Chevron Left
Voltar para Version Control with Git

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Version Control with Git da instituição Atlassian

4.8
estrelas
902 classificações
248 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Version Control with Git course provides you with a solid, hands-on foundation for understanding the Git version control system. Git is open source software originally created by Linus Torvalds. Git manages team files for large and small projects. This allows the team to continuously improve its product. It is used by most major technology companies, and is assumed knowledge for many modern programming and IT jobs. It is a core component of DevOps, continuous delivery pipelines and cloud-native computing. You could also use Git to manage the many continuously improving revisions of that book that you are writing. In this course, you will not learn everything there is to know about Git, but you will build a strong conceptual understanding of the technology, and afterward will be able to confidently dig deeper on any topic that interests you. This course assumes no previous knowledge of Git, but if you do have experience with it, you may find this course to be both useful and challenging. This is especially true if you currently "know just enough Git to be dangerous". There are two paths in this course. Both rely heavily on hands-on labs. One path assumes that you have experience using a command line interface, and the other path uses the Sourcetree graphical client. If you are not experienced with a command line, we highly suggest that you go through the Sourcetree path. Eventually, you might want to go through both paths, so that you can decide which tool to use for specific tasks. Besides, repetition is good for learning :) You can watch the videos and take the quizzes from your phone if you want, but the hands-on labs require you to have a Windows or Mac computer. If you use the command line path through the course, you can also use Linux. This course uses Bitbucket (bitbucket.org) as the hosted provider for remote Git repositories. Bitbucket is free for teams of up to 5 people, including private repositories. However, most of the knowledge that you gain in this course applies to Git itself, and you can apply this knowledge to other hosted Git providers (such as GitHub). This course tries to be as concise as possible. It will probably take you about 5-10 hours to go through one of the two paths, but your mileage may vary....

Melhores avaliações

ML

Mar 28, 2018

Great course, should be a pre-requisite or additional reading to any intro data science course using Git. Straight-forward, not overly taxing to your time, and full of practical application exercises.

RB

Nov 26, 2019

This is a great course, i.e. very pedagogical, a nice structure, a lot of practise material and gives a very solid base for working with git. I highly recomend to anyone wanting to pickup git/github

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Version Control with Git

por Nicolas S V

Apr 08, 2018

This course it wasn't challenging for me and if you already have experience using GIT I don't recommend you to take it. I finished the whole course in one hour or so. If you are experienced on GIT you can just go directly to the assignments and take them, they are quite easy. They say that "Developers and members of IT (Information Technology) are the primary audience", they should clarify that this course is for beginners.

por Chunhui G

Jun 16, 2019

The course is well-organized. There are a few suggestions: 1. provide download link for the slides used in this course because the hands-on instruction didn't cover all the knowledge in the lecture. 2. more knowledge about revert and reset should be included. There should be a higher-level course after this one talking more about a real-world project. Again, great course!

por Ilya R

May 09, 2018

I liked the 'Version Control with Git' course from Atlassian because I had long wanted to master software version control via Git technology. Until the course was completed, I gained information about Git only scrappy, sometimes reading articles and questions on StackOverflow.

The course gave me an insight into Git's basic concepts and how I can organize my work in the software development team and opensource projects. Before I taken the course, the term "pull request" remained mysterious to me. The course helped to understand how "pull request merge" can be integrated into Feature Branching Workflow or Gitflow workflow.

Also, I had a barrier in trying Github alternatives. I examined Bitbucket and liked it very much for private projects.

I recommend a course for all beginners.

por Lyle S

Mar 25, 2020

I got a lot out of this course. The material was well organized and presented well. I knew very little about git, and now I'm interacting well with the others in my company on this topic.

Suggestions for the future:

I would force people to use both the command line and the desktop git client. Both are worth knowing; the command line is more arcane and drives a lot of people to the desktop clients (like me). However, it is worth knowing. And, its a big jump from the weekly homework to the final exam. I would provide more information to the GitHub workflow.

But, very good. I've recommended the class to others at my company.

por Gregory H

Apr 08, 2020

A very, very good course!

This course places importance on understanding concepts behind the use of git commands rather than just describing git commands and their effects on files as too many other lesser tutorials do. All important basic concepts are presented in a clear, step-by-step manner allowing a complete beginner to use git commands with confidence. This confidence arises from the understanding of why git commands work instead of just knowing what they do.

Knowing these basic concepts will allow me to teach myself more about git just by reading the standard manual pages rather than having to resort to tutorials.

por Marianna G

Oct 15, 2018

Great course! Despite my previous experience with Git/GitHUB I have learned a lot. This course clarified a few confusing points for me. Many thanks to instructors and organizers!

One suggestion for future sessions.

When working with multiple branches, it is sometimes necessary to check the differences between local branches as well as local and remote branches. So, I think adding one more module to address the use of git diff/difftool would be very helpful.

