Chevron Left
Voltar para Design global de video games

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Design global de video games da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.4
estrelas
579 classificações
148 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Melhores avaliações

SA

Sep 21, 2019

i really loved this course. it inspired me to be more innovative and think out of the box. it changed my mindset a lot. so thanks to my instructor and my peers. your words meant a lot to me.

RC

Jan 23, 2019

I'm not a effective learner so I can't get much from it, but I certainly learn some rules for building world, I would review these contents some days, thank you so much for your teaching!

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 141 Avaliações para o Design global de video games

por Petros K

Dec 03, 2015

great and informative course :) really enjoyed it

por Zineb B

Jun 03, 2017

Really valuable and informative course.

por Ahmed A E M

Jul 20, 2017

it is useful but very very basics

por Muhammad U

Apr 10, 2017

Simply Awesome.

por Mehar S

Apr 22, 2020

good

por Francois B

Nov 23, 2015

I am all for short videos but here it is a little bit too short... Tehchnically there is about 1h of videos for the 4 weeks of this course and no real documentations to review.

Hence you get few pointers on how to design game wold for video games and really case studies in my opinion... A full review of one or two games would have been a great addition.

por Deborah M M

Dec 10, 2015

Short, simplistic. Could be done in a week. Very much a beginner's course for those who have not mindfully observed the game worlds in which they play. The student may come away with a few new ideas and the greatest value is in having peers review the homework assignments. Worth the time, if you quickly breeze through it.

por David M

Oct 11, 2019

There are are very useful tips and ideas in this class and I appreciated completing the assignments. I have a much better vision of my game world now than I did beforehand. However, the pace and vocabulary of the teacher was at times confusing or redundant, making the process of taking notes much more complicated.

por Travis A

Oct 19, 2016

The content from the instructor is very, very brief. Maybe this is just a simple introduction course but it also seems like the topics are covered in a very vague, abstract way with little exploration on a deeper level. The assignments are really good though, great projects for sparking the creative process.

por André W L O

Aug 22, 2017

to me, this course was a little obvious... one thing here, other there... it is not a bad course... but I expected a little more...

about the teacher, he is good, I like it (4 stars)... but the content is very "lightweight".

por Chandan B

Jun 12, 2017

The course is good for learning how to organize and visualize, however I was expecting some sketching assignments also. Such kind of assignment which actually helps the learner draw together a world bit by bit.

por Karl C R

Jan 12, 2016

Easy to follow and well-packed with good information and tips, but I would like to see some kind of quiz-function along the course to test the knowledge I've been learning.

por Francisco N

Dec 28, 2015

The course is fun but the content is too general. I like to know more methods and technics to develop a game world, considering genres, mechanics and gameplay options.

por Naila Z W

Jun 03, 2020

The instructure has language barrier and its making hard to understand, but week 2 and 3 and 4 has some really great homeworks and enlightment

por Juan C D M

Dec 24, 2015

The course is ok, but it doesn't give any certificate of completition for free users (something that many other course do give).

por Nuno F A C

Jun 24, 2018

Substitles are bad, it's hard to understand most of the times what is being said. Also, the narration could be better

por Andrey K

Dec 21, 2015

I wish the course would give me more structured information and examples of applications.

por Alvaro M

May 24, 2016

The assignments and theory are interesting enough to get you started on world design.

por Jaime R

Dec 22, 2015

Useful but as with the first course of the specialization very light on content

por Aditya z

Jun 30, 2019

getting a review in the peer grade assignment is so time cosuming

por Rafael R S R

May 11, 2020

The assignments are good, but the videos don't teach much.

por Daniel H G

Feb 06, 2016

it's okay,

por Amshumaan R

May 30, 2016

Unlike the other two lecturers in this course, this module's lecture is very very bad. I always felt like coming back and learning more with the other two lectures but with this one I had to force myself to complete the lessons. First of all his English is bad, sometimes you cant understand what he means even with subtitles. He repeats many things through out the course and he tries to teach by asking questions all the time. As a guy who takes and make his own notes, I found it really difficult to put together a sentence he was saying. It seems that nobody proof read his lectures before posting it on coursera. I feel that it was done blindly and in a rushed way. If possible can you please change the videos and also the script. Please make it more understandable.

por sean o

Jul 21, 2017

I found the videos hard to follow and the homework was not very clear or particularly engaging. I think the other courses had a much better framework to understand the topic. I still don't know what are the key elements of a game world or how to judge if one world is good or bad or why it is good or bad.

por Alexandra

Dec 15, 2015

I was a little bit dissapointed with this course because, in my opinion, it is not structured well, it is just an amount of questions we need to think about. It has ended but I have the feeling I still have no good idea about what is world design for video games...