Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding and Visualizing Data with Python

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding and Visualizing Data with Python da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.7
estrelas
2,318 classificações

Sobre o curso

In this course, learners will be introduced to the field of statistics, including where data come from, study design, data management, and exploring and visualizing data. Learners will identify different types of data, and learn how to visualize, analyze, and interpret summaries for both univariate and multivariate data. Learners will also be introduced to the differences between probability and non-probability sampling from larger populations, the idea of how sample estimates vary, and how inferences can be made about larger populations based on probability sampling. At the end of each week, learners will apply the statistical concepts they’ve learned using Python within the course environment. During these lab-based sessions, learners will discover the different uses of Python as a tool, including the Numpy, Pandas, Statsmodels, Matplotlib, and Seaborn libraries. Tutorial videos are provided to walk learners through the creation of visualizations and data management, all within Python. This course utilizes the Jupyter Notebook environment within Coursera....

Melhores avaliações

AT

21 de mai de 2020

Excellent course materials, especially the videos, with content that is thoughtfully composed and carefully edited. Very good python training, great instructors, and overall great learning experience.

VV

2 de ago de 2020

Great course to learn the basics! The supplementary material in Jupyter notebooks is extremely valuable. Really appreciate the PhD students who took the time to explain even the simplest of codes :)

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 490 Avaliações para o Understanding and Visualizing Data with Python

por asher b

10 de dez de 2019

Good stats course. Needs more Python. Much of the Python is just watching or clicking run. Would appreciated more opportunity to walk through the coding with hints and hidden solutions to gain some proficiency.

por Yaroslav B

24 de abr de 2019

There is incorrect course title for this course as in reality it’s Statistics AND partial illustration of it using Python. There is no consіstent exposition on Python libraries and frameworks.

por Wongi J

26 de set de 2020

I think the order of lab components should be rearranged. Introduction of core python mechanics should come before the module in which each code is implemented.

por Bhanu P P

28 de jun de 2020

Well taught, it will be hard for beginners with python.

por Feri M

3 de mai de 2022

Do not waste your time and don't take this course. You won't develop any tangible skill from this course.

The course is mostly a narrative of statistics and has nothing to do with the real statistics with is a branch of mathematics. Virtually zero formula is shown by the time you complete the course.

Some of the instructors are good but the majority of course is narrated by Brady which is good enough to put you to sleep. He reads from a screen and following his line of sight is jsut as distracting as the monotone narrative.

Also what they advertise for the length of the course is an absolute misrepresentation, the course takes at least twice as long as they show in the title page. There are much better courses out there, don't waste your time and money.

por Nikita K

6 de out de 2020

Basic statistics explanations are good, especially for those uninitiated. Examples that require intuitive understanding of plots are nice, albeit slightly confusing.

A lot of material concerning Python is not covered in the course, however. No possibility to download source files and work with them in your own environment. Ambiguous instructions that relate to statistical concepts that are still unknown and lots of materials that require 3rd party explanations. This extends the learning time 4-5 fold.

Extremely long weeks with lots of technical and incomplete materials. Breaking things into smaller chunks would have made a world of difference.

por Jay K

29 de jun de 2020

Very poor.

Had a hard time keeping my attention. Very lecture heavy. In fact, astoundingly lecture heavy. This course should have gone between the jupyter notebooks and the video content to keep the viewer engaged. Why not leverage python and jupyter to teach concepts as the student follows along instead of just lecturing for hours? Keep the students engaged through hands-on work instead of just talking at them for hours. The structure is simply antiquated for the modern student.

por rajesh t

18 de abr de 2022

The videos are rather long. The presenter talks a lot. He should be precise, non-repetetive.

por Kaiquan M

12 de dez de 2021

This "Understanding and Visualising Data with Python" training offers: 1. lecture videos teaching you concepts 2. graded quizzes 3. a graded assignment where you have to create a survey design 4. Jupyter notebooks with exercises for you to explore statistical concepts in Python 5. walkthrough videos on Jupyter notebook exercises if you need some help to unblock yourself or when you want to understand why certain things were done The training was alittle lengthy but well worth the time. At times, because concepts can be explained in long sentences, you may need to rewind and revisit certain parts of the videos to get the full meaning of what has been explained. Overall, this training refreshed my understanding of: 1. basic statistical concepts - statistical measures, population, sampling 2. using numpy, matplotlib, seaborn, scipy packages in Jupyter notebooks (which was good because I currently dont code in Python at work) This training also explained practical ideas such as: 1. stratifying, clustering, why these concepts are important when sampling 2. issues with certain sampling approaches 3. useful ways to turn a non-probability sample into a probability sample, so that the analysis/claims you present would be grounded in a more solid basis. Points 2 and 3 in the list above were neither covered in school nor statistics texts in the past. So like me, you may get the chance to learn something new to apply to your work.

por Kylie A

24 de jun de 2021

THIS! This is a very well thought out and planned course! It is up to date and doesn't use expired packages or expect you to program WAY beyond the level they teach. The instructors/lecturers are awesome and easy to follow (although the ones who do python speak a little fast!). THIS is what I was looking for in a specialization/ class. I do recommend doing codecademy's python training if you know absolutely 0 python (like me), but even with zero prior knowledge this course walks you through it very nicely! THANK YOU soooo much! I greatly appreciate the thought that went into designing this and the following courses and will definitely take a closer look at UM when I apply for a master's program!

por Matt S

5 de mar de 2022

This excellent course provides a good introduction to methods used to collect data and draw meaningful inferences and to use python for this purpose. The course also shows how to write simple python scripts that, through random simulation, illustrate and test the theory behind the statistical methods.