Thanks again for a wonderful course!

por Paige M

Jun 25, 2018

Learning both tools, Sourcetree and Command Line, were extremely helpful and relevant to my work flow with my remote team. In fact in the middle of this course, our team was given additional training on rebasing, and it was so gratifying that I understood how it worked. Videos and lessons here concise, pertinent and well-produced. Repeating the material, from SourceTree to CLI, with its nuances made the work -- and my progress -- more indelible. This will last.

por Kristian L J

Feb 07, 2019

I have used Git at work for a couple of years now. Despite this, I found some things in this course that I did not know like different Git work flows, a better understanding of the internal workings of Git, as well as other ways of merging (like squash merge). Can highly recommend this course to people who are new to Git as well as people with Git experience who never got the full Git tour. Very good lectures and assignments.

por Himanshu A

Apr 25, 2018

This was an amazing course. I have taken many MOOC, but after a very long (last I would say was CS50 - from Harvard, by David J. Malan) I found a course so interesting and informative. I have also watched the GIT YouTube videos and other stuff so I can confidently say that if someone is looking to build a solid foundation on GIT VCS then I think there is no better course to take than this.

High recommended.

por Gitesh C

Sep 05, 2019

Amazing course. I highly recommend every software developer to take this course. Extremely well structured and informative. The best part was the Lab. Wish they had a couple of more weeks of curriculum and covered topics like resetting head and cherrypicking. Too Good already! I used to struggle a lot with Git and I can proudly say my concepts are far more clear after taking this course. A must do!

por Riley M

Jul 21, 2019

A fantastic course for not only learning how to effectively use Git from the command line but in visualizing Git's DAG structure and its elements. Yes, you will learn what DAG (Directed Acyclic Graph) means in the course!

Our team is new to implementing source control for development on our automation testing platform, so this course will help us to use git effectively.

por Muhammad U

Aug 09, 2019

This is a great course if you want to get started with Git. The course instructors have done wonderfully well to streamline the course content. The practice labs, visual aids and tutorials illustrate the concepts in a clear manner. Experience with version control systems is a must have sill these days and if you want to get started, this is the course for you.

por Savita S

Aug 13, 2019

I really like this course because of 1. The contents of this course are very rich. 2. The transcript is very useful. 3. The quiz is very tricky to answer. 4. If we follow along with this course then we will by heart all concepts explained in this course. 5. Hand-on exercise is self-explanatory. 6. The basic concept of Git is explained very nicely.

por Vijayaraghavan

Mar 06, 2020

Best introductory course on Git available on the internet. Precise and concise videos. The transcript is useful for reviewing the content again later. Meaningful check points and the hands on lab for all videos help reinforce the topics explained in the videos. The assessment gives confidence as we progress. Thank you very much for this course.

por Shyam P

Aug 04, 2019

Not bad but needs overhaul to make more sense! In terms of the variable names or resource naming of the files and commit messages and so forth - this fileA - commit message add fileA - and the relative obscurity of reading the assignment has to be fixed and given a make over!!! I could barely understand the assignment :) - Cheers

por Manas S

Feb 07, 2019

before taking this course i was not at all aware about how git works and what it does. after this course i am well versed with git and i functionality and how efficiently i can use git for development and project works. thank you so much for creating this course and thank you so much coursera for providing this platform to learn.

por Greenish

Mar 27, 2019

Best course I ever done till now. Here you will get a clear concept of what you are learning, why you are learning along with how you are learning. Moreover I liked about these course is, It has separate section for people who like command line or GUI interface. Highly recommended if you want to clear your concept of Git.

por Paul P

Sep 10, 2019

Really good course on Git. I have had a lot of experience in old-school centralized version control systems, and have had a hard time wrapping my head around git. However, this course went step-by-step through through everything I needed to understand the entirely new paradigm of distributed version control. Thanks!

por Nick N

Jul 14, 2019

This is certainly a complete course. I feel very informed at the end of the course, and I found the final project to be a very real approximation of the work that we do at my work. I took this course as a refresher as well to make sure my skills were on target, and I feel very good about how much I have relearned.

por VEERA V

Sep 17, 2019

This course gave me a clear understanding of version control system, Their types, Usage in the industry and many hands on exercises to understand the core concepts behind the git. I would recommend any beginner in the field to tackle this course for a solid understanding of the underlying concepts of git.

por Sowmya V

Oct 21, 2019

Verify informative on Git. clear explanation. course content is good. But regarding difference between master and develop repository could have added more information practically, so the new Git user can make out. i learnt lot from the course. The links provided and Readme contents are clear and useful.

por Abhishek S

Jan 13, 2020

This is a brilliant course for beginners as well as for people who are using GIT but want to clearly understand that how it is working under the hood. The instructor is super awesome. The content , pace at which things are explained, explanations are all very clear and accurate. Indeed, A GREAT COURSE!

por Jakub P

Mar 05, 2018

Well prepared course. Demonstrates all basic GIT functions and includes also additional corrective possibilities on commit history which GIT offers. I value that course instructs the learner with two identical approaches on how to work with git, via Git Bash or Source Tree.

por Naman M

Apr 11, 2019

Excellent Course...Focussed Equally on sourcetree as well command line...And finally a great project at the end to get a practicle experience...Really loved the content of the course...I really really appreciate the creater of this couse...

por Puneet C

Jun 16, 2018

Excellent course on Git. It gives you insights into the working of Git from a beginner to an advanced level. I would definitely recommend this course to all Software Engineers/Managers/DevOps/ITThere's a lot to gain from it for everyone.