Chevron Left
Voltar para Design global de video games

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Design global de video games da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.4
estrelas
577 classificações
148 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Melhores avaliações

SA

Sep 21, 2019

i really loved this course. it inspired me to be more innovative and think out of the box. it changed my mindset a lot. so thanks to my instructor and my peers. your words meant a lot to me.

RC

Jan 23, 2019

I'm not a effective learner so I can't get much from it, but I certainly learn some rules for building world, I would review these contents some days, thank you so much for your teaching!

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 140 Avaliações para o Design global de video games

por Benjamin B H

Mar 03, 2016

Very good and informative course. I liked it mostly because of how it explains the ways one can create the video game world we desire and what must be taken into account. I already had prior knowledge on how to create a video game world that was consistent, but this reinforced what I already knew and took it a bit further. Very recommended for those who are beginners and want to learn how to create a world that feels real and is consistent throughout a game.

por Karin V

Mar 08, 2016

In general the course was really good, I just had the problem that some points weren't as clearly explained as I wished them to be. It's a bit hard to follow up, since sometimes the examples are not what is asked for in the homework and there's nothing to compare your work to, so the student as well as the grading peers are not always sure what is important in the assignment. Add some more examples and explain them directly, I think that would help a lot. :)

por Taciane M

Sep 11, 2019

This course has nice materials for reading and, although I had some difficulty understanding the instructor's pronunciation, it was effective in really getting me to think about the design of a game world of mine. It was very interesting to develop a map for my world and to structure its elements (besides a quick narrative of how it would begin) for the assignments!

por Farnoud F

Jan 30, 2016

Compare to Last Course in this Specialization this course lacked the good pace through the assignments, they were out of pace or out of tune, and also there were mostly general talks more than tips to make the student get in to the flow and create a better work, All in All it was Great but compared to the course before it, it had issues :D

por Bojan P

Mar 11, 2016

Even though it is a great course by itself, I have to look at it as a part of the whole specialization, and in that context it's just a little bit more abstract and undefined than the previous ones.

All in all, great course and fantastic specialization for now.

por Ethan A

Oct 15, 2019

It is often hard to hear what the lecturer is saying because of his thick accent but his information is very informative and useful. It helped me understand my worlds better. Recommend, but I do say you should look at the subtitles below the video sometimes.

por Mustafa A K

May 21, 2018

The lessons were pretty well designed and the material was sufficient, but (not meant to be rude) it was a bit distracting when the tutor pronounced and accented the words a bit weirdly. Nevertheless, great course.

por E. C C

Aug 14, 2017

Really enjoyed this class. I am a very visual person and this class was much more fun and a bit easier as I could express my ideas visually much more easily than If I had to write everything down.

por 王恺越

Dec 19, 2017

The assignments are great but the videos don't seem well organized for me. They are just a bunch of tips for world designing and are not systematic.

por Juan D M

May 16, 2016

Very intresting and fun, learned a lot. I just wish there´d be more examples of finished designers worlds and how they look like.

por Juan J Á S

Jan 28, 2016

The teacher is a litlle abstract. Maybe he would improve himself if he would give more tangible things, as methods.

por Regina P

Jul 01, 2020

The only problem are the peer reviews; most of the time I only receive one word reviews, or no criticism at all.

por Fabricio N B

Jan 02, 2016

I really enjoyed the course.

Opened my eyes for many things that I didn't gave much though while design my games.

por Lu M

Feb 20, 2017

The teacher guided us to the basic of game world design. Give us the material of how to design the game world.

por Diego

Feb 01, 2017

Very useful to develop worlds and enviroments, not only for videogames, but for all kind of media.

por Juan C L R

Jun 17, 2019

I very basic, I would like to learn how to create a deeper world but still I loved the course

por SFUA

Sep 01, 2016

Contents were short and great but some tools and practicle s/w should be introduced in it.

por sebastian c

Nov 28, 2015

i really like the material, i feel that i learning the basic of video game development

por Alex M

Nov 17, 2016

Good course content. However, the classes feel a little short for such a long topic.

por Zheng L

Jun 28, 2018

cool class, I`ve learned some principles to create game world from this class

por Julian A

Oct 30, 2018

You could improve it a little more making the videos more dynamic.

por Aaron S

Dec 18, 2015

I had good assignments, but less content than I expected.

por Deiverson J L d S

Mar 23, 2017

Excelent! But I miss the interaction with the teacher.

por Jatin G

Jun 26, 2020

Great course, really helped me shape my game world.

por Petros K

Dec 03, 2015

great and informative course :) really enjoyed it