Chevron Left
Voltar para The Unix Workbench

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Unix Workbench da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.7
655 classificações
192 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Melhores avaliações

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

SL

Sep 11, 2017

It is suitable for Unix/Linux beginners who are new to shell. It introduces popular code sharing and merging tool GitHub, which most programmers would find very useful in software development.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o The Unix Workbench

por Jose C

Apr 06, 2018

Pretty interesting approach and broad useful content course. I recommend it

por Јован П

Jun 05, 2018

Not too easy, not too hard. Gets to the point quick, concise. I learned quite a few tricks about UNIX. I recommend this course to everyone!

por Jörg S

Dec 31, 2017

You really learn something by doing. And the provided learning path really makes fun.

por Jenny C

Jan 09, 2018

Great course! More text-based than lecture-based which works great. No large "jumps", but gives a great introduction to UNIX. Thanks!

por Davide B

Apr 12, 2018

Very useful course for anyone who wants to learn more about the bash shell and, of course, very well done and explained!

por Muhammad U K K

Sep 19, 2017

Great course for beginners. Proves to be a great reference for people who are working on multiple platforms and tend to forget syntax of different languagess

por Vineet B

Oct 14, 2017

G

r

e

a

t

w

a

y

t

o

g

e

t

s

t

a

r

t

e

d

w

i

t

h

linux

por ripe

Nov 22, 2017

This course explain very well the topic. Thank you again!

por Nikolay M

May 16, 2018

Great introduction to get to speed fast. I didn't know anything about command prompt, terminal, bash and Git before starting the course, and I have mastered it after completing the course. Highly recommended.

por Vasileios K

Jul 22, 2018

Nice concise intro/refresh to the bash environment.

por Zhizhong D

Oct 01, 2018

Very useful course, I am using lots of remote high performance computers. This class definitely improves my understanding on Unix Shell and working efficiency.

por Sunil S

Apr 24, 2019

Overall, the course was well structured and easy to understand. The mentors reply regularly to any questions posted in the discussion forums. A wonderful learning experience that introduces you to the command-line interface.

por Darius T

May 30, 2019

Really useful course for learning the basics of Unix

por Tomislav P

May 16, 2019

Very well done course. One of the best ones I did.

por JIANG X

Jun 30, 2019

Very useful content and clear explanations!

por Palatip J

Jul 20, 2019

Great epaination course

por Ayush M

May 31, 2019

amazing course

por Luis A A C

Jun 06, 2019

Tremendously useful course.

por Adonis J C G

Aug 15, 2019

It's very intuitive, but you need some experience from another language or, at least, pseudocode.

por Yohannes d

Aug 26, 2019

it's a helpful course someone who really need to know about Linux, git, shell script and cloud.

por Ajay G

Jul 04, 2019

Quite good in what this course plans to teach you. Lightweight and a very good starters package to get started with linux.

por Priyanshu T

Sep 01, 2019

Thanks to this course I was able to learn git. Git really saved me when I was doing my Qt assignments cause sometimes it was really difficult to find what broke the code.

por anurag p

Sep 03, 2019

Awesome.

por Gabriel M

Sep 10, 2019

Excelente introdução.

por Herbert S

Sep 11, 2019

Very manageable and very instructive. Thank you!