Chevron Left
Voltar para Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan da instituição Universidade de TóquioUniversidade de Tóquio

4.8
estrelas
297 classificações
89 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Melhores avaliações

SC

Sep 06, 2019

It has expanded my views not only on Japan Visual and Literary Culture but also has open for me a new way of looking at portraits in different cultures and times. Thank you so much

VC

Jan 10, 2018

Very knowledgeable lecturer with a gentle humble voice. Much was learned about literary portraits from 18th/19th centuries to literary photographs in the early 20th century.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

por Brian C S

Dec 07, 2017

Recommended for those interested in studying 19th century Japanese history

por spyridon c

Apr 20, 2019

great lecture. I have learn so many for Japanese culture and history.

thx!

por Carmen

Feb 22, 2019

Very interesting introduction to a subject I was very ignorant about!

por Melina C K

Mar 06, 2019

Very interesting course! Great to start understanding Japanese art!

por Juyoung R

Jan 07, 2018

Very usful and informative course. Highly recommanded for

por JOHN Q

Sep 23, 2017

Enjoyable and interesting course. Thanks so much!

por Aleksandr Z

Aug 29, 2019

Engaging lecturer. Unique and interesting content.

por Syn-Ti L

Jan 06, 2018

Great introduction to Japanese art and literature!

por Luiza R V d C

Feb 15, 2019

Incrível, me ajudou muito com a minha pesquisa!

por Alena R

Nov 02, 2018

Thank you! Brilliant course, very inspiring.

por Desmond Y

Jan 04, 2018

Comprehensive and precise in the teaching.

por Barbara K

Sep 21, 2018

charming course, beautifully presented

por Clarisa L

Apr 22, 2020

very good explanation and sources!

por Monika

Apr 18, 2020

Incredibly beautiful

Interesting

por Juan M C M

Apr 24, 2020

Ha sido de gran ayuda!!

por Lisheng H

Dec 10, 2017

Unique scope of history

por Vy N

Mar 16, 2019

I love this course!!!

por jordi o j

Dec 07, 2017

so interesting info!

por Douglas Q

May 18, 2020

Very Interesting!

por Sebastian G

Dec 01, 2017

Excellent Course!

por Kleber L d S

Oct 24, 2019

Muito bom.

por Gabriela A C

Dec 30, 2017

Great.

por Lee Y S J

Dec 03, 2017

I found the course content very interesting and the delivery generally very easy to understand. The professor also showed his wealth of knowledge in the subject matter through his lectures. If there is one thing which I was unhappy about, it has to be the subtitles for the lectures which were riddled with mistakes and the Japanese terms had a fair number of spelling mistakes. If this can be improved, it will help the students learn better. On a related note, it would be good to have the Japanese names of the individuals featured in the course as I find that there are limited resources in English if I want to do further reading on these people and would need their names in Japanese script to find resources in Japanese.

por Renee N

Apr 07, 2018

Very suitable as my first online course. The content was very interesting and taught me a new way to appreciate and learn from different pieces of art. Assignments were generally very light and could be completed very quickly. However, some parts of the lecture can be slightly hard to comprehend at first. I find myself reading through the transcripts (they're really helpful!) again sometimes just to try and let the content sink in further. Anyone interested in art/history/culture and how they intersect should definitely check this out!!

por Jesús F P H

Jan 28, 2020

Very good lecturer. Interesting.

As someone who has studied art before (and is acquainted with Japanese art, specially from the Edo period), the course doesn't evolve much; revolving all around the same thesis. However, the examples tackled are beautiful and greatly represent the popular Japanese art-culture of the time. Very satisfied, although I would've liked something new thrown into the table around the last module. Recommended.