Chevron Left
Voltar para Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

Story and Narrative Development for Video Games, California Institute of the Arts

4.6
636 classificações
157 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

Melhores avaliações

por CS

Dec 31, 2015

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

por DA

Nov 07, 2017

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

Filtrar por:

147 avaliações

por Ruaan Grobler

Nov 30, 2018

Best part of this specialization

por V.B.Srevarshan

Nov 07, 2018

This course will set you off on your journey to become a video game story writer.

por Julian Arroyave

Oct 30, 2018

I love the material on this course, it really helps to improve. However, the peer evaluation system is the worse option for this course, only one person evaluates your work, and sometimes you must ask for help for the evaluation because no one will do it for default as its supposed to happen. Coursera needs to find a solution for this.

por Joshua van de Vrie

Oct 22, 2018

This course helped me learn the basics of storytelling, and I felt that with only 20 hours spent on this course I have grown a lot in this department. I would recommend this course to anyone who's into storytelling for video games.

por Tatiana Warkentin

Sep 20, 2018

Great course content but only 3 stars because after being finished for over a month I am still waiting for someone to review my final assignment.

por Daniel Alejandro Aguilar Gonzalez

Sep 14, 2018

It really helped me understand the basics of what I was trying to do. Great course

por Breanne Carlson

Sep 07, 2018

My problems are moreso regarding my peers, as the course itself is fantastic, and this presenter is by far the most enjoyable to listen to and therefore easiest to absorb information from.

The bulk of the assignments being submitted by my peers shows little to no effort at all (a shocking quantity of which being directly copy-pasted from Wikipedia or outright blank fields), and yet my own assignments are being nit-picked to a disheartening degree. Enthusiasm and attempting to go above and beyond the requirements is frequently punished, and if I'm busy due to work or focusing on other courses and end up needing to submit later, I've had assignments reviewed by a single person; since there are no additional opinions to provide an average, my entire grade hinges on the opinions of a sole peer. I feel that assignments shouldn't be allowed to be counted as graded until they receive a set amount of reviews to allow for a peer average. We're students, so no single one of us is qualified to be a end-all-be-all judge of one another.

I feel that I must scrutinize Coursera itself in that this is a poorly-balanced system of grading, which should in all honesty be done by faculty. Seeing as how we're not paying for staff to perform the grading, I fail to see how this merits an ongoing subscription when the experience is equitable to purchasing a DVD set and book on a DIY course which one could share with a friend and turn to one another for peer review, without the looming stressor of arbitrary deadlines.

This is very disappointing.

por Luis Escorcia

Jul 05, 2018

loved it

por Nana Marfo

Jun 19, 2018

I really enjoyed the course!

por 高飞

Apr 25, 2018

这个课程非常有趣,而且能够扩展你的写作技巧。不仅仅是制作游戏,有志于成为专业作家的学生也可以尝试学习一下。注意:有少量课程的视频没有中文字幕,中国学生可能会有一些理解困难。

This course is very interesting and can expand your writing skills. Not just making games, students who are interested in becoming professional writers can also try to learn.