Chevron Left
Voltar para Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Visual Elements of User Interface Design da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.7
estrelas
4,912 classificações
1,205 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Melhores avaliações

BB

31 de mar de 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

JN

20 de nov de 2018

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

Filtrar por:

1151 — 1175 de 1,228 Avaliações para o Visual Elements of User Interface Design

por Ana A

7 de fev de 2022

T​he whole course is centered around doing four assignments and buling your own project which is great. However, assignments are not reviewed by the stuff, but by two random peers. The peers can be really competent and put an effort into reviewing your assignment, but they also can be really non competent (to the point they didn't even remotley understand what the assignment was) or too lazy to write down the answers. One peer copied random song lyrics to the blank spaces where he was supposed to comment my last assignment!

O​ther than that, course is well structured and begginer friendly. It's focused on things like colors, shapes and grid. There's nothing about working with softwares like Figma or Photoshop (in case you are interested in that).

por Sophie

21 de jan de 2020

The videos, information in this course are informative and suitable for beginners.

HOWEVER. Having peers grade your work really cheapens the entire experience and makes me wonder what I'm paying for. I would often be marked down just because my "peer" didn't understand the assignment criteria, or doesn't comprehend English well enough.

What on earth is the point of being graded at all, when you're being assigned a mark by someone who has no idea what the assignment criteria even are? And Coursera's only advice is to waste my time by re-submitting the assignment. Just remove the requirement for reviews altogether... so redundant.

por Julia H

2 de mar de 2020

The concepts covered were basic and not as specific as I would have hoped. This was more of a course about what general elements are required or suggested in an interface. I did not like the peer review process very much. I would have preferred a final submission to an instructor or a professional in design to get real feedback. I can only give people reviews based on my personal preferences since I have not taken courses on design theory or user interface/user experience conventions. I would have liked to see more resources on current UI/UX trends.

por vanessa a

21 de ago de 2020

Only made it to the end of the second week so my opinion is strictly based off of only the first 2 weeks of the program.

I decided to stop because it was not at all engaging content. If you want to know every single aspect of the definition of UI/UX then this is the class to take. But if you are like me and want to actually get your hands dirty and learn the design process in Photoshop, illustrator and InDesign then you will be let down. I personally need hands on learning and less explanation.

por Amita B

27 de jun de 2021

It was fine, but not exactly what I was looking to learn. This course is more about learning how to use your existing graphic design skills to create a moodboard, pattern library and sample interface, you also learn about how to make design decisions based on design principles and functionality. However, I wanted a course that focuses more on understanding the user and creating a user-based design, and this course does not provide that. I've started the Google certificate instead.

por Diego F

10 de jun de 2020

I felt the course to be a bit basic. The course's objective for me is to start making you think as an UI designer; if you have - or think you have - a taste about UI then this course might be expendable. You won't get any hard truths or do's and don'ts. They give you the base concepts and you have to learn by doing, seeing other designs and sort of find your own style with that knowledge. So, in a way the real work is done after the course and by experimentation.

por Sean B

4 de mai de 2021

The videos are informative but too monotone and too many large graphics. It's too hard on my eyes and it is hard to concentrate on the videos. Also, there were times when people wouldn't do peer reviews properly and it wouldn't help me learn much. It would be helpful if the instructors can have some time to view them as well. Real learning comes from learning from your own creations and mistakes.

por Sandie X

2 de dez de 2020

The videos were helpful and I learned new things but I feel that some things taught in the videos were repetitive. I also did not like the peer review aspect of the course, I did not receive much helpful advice / criticism. Basically anyone can give you whatever grade they want. I had someone give me a 0 for everything on one week's project, just because they couldn't open my pdf file.

por John A M

23 de out de 2019

I like the material that was presented and I learned some useful information that will help me with the rest of the courses. The one thing that I did not like was that all assignments were only peer reviewed. It would have been nice for an instructor to give his/her feedback. Another thing that wold have been nice to see were more real world examples as the instructor went over things.

por Rishan D M

29 de abr de 2020

I did expect more from the initial course. I gave it 3 star because I felt like it was all theory and no practical information was given as such. All the assignments I did were from my practical understanding from experiences. I'd expect a more hands-on approach and case-study learning from these type of courses. Anyways the overall course was good and workflow was neatly designed.

por Jerry S

29 de ago de 2020

The course material is BRILLIANT. I strenuously disagree with the structure and results from my peer review. Next course will be examination only. I want more frequent and difficult tests and authority-reviewed items. If I could go back and not pass on the feedback I've received I would. Very disappointed -- and, again, the course lectures and presentations are terrific.

por Maryam e G

30 de ago de 2021

i really liked the content and was very informative , maybe the videos has a bit of redundency sometimes that makes me lose focus but the material and information itself is very useful , however the grading system of peer reviewing does not seem to work , the grading is very subjective and done by people taking this course with me , not by the professionals

por Deleted A

1 de jul de 2020

I thought the flow and breakdown of content was clean and straight forward. In my opinion, the course was a bit easy and basic. I like the note high lighter feature!

Overall, i was not too happy with this course, maybe it was the few peers that left vague comments on my project but i thought there would be more instructor feedback.

por Georgina M

24 de fev de 2020

Is a pretty great course to help you get an entry nowledge about UX.

However, i'm not sure that I agree with the point system. There are other students reviewing your work. I didn't see any professor reviewing your work, so your final score becomes less important.

Beside that, is a great course!

por SONYA T

12 de out de 2020

Boring instructor, boring visuals, really hard to engage and not fall asleep. As a Ux/ui course the graphics should improve significantly and the voice of the instructor is a snooze feast. I feel like the content was ok but he keeps referring to his old student’s work.

por Marianna P

22 de mai de 2020

Liked the idea of peer assignment but i also wanted the feedback of a professional. Unfortunately i am in this industry and i already know a lot of things than others. I am reviewing many assignments in order to help others. I would like to have someone like me too.

por ANNA L M

7 de jun de 2020

I there's a bug in the peer review section. I submitted a complete requirement then I got zero scores from 2 peer review. I think they didn't see my submission. It also happened to me, I got to review another submission without the attached assignment.

por Mir R

10 de dez de 2020

The material was excellently laid out. My main issue was with the grading system, since I had to resubmit my final assignment with some people in the class grading it as if this was a senior project instead of the introductory course that it is.

por Iván J

30 de ago de 2021

While it provided a lot of good theoretical content, a lot of it relies on outdated scenarios/interfaces. It is a good course for a super beginner, but not for people like me who already know the theory but want to improve their UI skills.

por Tassawar A

9 de mar de 2022

Over all the basic of this course is very good. I am giving 3 stars because the way of explaining it on screen is not good. It can be more catchy. They should use little bit animations for explanations. But the course is informative.

por Swaroopkrishna N

6 de jun de 2020

I loved this course. But the thing that pisses me off is the peer to peer review, the grade is just so unfair. The peers are inexperienced, they do not have any ability or right to judge other peers. Grades matter to users.

por Dalilah B

21 de abr de 2020

The theory part is very well done and the explanation in every video is perfect. I regret a bit the fact that the only judges are peers regarding the exams. It should have been 50/50 with a professional part.

por BELARBI M A

21 de abr de 2020

useful for beginners who have no background knowledge in UI/UX DESIGN and it's helpful to start your own career in app or web design.

you have to review peer grading idea because i think it's not really fair.

por Mirela C

21 de jun de 2021

Course is pretty basic. For a person who already has some UI design knowledge it will be too easy. The information and visual examples are very outdated. The voice recording is of poor quality.