Chevron Left
Voltar para Urban Nature: Connecting Cities, Nature and Innovation

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Urban Nature: Connecting Cities, Nature and Innovation da instituição Universidade de Lund

4.7
estrelas
92 classificações
35 avaliações

Sobre o curso

How can nature help us design and build our cities? Nature-based solutions have the potential to provide multiple benefits across a range of sustainability challenges facing cities. They can help to limit the impacts of climate change, enhance biodiversity and improve environmental quality while contributing to economic activities and social well-being. But what are nature-based solutions? Examples include green roofs and city parks that reduce heat, city lagoons that can store water as well as vegetation and rain gardens to intercept storm water. This course will explore nature-based solutions in cities in Europe and around the world. It will connect together the key themes of nature, cities and innovation. We will discuss how to assess what nature-based solutions can achieve in cities. We will examine how innovation is taking place in cities. And we will analyse the potential of nature-based solutions to help respond to climate change and sustainability challenges. This course combines both technical knowledge and the social sciences to better understand nature-based solutions in a holistic perspective. New governance arrangements, business models and financing, forms of citizen engagement and innovation pathways will be needed to make the promise of nature-based solutions a reality. In this course, we bring together a collection of diverse films and key short readings on nature-based solutions as well as interactive forums and practical assignments to create an online learning community for nature-based solution in an urban world....

Melhores avaliações

SH

Mar 10, 2020

It is a very wide course in knowledge, very practical to acquire knowledge, with readings and very didactic videos and with a wide range of topics very useful for my professional development.

AR

Mar 04, 2020

Excellent course I have learned alot about the importance of nature and how nature can be used as a solution for solving urban problems. Great experencie can't wait for the next course.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Urban Nature: Connecting Cities, Nature and Innovation

por Kithmini W

Jan 28, 2020

This course is a mandatory subject to the construction industry and i recommended to complete this for the undergraduate students and after higher study students.This will lead to us to planning ,designing and monitoring process sustainable with the nature for a better future.i'm sure i will support for my city to develop such kind of knowledge which i get from this course.Thank you all of lectures ,videos and the notes.

por Sergio E M H

Mar 10, 2020

It is a very wide course in knowledge, very practical to acquire knowledge, with readings and very didactic videos and with a wide range of topics very useful for my professional development.

por 郭逸飞

Jan 21, 2020

Thanks so much for your good presentation. Hope to see you in future!

por Nicole M

Jan 30, 2020

Lund's sustainability courses never dissapoint!

por Rashi G K

Apr 08, 2020

I loved this course and enjoyed learning about the new concept of nature based solutions. The videos were engaging. I hope more such courses are designed and it would be amazing to have one which interfaces NBS with a particular sector, such as transportation. How can we practically apply it to our projects? Would be very useful to learn about. I would also recommend a twitter hashtag which would have helped built a longer lasting community of those interested in this area. As of now I would tweet marking Kes McCormick, Harriett Bulkeley, NATURVATION etc. Some other MOOCs I have been part of have had specific hashtags which have really helped build longer term engagement and sustainability around the area.

por Milan W

May 04, 2020

Thank you for creating such an interactive and interesting course. I am walking through my city with a lot more attention to the little urban nature we already have and also see where there would be massive potential to further integrate more NBS. The course also gave me great basic knowledge on NBSs, the different integration concepts and also where problems arise. I hope this topic will grow in importance and that the government will take proactive approaches now. In the city of Hamburg, the Senat is looking for NBS rather than grey infrastructure to protect the city from the rising sea level and the increasing storm surge events.

por Dominique H

May 29, 2020

I loved this course! It's so great to learn about ways we can help mitigate climate change by embracing nature, and I'm glad to know so many knowledgeable people have been researching and developing this subject to teach us. The instructors were informative, the material was well-developed and easily understood, and I got to learn about new universities carrying out this research.

por Nicola P

Feb 09, 2020

I really liked the course content being mostly videos and case studies - so many inspiring real tangible examples. The wording in the quiz's was at times confusing, but you get additional attempts to pass so that's fine. The draft assignment was due end Week 2 and final by week 4 so that was a surprise, but well worth doing the assignment for the learnings.

por dag s

Feb 06, 2020

A lot of good educational stuff. But it felt to short and little when I got engaged in the subject. Now I have to find a new course - learn more. i bit tuff with language. Make sure that we can wiew all the projects, ,there are much to learn from each other. A minor set back is the failing map. A good change with videos, made the subject more vivid.

Dag

por Manuel A G

Feb 10, 2020

I want to say firstly : Tanks and Congratulations S this excelent course. The focus in NBS, its general knowledge and the practical aplications and the organization with all the material for lecture and videos , was of 5 points. Thanks and again: CONGRATULATION. www.indepes .org

por Efthymia S

Mar 15, 2020

Very interesting and up-to-date information on the latest research and praxis on Nature Based Solutions as a response to urban sustainability! Precious material and very interesting case studies! Hope to see more like this course on urban response to climate change!!

por Guilherme I d B

Apr 29, 2020

Very in-depth and well-rounded set of lessons and readings. The Week 2 Peer Review Assignment was a nice challenge but could be moved to week 4 in order to help people have a better grasp of all the facets involving NBS. All in all, I would recommend this course.

por Facundo M A

Feb 16, 2020

Very interesting and educational course. I would have liked to learn more theory and authors of how the NATURVATION project was created, but i understand that it is not the main goal of hte course. Very nice experience!!!

por Michele

May 03, 2020

I really enjoyed the course! It is very informative and provides real examples that are helpful to build a broader image about nature-based solutions and how they are being implemented in some cities around the world.

por Albert R

Mar 04, 2020

Excellent course I have learned alot about the importance of nature and how nature can be used as a solution for solving urban problems. Great experencie can't wait for the next course.

por Sabrina E

Feb 18, 2020

Excellent preparation and presentation of course materials, enthusiastic lecturers, good selection of case study and broad perspective on the subject-keep up the good work!

por JIA Y

Mar 17, 2020

Great course and amazing speakers! What you are sharing here is super meaningful, and I would like to know more about NBU and make my efforts if it is possible. Thanks!

por Oscar S R P

Mar 06, 2020

I enjoyed the course very much and hope I can use this experience to my city and share with my colleagues and neighbours. Thanks very much for it

por K.Harshitha

Apr 19, 2020

I liked the course, its easy to understand and i learnt many new insights of how around the world urban nature is taken care of.

por Daria G

Feb 26, 2020

Really enjoyed it and I learned so much. Thank you Lund University, especially to Kes McCormick for creating the publication.

por Chad K

Mar 08, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! I learned a lot of different ways I can help my city to grow in the right direction.

por Osama M E o

Apr 09, 2020

it was great opportunity to achieve and take this course. it was valuable course with rich information in my career

por Aditi B I

May 19, 2020

Helped me understand the methodology and planning associated with applying Nature-Based solutions to Cities!

por Dragan D M

Feb 26, 2020

Great course for ppl interestend in NBS for sustainable and resilient urban future! Thanks for everything.

por Mahla T N

Apr 24, 2020

That was so helpful. Thank you Lund university.