Chevron Left
Voltar para The Unix Workbench

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Unix Workbench da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.7
estrelas
1,085 classificações
335 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Melhores avaliações

RW

Apr 30, 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

Filtrar por:

301 — 325 de 330 Avaliações para o The Unix Workbench

por Deleted A

May 21, 2018

All very good. Week 4 is too much work compared to other weeks

por Sharad K

Feb 25, 2018

It is the best online course with effective assignments !

por Ashkan R

Dec 29, 2017

Easy to cope and very enjoyable hands-on style course.

por Arunagiri S

Jun 25, 2020

Code review comments should be in specific.

por Surinder R

Dec 19, 2017

This is a good course for a level2 beginner

por Hareesh S G

May 25, 2020

Very good course for the beginners.

por Kathi R R

Feb 16, 2019

One word "SeanKross is awesome."

por peeyush s

Feb 11, 2018

A very nice and compact course.

por Weiqi Y

Jan 18, 2018

Good Course. Things are useful

por Devaashish S

Jul 20, 2019

Excellent book and exercises.

por SYED S

Jul 27, 2020

i have learned unix advance

por sangeeta k

Jan 09, 2020

nice and easy to understand

por Viswanadh

Sep 16, 2020

good course for beginners.

por Alberto J A C

Dec 22, 2019

Basic course. Very useful

por Pradyumna K R

Jul 16, 2018

It contains only reading.

por Rohit J

Apr 02, 2019

good add more content

por GOLI H K

Apr 08, 2020

goog course

por M A B

Nov 26, 2018

Excellent.

por Swaraj N

Jun 03, 2020

good one

por Pratima S

Aug 19, 2019

like

por Ugo N

Aug 13, 2017

This course is very boring. But teaches you how to use Bash Shell.

I'm very disappointed and sad at this moment actually, because I want to move on to do other courses but this course is standing in the way of my progress. I just can't seem to get over the last few lectures of week 3. The form of teaching is not enjoyable enough to come back to the material, although what you learn is actually viable.

I have to stomach it and get through this course as quickly as possible, cause the mere thought of coming to it bothers my brain.

Overall, do it if you need to.

por Bart M

Apr 13, 2020

This course is completely based on the book. There are very few instructional videos, most of the course consists of reading material. I learned a lot, but just wish there were more instructional videos and less reading material.

por Anthony A

Mar 25, 2019

You need videos, not enough and all reading here, although it was the easiest course I've even started and completed. Took less than 1 day to complete and pass.

por Jessie

Feb 21, 2020

Good if you've never worked with Linux/Unix before, very elementary. Some of the questions on one of the quizzes require wrong answers.

por Ahmed M A M M

Jan 14, 2019

The studying material demonstration is not fit for everyone and I see that it needs more explaining video from an instructor.