short ...

Right now, I want to read a lot of about the themes suggested !!!

Thanks a lot !!!

por Raul R

31 de mai de 2021

This is a one of a kind splendid course, where you'll be able to see some of the 19th and early 20th century art and culture history.

por William D

29 de dez de 2020

This course provided me a perspective on writing and imagery that I had not considered. A welcome addition to my knowledge of Japan!

por Yujin L

2 de nov de 2018

the lecturer is knowledgeable and engaging. it greatly enriched my appreciation of japanese arts and culture. i highly recommend it.

por Justyna P

4 de jan de 2021

Excellent quality resources (presentations, videos), perfect instruction (the lecturer), and a very, very interesting topic itself.

por Sevde B

28 de nov de 2020

It was definitely a great course! I've learned so much from this course and I'm willing to learn more about all of these subjects.

por Marina d L

9 de fev de 2021

Very interesting, it is a side of Japanese history that I have never got in touch with as a brazilian. Thank you for the classes!

por Evisa T

10 de set de 2021

S​uper interesting course, the subject is limited, but that doesn't take at all from the amount of information we get. Thank you

por Anuja S

27 de jan de 2021

Thoroughly fascinating, well-structured, and detailed. Of great value to anyone interested in Japanese history/literature/art.

por Alice L

2 de jul de 2021

​This was such an amazing course and I highly recommend this to people interested in this topic. It was so fascinating!!

por Maria J T P

18 de set de 2020

It was really interesting, I learned a lot about Japan and its ways of expressing true human feelings, I really loved it

por Victor S

21 de mar de 2021

What an interesting course! A lot of quality content, I'm really happy with the experience and insights provided by it.

por Ozge C

15 de out de 2017

It was a truly enlightening and highly enjoyable course with an amazing lecturer. My gratitude to all who was involved.

por Daniela M P

16 de jan de 2022

The course has very interesting information about Japanese art, its history, influences and historical processes.

por Susan S

27 de ago de 2020

The course was fascinating and well presented. I look forward to other courses by Mr. Robert Campbell. Thank you.

por Javier A P

30 de jul de 2019

I really like Japan, and I wanted to learn a little more about its culture, so this course has served me a lot.

por Fanny W G

9 de abr de 2019

I love this course. Amazing content provided in very easy to understand lessons! I enjoyed every minute of it!!

por Vira T

10 de mai de 2018

Gives a deep and detailed image of the period. Helped a lot in my understanding writers of 19th cent in Japan.

por Eniko M

11 de nov de 2020

It was a very interesting course on japanese culture - could proceed were quickly and finish it in 2 weeks.

por Priscilla N

29 de nov de 2020

I really enjoyed listening to the lectures. The examples shown were uniformly interesting and beautiful.