You will find this course much easier if you have a basic understanding of python and numpy (arrays), pandas (dataframes), matplotlib (scatter plots, histograms). and seaborn (histograms, violin plots, box plots). You don't need to be an expert on any of these, just a few tutorials. Then you will be ready to learn a lot about statistics and python from people who know quite a lot about both.

por shahriyer p

27 de jun de 2020

From my point of view, this course was very fundamental for learning statistics with python . I have learnt a lot about different statistical model with how to describe by visualizing them. I have also studied uni-variate , multi-variate data analysis and introduced to a practical NHANES model which was implemented on python code to get different visualization of data analysis. Finally also learnt about using sampling distribution , sampling variance and probability and non-probability sample. This course will definitely boost up confidence for statistical analysis with python.

por Pankaj B

13 de dez de 2019

The content is very comprehensive, provides an introduction about all the useful things necessary to do statistical data analysis with Python. However, some of the quiz questions are ambiguous and its not clear to me why the chosen answer was the correct one. I submitted feedback on one of these quizzes but I didn't receive any response. Other than that, I felt the instructors did a great job of explaining the fundamental concepts in statistics and the basic tools in Python, and I am glad at having taken this course.

por Minas-Marios V

23 de abr de 2020

This course introduces basic but crucial statistical concepts that any data analyst should be aware of, and offers detailed explanations of the steps that one should follow when desinging an observational survey. I have had several courses online and on campus, but none have done such a great job at explaining study design as this one. Note, however, that knowledge of basic Python programming is a must-have before attending this course, and I would also recommending getting one or two tutorials on numpy and pandas.

por Antonello P

22 de jul de 2020

Very good course for people that don't have any knowledge of statistics, like me. The material is detailed, the concepts are explained clearly in the lectures and the instructors make it easy to follow.

I don't understand why people complain about the programming assignments being difficult. Normally they cover things that are shown in the lectures. When that is not the case, links to the relevant documentation pages are presented. If anything the assignments are too easy and there should be more.

por David B

4 de jul de 2021

T​his was a fantastic course! It did a wonderful balancing act of getting students to use jupyter notebooks/python for data analysis and visualization with a very good introduction to the different types of sampling methods used in research studies. I really enjoyed the assignment where we needed to create a memo to a pizza company - it really was a clever exercise that didn't hold your hand. Overall, a really great course that made me eager to continue on with the specialization.

por ILYA N

16 de ago de 2019

They cover basics like normal distribution, z-scores, and plotting data with scatterplots/histograms. In week 4, they give a fairly detailed overview of distribution sampling, and hammer home that you need to be cognizant of bias in your data. To me the most useful aspect of the course were links to third-party articles and web-sites that I would not have discovered otherwise (such as the app from Brown where you can play with different distributions).

por Tarit G

2 de jul de 2020

Excellent course to learn different statistical ways of understanding and visualizing datasets. Also, it was taught how to gather data. What I like about this course is, besides explaining every topic clearly, the instructors have commented on when to use that and when not to and drawbacks of that concept. The instructors were great at explaining things. I am very thankful to the instructors, team and the University of Michigan.

por Vinicius d O

12 de mai de 2019

If you are searching for a course who could either teach you all about the world of statistics - ranging from statistical analysis with awsome examples and explanation with demosntrations of statistical methods - and at the same time force you trough programming, this is the right course.

I'm very grateful by the efforts of course's team in undertaken such work! I'm now more prepared to advance in my carrer, thanks to it!

por RODRIGUEZ G C A

9 de fev de 2021

Excellent course for an introduction to python statistics. Keep in mind that this is not an usual statistics course, the fact that it covers python changes it a lot. I had almost no prior knowledge about programming so I had to learn in order to keep up with the lectures. I recommend to come here after being familiar with it and maybe having checked info about numpy, pandas and matplotlib.

por Pierre A G Y

9 de mai de 2021

.. When you want to learn some new, don't search only the applied.Becouse everybody can to know the applied, but there are few people who really learn how things work in real life.With this course can learned and review Quantitative and Qualitative variables, Categorical Data, Histrograms, Boxplot, Scatterplot, Pearson Correlations, and more, All applied with Python, was wonderful.

por YuanYuan O

16 de nov de 2021

Very good introduction to the concepts and corresponding techniques to implement/visualize these sophisticated and somewhat obscure theories providing a systematic view on the fundamentals. Great job! However, wish Prof Brady could go further in the detail on the non probability modeling and how to handle missing data. Maybe in the later courses in this specialization?

por Arpita G

14 de set de 2020

An interesting teaching style, full of life. Also, the quality and quantity of content is extremely well. Peer Reviewed "Data Memorandum" for a company is an excellent touch to the course. I would recommend this course just for that it self. Otherwise also, this course can be recommended to any beginner who wants to try Data Science from the Maths angle.

All the best.

por Tirth B

28 de ago de 2020

You need to have atleast a couple months of coding experience to do this course. Stats concets are explained nicely. I liked their approach of teaching new concepts. They made their own data sets to teach us and give us a good hands on experience with manipulating and crunching data. This course would be a good start for your journey towards data science/analytics.

por Denys M

1 de jun de 2020

A very nice manner of teaching where lecturers used a variety of real-world examples which made hard things easier to understand.

I have learned basics of python language including data types and syntax, core features of pandas, seaborn and numpy libraries. Recalled for myself statistical principles and approaches.

Besides all of this, there are a lot of fun :)